We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, Great staff, Wonderful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Although a little way from the centre of Abu Dhabi this is the perfect location to relax and unwind. The room I was given (upgrade to Club Floor ) was excellent, spacious and quiet with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The breakfast is excellent by any international standards and I can 100% recommend the Friday Brunch ( all you can eat and drink from 12:00-16:00) with a selection of international cuisine that in itself would put many high class restaurants to shame.

All in all a great place to stay at a reasonable price--ask for an upgrade to Club Rooms --if you don@t ask you won't get!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,456)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,650 - 1,656 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a holiday. As we spent an extended time in Abu Dhabi, instead of staying in one hotel, we tried several (Capital Gate, Eastern Mangroves, Fairmont, Viceroy).

Room: Large wonderful rooms. Very large windows with a wonderful view on the mosque. The bathroom is “interesting” in such way that you wonder where the shower is (bathtub is obvious), but just try it, it is great! Nice music system in the tv as well.

Facilities: By far the best from all hotels we have been to in the Middle East. So many things going on, a lot of areas, corners, etc. Really a nice resort to spend an extended time. The beach is very nice. When we were there it was not crowded, so at any time of the day you could pick your favorite spot. Waiters bring you cold water, towels provided.

Location: It is not in Abu Dhabi center, more towards the airport. But a 25-30 minute taxi ride brings you to the most popular malls. Also Fairmont (in conjunction with Traders and Shangri-La) provided a free shuttle service to the mosque and malls in Abu Dhabi. Good service. Approximately a 10 minute walk from the Fairmont is the Souk mall. Not much to shop area, but a very nice area to walk around in the evenings and some good restaurants. Whilst we would not recommend the Lebanese restaurant (bad/slow service and mediocre food quality), the Meat Co. is really a great place with delicious food (not cheap though, but worth it).

Reception/Staff: Everyone is very friendly and professional. The waiters at the breakfast place are very attentive. The lady at the entrance of the breakfast place needs a special compliment as she makes you feel very welcome.

Breakfast: Breakfast is very good. The only comment I could make is to have more fruit juice selection, but the waiters always brought us fresh carrot juice upon request. Large selection of delicious food. The almond croissants are really great.

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay and couldn’t think of any criticism. A very nice place, where you feel to be away from it all on holidays and the staff makes you feel like that too. Only can recommend this place (especially compared to all other hotels we stayed it has the best rate!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stay in Fairmont Gold - fab rooms, brilliant staff......love it. The personal check in, the food , the helpfulness of the staff. Marychu is the Fairmont Gold manager and she is so thoughtful, professional and is obviously backed by an excellent team.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the beach and the Grand Mosque
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroTraveller1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel certainly lives up to its service award. We opted for a gold room and from the moment we arrived every request for a restaurant booking, local information etc was met by the excellent concierge team on the 7th floor. The upgrade was well worth paying extra as this included complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and early evening drinks and canapés amongst other things. Our room had a lovely outlook over the mosque and the views towards Abu Dhabi island are spectacular. Having stayed before at the Emirates Palace we found the staff here more animated and genuinely interested in making our stay as good as it could be. I didn't fancy swimming in the creek but the large pool was inviting, the beach area very clean and the staff there very obliging, supplying iced water on request-necessary with rising temperatures. Overall the hotel bridges the leisure/business clientele well and the staff make this a place to which I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent almost 9 months at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr in 2011; and it has been one of my favorite hotel stays. The Fairmont is one of the most luxurious and modern hotels in Abu Dhabi, and rivals many of the fancier hotels in nearby Dubai.

The Fairmont is located is twenty minutes from the city center, but has a beautiful view of the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque and has a small beachfront facing a river/creek that is great for a cool swim/ watersports.

Key highlights:
F&B : The quality of the food was great, especially at the Frankie’s Italian Restaurant and at the Marco Pierre White Steakhouse & Grill. For long stay guests, like me it was our favorite place to get some simple and authentic Italian food. Marco Pierre was great for celebrating at key milestones.
SERVICE: Being a 5 star, good service is expected. However, most of staff made a special effort to provide individualised service and recognition.

I would definitely choose Fairmont Bab Al Bahr for my next trip to Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: Creek facing rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team that made your stay a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for five nights for business. This was my second stay at the Fairmont and it was just as lovely as the first time. From the moment you walk into the hotel from the time you leave the staff are welcoming, friendly, helpful, and are truly a gift to the hotel. In a twist of fate, I happened to be given the same room as my previous stay and I was delighted. The room is spacious, clean, and has all the amenities one would expect from a five star hotel.
I ate at two restaurants, CuiScene and Frankie’s, and both were superb. Room service one evening was efficient, fast and the food arrived hot. I had a pedicure at the ladies nail shop that was relaxing and held to the same high standards that I expect from the US. The only thing that is different is that they do not have the whirlpool jets pushing the water around when your feet are soaking.
I also used the city shuttle to go to the Marina mall. Convenient, on-time, friendly drivers and the fact that it is complimentary make this service the main reason to stay on the outskirts of the Abu Dhabi City. You can experience the city life and allure and retreat to a quiet, less congested place afterwards. There is a souk and other dining options at the neighboring hotels that is within walking distance of the hotel and is connected by a beautiful walkway along the river.
I was picked up each morning by a car from the client that I am working for. A big shout out and thank you to the bellman and front door men for their organization and alerting me to when my ride was ready. They truly are the first and last impression that you get of the hotel and the gentlemen project a professional, approachable, friendly atmosphere and are so reassuring when a hotel guest (me!) starts to panic when my ride is late!!
Looking forward to a return sometime in the next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Although new, and staff doing thier best, but not at the level it should be, nice pool and beach but front windows needs urgent and regular cleaning from dust, specialy those showing the view from the rooms and from the lift, a bit far from the city too

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,390 reviews
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,225 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £90 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing