We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great building but bad experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great building but bad experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for one night last Wednesday, in Fairmont Abu Dhabi, it is a great building actually, with beautiful design, we took a suite in the 9th floor, the check-in was good, also the concierge service, we ordered food in the room, then when the room service agent bring it, it was totally cold, specially the see food you cannot eat if is it, also for the steak, the benches in the livening room was not comfortable, the water in the bathroom was not warm enough, and around 2:00 am the electricity was not working in the both bathrooms.
The next following day, to finish our beautiful experience, when we would like to pick-up the car, we found it damaged by a taxi driver in front of the main door of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Nada M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We do appreciate your review and have shared your comments with the relevant departments. We are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations this time. Would you please be able to get in touch with us directly by emailing babalbahr@fairmont.com so that we can welcome you back and ensure that your next stay with us is seamless?

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,601
    449
    135
    49
    47
See reviews for
600
843
86
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont for 4 nights on the way to the Thailand.

What a building, with an amazing entrance.

The hotel was amazing, huge and lavishly decorated. We arrived at 9am, and got our room straight away. The room was huge, massive bed for us and a single for our daughter. We had 3 seater couch and a work desk. Still left enough space for our bags to litter the floor and still have space to walk about.

Food was good, and the hotel has a few restaurants including a Marco pierre White - however, no kids allowed!

It does get a touch nippy in the evenings but generally the weather was perfect.

Fantastic beach, really super clean with a cordoned off bathing area. The pool is an infinity pool, with a built in water bar - again a nice touch.

Food was expensive but good quality. Breakfasts were brilliant, we tended to go for a big breakfast, skip lunch and enjoy dinner.

Staff were great, I ended up paying a variety of currencies and the staff accomodated that without flinching.

No kids activity - but we weren't expecting any, so please view my score with that in mind.

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach, as you'll get an amazing view of the Grand Mosque. Plus there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pardeep_S_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the moment you arrive at this hotel you know you are staying at a classy Hotel! The entrance is beautiful and the attentive staff are waiting on hand to assist you in whatever you need! The location of this hotel is a little out of town but if you are just into chilling by the pool, dining on some quality food and enjoying a nice vista then this hotel will serve you well! The staff were so helpful at this hotel from the guys down at the pool setting my wife up with shade and the concierge going out of his way to get me hooked up to the wifi when my phone was playing up! We chose to have breakfast in our room overlooking the temple across the harbour and the view was awesome. The rooms are luxury and included a huge bath and rainforest style shower. But most impressive at this hotel are the bar and dining areas along with the pool and leisure facilities. I had the pleasure of working out in the gym with a personal trainer and the equipment was equivlant to working out in my gym back home! The restaurants are varied and really provide everything you need in one place. The pool is pretty cool with abundant space to chill out and enjoy the heat of the desert! If you want a couple of nights or even only one when travelling to Europe then this hotel will serve your needs on a ridiculously cheap budget! We had an awesome room for the price of a dodgy hotel in Sydney. Enjoy

Room Tip: Utilize one of the many quality restaurants if you get a chance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

It was our first time in Abu Dhabi and we are already missing it. The Fairmont Hotel was a great choice. We got a room with a perfect with to the Mosque. Thanks to the recepton ! A really modern hotel with a familiar touch. The pool is amazing, the food is delicious and the employees are perfect. Big thanks to Karen and Daryl, the best concierges ever. No matter what questions we had, they had the answer. No reason to book another hotel in Abu Dhabi.

Fairmont Bal Bahr rules.

Room Tip: Book Sea View, the grande Mosque is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear eisik,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share this overwhelming review. It was pleasure to share your positive feedback to the entire team especially to our brand ambassadors Karen and Daryl .

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Sep 11, 2013 6871danjewl
This hotel was amazing we have stayed in so many this one in Abu Dubai is just perfect. We stayed there 3 nights the rooms were clean and overwhelming the staff were on hand and feet to help with whatever we needed, they organised tours, taxi's, transfers no matter what was needed they were there to help. They have a few restaurants we ate at a few the Italian was great there pasta's and pizza's we amazing again the service was excellent. We had the breakfast included in our stay I have to say they have so much variety. I would recommend this hotel highly.
We are from Australia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6871danjewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear 6871danjewl,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great review and recommendation. It is my pleasure to pass your compliments to our entire team that made your recent stay with us a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and can't fault the hotel or service. Dined in frankies on our first night, found the food there to be a little heavy (veal chop) however very attentive service. The In-room dining was very good and both times the waiter was well informed and had impeccable timing. Overall the Hotel is very much at the luxury end and offers fabulous service. Check in and out was very efficienct, personal and importantly fast. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatFood-DrinkWIne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've been to the Fairmont for brunch and drinks and a main meal in the restaurant. Marco Perrier White. Not sure I can put into words what this place is like....... The brunch is amazing to see, the detail to each item of food, the chef's are so skilled and patience. The food doesn't just look good but taste is far better than what your eyes can see. Go hungry and eat everything!!! the brunch has free flow wine etc... so enjoy, relax and take it all in.
The actual hotel is clean and has a great view, please sit outside in the evening at least. Breath the warm air, while drinking a cocktail or two. candy floss cocktails try it, drink / eat one of them and you'll want other. Service is great and your glass will never be empty at brunch. Can not love it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear rachel j,

On behalf of the entire Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this positive review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated especially regarding our Friday Brunch. We are delighted that you had a great dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
11.1 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.6 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#21 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing