We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

My trip was to Abu Dhabi was to meet up with my daughter who had been pack packing around Asia, and wanted some luxury before she returned back to England. She certainly got luxury, as did I. I can not fault the staff working there. They could not do enough for you, and even if you didn't need anything, they would smile and say good morning. We stayed half board, and the food for both breakfast and dinner was varied, very well cooked, making it a very enjoyable experience! I had been warned that as 2 females, we might be looked down on slightly, couldn't be further from the truth from the staff at this hotel. They did everything possible to make our stay special. The room we had was just lovely, queen sized beds each, an amazing view, plenty of room for luggage, cleaned daily, with a turn down service in the evenings. Poolside was excellent, including a lovely pool, and amazing service yet again from the staff. The only reason I wouldn't give this a 5 star review was because on our last night we ate at Frankies Restaurant, not part of our half board deal. The food wasn't brilliant, dry pasta, al dente risotto rice, but just a little bit too al dente for me. Abu Dhabi is expensive, and we were looking forward to this meal, as an expensive send off from a brilliant break. We paid that bill, but didn't feel elated. Overall, if I was to visit Abu Dhabi again, I would stay there, and if I visit other countries, I would check if they had a Fairmont hotel there, as I can easily say it is the best hotel I have stayed in

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Susan M,

Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr. It was a pleasure to share your kind compliments especially regarding our service to our entire team. I have also conveyed your valuable feedback concerning Frankie's Restaurant to the relevant departments. We are sorry to know that your dining experience did not live up to your expectations this time.

We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next Abu Dhabi trip.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    432
    130
    48
    44
See reviews for
578
818
86
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I spent the day at the beach/pool and not a single person came to ask if i needed anything. The pool really is big and very enjoyable, but the beach is not that great. If you re looking to relax forget about it, this is a more hipe, party, cosmopolitan type of hotel. There is a bar inside the pool with loud good music, so its perfect just to hangout.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Coxito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Coxito,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I have shared your concerns with our relevant departments.

Once again, thank you for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

It's outstanding !! I love Fairmont it's my second time there , very special place u can stay at the hotel and still enjoy it , the swimming pool is excellent the bed is very comfy and service over all is just 10 out of 10 !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Reemahmedalmadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Reemahmedalmadani,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing once again your great experience at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr. It is my pleasure to pass on your kind compliments to our entire team that made your recent stay a memorable one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 10nights at this hotel. Even the least expensive room (which we stayed in) was large and had a lovely wet room. The staff were beyond helpful and came in to clean the room twice a day. Restaurant staff were polite and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast buffet had a wide range of choices, only downside being that they didn't offer pork options-although that is understandable being that the UAE is a Muslim country. The pool is pleasantly cool (much needed in the 40degree heat) and towels and bottles of water are provided for no charge. We had a great holiday and will definitely be returning to the Fairmont in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdunthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My stay here was amazing, I originally checked in just for one night but ended up staying 3 as I didn't want to leave. All staff we friendly, attentive and always predicted my every need. I'd like to say thank you to Made on front desk who delivered the smoothest and most welcoming check in I have ever recieved in this region. I can not remember all the names but the house keeping and in room dining team are a real credit to the hotel, they were all so friendly and helpful, never intrusive but made sure I had everything I wanted. All the staff at the health club were nice and friendly, checked if I needed anything but left me to do my thing. I also ate in the steak house and had drinks in Chameleon which we both amazing. I also attended brunch which really stood out for me as I was served by the most enthusiastic waiter I have ever had, he was excellent at his job and I could tell he really enjoyed it, I think his name was Jit. All in all it really was the most impressive service and hospitality, it really exceeded my expectations. Thank you!

Room Tip: Sign up to FPC for free wifi and upgrades on future stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Amy D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Fairmont Bab Al Bahr. I will ensure that your kind compliments will be conveyed to our entire team particularly Made. It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again for another great stay in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my 21st Birthday, as the last destination on our 3 week vacation. We got free room upgrade, free birthday cake practically every day during our stay and even a free glass of alcohol on the evening of my bithday at Frankies Restaurant. From beginning to end the hotel staff were welcoming, exceptionally polite and made our stay at the Fairmont epic!
The views from our room was fantastic, as all the seaview rooms look onto the Sheik Zayed Mosque! :D
All the food we ate during our stay was of fantastic quality, especially the meal we had at Frankies Italian Restaurant! Even if you don't stay at this hotel when visiting Abu Dhabi, I highly recommend everyone to dine at Frankies or Marco Pierre Whits Steakhouse.
The swimming pool area is beautiful, and the temperature was perfect to dip in and out of when sunbathing in the high temperatures! However, don't attempt to go into the jacuzzi outside, it was absolutely boiling!
I highly recommend any visitor to Abu Dhabi to stay at this luxurious hotel, nearby hotels are the Shangri La and Traders of whom you can use their outside facilities by catching the boat outside the hotel.
The hotel is however, slightly out of the way for attractions such as the WaterWorld, Ferrari World, the Marina Mall and the Airport, but the service we got from chauffeur, taxis and shuttle bus service made the journey bearable. It is however in a great location for the Mosque.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a seaview room, the views of the Mosque at night before bed and when you wake up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raggett20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontBabAlBahr, General Manager at Fairmont Bab Al Bahr, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Raggett20,

Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont Bab Al Bahr to celebrate the special occasion of your 21st birthday. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and our entire team was able to turn your moments into lasting memories. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again for another great experience in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Nils Axing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from an 11 day stay hotel stayed on the 5th floor room 524 the room was 1st class serviced by Roy who is a real credit to the hotel they should be proud to have someone like him working for them nothing is too much trouble for him, Thanks Roy you made our stay v even better.
Stayed on a half board package which allows you to use Frankies Italian & marco pierre steak house instead of the Cuisence which is the buffet restaurant and they allow you 203 AED per person off your bill (food only) so all good.

If you use the steak house you will have the best steak ever on arrival my wife was offered a rose wine which turned out to be Pink Champagne which was 225 AED £36 per glass had we known this we would have had something else a bit steep for a small glass but you live and learn.
The choice in the buffet restaurant was excellent with something for everyone fresh sea food every day ,sushi the list is endless always had something we liked.

Special thanks to the waiter in the Cuisene to Hayder another real credit to the hotel he served us many times always with a smile on his face nothing was to much trouble for him.

If you fancy a change the hotel runs a boat shuttle service to the souk close by starts at 18.15 and runs every 20mins last boat back 23.40 you have an Indian, chinese, lebanese and steak house, only tried the Indian and chinese both very good portions very big so don't order too much you will only leave it.

The pool area always had plenty of sun loungers although the grass area was a bit crowded as part of the area was closed off as new turf had been laid, but plenty of beds on the beach and other areas so not a problem,you still get the same old problem though with people putting towels down and then disappearing for hours .

If you fancy a day out go for the half day desert safari it cost 290 AED booked through the hotel it includes driving over the sand dunes great fun,BBQ, belly dancing etc.

I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozzee1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
11.1 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
11.2 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
9.6 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Property: Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Address: Fairmont Bab al Bahr Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum Rd, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp and Holiday Gems so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing