We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time experience !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was a great experience to visit this wonderful Hotel between the two bridges. Room 649 was spacious and warm overlooking the Mosque!. Food at the restaurant is great but something needs to be done about service especially billing time. The Hostess in the evening should not only show the guest where to sit but go an extra mile by offering Menu especially when the servers are overwhelmed. Otherwise its a great hotel and looking forward to visit once again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaac N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Isaac N,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and taking your time to provide us your valuable feedback. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Your comments are greatly appreciated and I have shared your review with the relevant departments.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,600 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with friends and I honestly cannot recommend this hotel enough.

The rooms are outstanding, service impeccable, pool fantastic and breakfast delicious.

The beach area was a bit dirty but I believe that it belongs to someone else so the hotel can't do anything about it.

We were also given a smoking room by accident but the hotel did everything possible to sort it out for us.

I would quite happily go back.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rosierow78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Visited fairmont on my birthday had a good experience. I love the entire upkeep of the hotel. Great staff very cheerful both in the reception and restaurant! The dining experience was good but not great! The breakfast had huge spread but lacked focus on quality stuff.
Frankies was a good dining option!
There is no spa in the hotel the concierge assisted to book in shangrila hotel it was a great experience!
This hotel is beautiful, would recommend to all !!!!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Rajeev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Rajeev K,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review and recommendation. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. We value all of our guests comments and will ensure that your feedback will be conveyed to the relevant departments.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I love how the layout of the bedroom was done. The sofa at the foot of the bed is very comfortable and I loved lounging on it while watching TV. In most of the hotels that I stayed in I would end up lying in bed and watching TV to kill time but the sofa with chewy (not too hard not too soft) throw pillows was a welcome change. The room gives you a spacious feel to it and makes you want to stay there longer. In some of the hotels that I've stayed in you won't feel as comfortable and homey. This hotel on the other hand makes you wanna stay in rather than just stay there to sleep. I just didn't like the layout of the toilet. It just felt weird.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank milesng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear milesng,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for choosing Fairmont Baba Al Bahr and taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you particularly enjoyed your room. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently stayed here on the club lounge floor. Prior to arriving we emailed the hotel to ask if we could stay in a mosque view room and also if it was possible for an early check in as our flight arrived in the morning. The hotel was very accommodating and we were able to check in straight away to our mosque view room. I would definitely recommend requesting this you have a lovely view over the water to the mosque, the view at the other side of the hotel is overlooking the main road so nothing special.
There is a little boat which travels between the hotels which you can get at the end of the jetty at the hotel and was great to relax on and took us to the ritz hotel over the water to sample their steak restaurant Forge, which was nice but pricey.
The hotel staff could not be more accommodating whenever we had a question or request.
There was some work going on at the hotel which was covered over but still didn't look great, but didn't cause any inconvenience.
There is a walkway along the back of the hotels on that side of the water so you can walk between them which is handy. Otherwise any other hotels and restaurants you need to take a taxi, which was about 30 mins to get most places, therefore the location was a little bit out of the way, but if you don't mind and you just want a place to relax then this is the hotel.

Room Tip: Mosque view rooms have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5_Bucks_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A week before we flew, for some reason I had the urged to email the hotel to check if all bookings were arranged as planned as this was the first time we have used our holiday website. I was initially informed that my booking will not be until a month later based on their record! I panicked. Email correspondence were exchanged and in the end they rectified it on what appeared to be a typo error on their side.

On arrival:

We waited 30mins in the lobby after check in even though we were told "Good news, we have a room ready for you!". The hotel were informed that we are checking in early due to the the flight arriving from the UK. 30mins. wasn't too bad as hotel lobby was nice and it smells divine!

We make our own way to find the room we were told to go. Higher floor as requested but they must have overlooked the "creek/mosque view" request. We had the car park view. Excellent ceiling to floor window but not a good sight to look out on. Never mind, look on the brighter side, we are on holiday!!!

Luggage arrived and the man briefed us about the room. Spacious it was and I then started comparing this room to other rooms we have been in UAE. We have stayed 3 times in Dubai and this is our 2nd time in Abu Dhabi. I should say that it's needs a little bit of TLC. Marks on the edges and corners of the wall are prominent and the toiletry pieces that were put out in the sink area were a wee bit dusty which gave me an impression that MAYBE this room has been set out days ago. The wall below the airconditioning unit were full of black dark marks that would not got away by just merely dusting them. Anyhow, all in all, who stays in their room all day?!

* Breakfast is until 10:30am and this include weekends when they get really busy that we often had to wait for table. Maybe extending their breakfast time on weekends would be ideal so people doesn't need to rush. My breakfast experience wasn't particularly nice as I feel I had to hurry each time. Good selection of food.

* Dinner is from 7pm. Selection of food was good but it can get a bit tiring seeing the same menu few days later. I guess that usually happens if you stay for 2 weeks. There are chefs that walked around the dining area sometimes and once was the chance for my partner to make them aware that he has got some food allergy which one of them was happy to make/cook something. In the 14 breakfasts and dinners that we had, not ONCE has any Manager or Supervisor came to introduce themselves or at least said "Hello". Very unusual. We have seen people walking about each time but who knows if they are what we thought they are.... No introduction as to who we can see if we need anything! The waiters and waitresses are very good and friendly and this has always been a UAE standards in our experience.

* Housekeeping service are very good. Friendly, efficient and will always make you feel welcome. They greet you everywhere they see you.

* The sun lounger for me seems to be quite close to each other and if you are unlucky that you would end up with someone who is "slightly noisier" and a "smoker", then that's you relaxing time OVER! Pool is good size too. Swim up bar is always busy so if you're like us who just want to have a "relaxing" drink in the pool then it's not for you, instead order it and have it delivered in your sun lounger, hopefully somewhere quieter. It's happy hour I think from 4 or 6pm. Buy one get one free on cocktails. Only on limited number of drinks choices, 4 to be exact.

*Remember to enrol in their President's Club so you can have access to their free wifi. No connection by the pool area, not very good signal in the room or any communal area either so I think they should think about looking into this as everyone has mobile/tablet/laptop when they are on holiday. For a 5* hotel, this issue should be at the top of their lists.

*There is a free shuttle bus that can take you to the Mosque and few shopping malls which is handy to give you that break away from the hotel kind of feeling. Remember to book your seats at the Concierge although 9/10 there are always plenty of seats available.

*Taxis are cheap and always remember to put your seatbelt on!

As with any hotels in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, the staff will always make my stay so much better irregardless of what my issues are with the hotel itself and the Check In, Concierge, Restaurant, Pool & Housekeeping staff in this hotel did not disappoint me.




Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Miss A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to post your valuable feedback. We appreciate all our guest comments and therefore have shared your review with the relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Behind its weird shape you will find an impressive example of what Abu Dhabi can offer: absolutely top-notch quality (well beyond European standards) without the price of Dubai.

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a fantastic huge room with excellent views to the Mosque. This was only one of the many details we were happy with during our 3 nights stay. The pool and the "club" around it is (which includes acess to the sea) is amazing.

Location is nice. However, you should not worry much about this, as prices and availability of taxis are extremely convenient in Abu Dhabi. However, one of the finest Abu Dhabi shopping centres is just 300m away

An extremely sensible option for staying in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMPR_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear JMPR_bxl,

Greetings from Fairmont Bab Al Bahr!

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to provide us your valuable feedback. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,363 reviews
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £110 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing