We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel - what a Royal Suite !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at beginning of December. Great 5 star hotel, very modern, with good location between airport, city and Yas Island.

Good executive lounge with very helpful staff who could not do enough to help. Maybe that was to do with the fact we had been put into the Royal Suite, but, i`m sure they were like that to everyone.

Very nice Marco Pierre White steak house and also Frankies restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,091 - 2,097 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

I stayed at Fairmont for 2 nights during a recent business trip to Abu Dhabi and the hotel expectation is in line with what I have known of this hotel.

Service and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The gym however, was undergoing some sort of renovation and they moved the gym temporarily to the nearby villa.

Location wise, is poor unless you have vehicle of your own. Quite a distance from the city center though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Very nice stay at this modern hotel. Stuff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The restaurants are great - but a little expensive. Quality of food is excellent. Standard Rooms Are big and very convenient. It was good to relax after a busy exhibition day. Would go the next time to the same hotel again!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TFK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Real 5 Star hotel because of many things
- Very good & fast service
- luxuries & stylish room
- they have one of the best swimming pools ever i have seen in my life
- good location between downtown abu dhabi & Yas Island ( 10 - 15 min. from both )

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbdulazizMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

stunning hotel, the view of the mosque is wonderful, we had reserved a room on the gold floor (7th), we were given probably the worst no 723, very noisy, as it has a very noisy machinery above, also cupboards are very small and could not accommodate more than a couple of items, after complaining about the noise and lack of space, we were offered a very nice corner room with double the cupboard capacity, the design of the electrical switches could have been planned better, no night light to the bathroom, only a central switch for all the lights to come on! the staff was charming and nothing was too much trouble to advise or arrange outings. The advertised spa is still not opened after several months.
The cleaning standard could be improved as the corridor carpet did not get clean for a week and it was done only after we mentioned it a couple of times.

The restaurants are very good, would I want to stay there again? I would start to look for alternatives, but the position on the creek overlooking the mosque is the best view in Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginette_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Very good hotel, good services, very good people. The room was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Party of 5 ( 3 kids aged 8 months , 8 and 10 ) upon arrival no real welcome ( no one with coll towels and drinks which one normally expects at this level) , went to a few desks and asked about check in for Fairmont Gold ,maybe as we looked tired ( long flight and 3 kids) they were all uninterested and told us to join the big queue of buisness pesons waiting to check in . I recalled our agent telling me about the 7th floor so ventured up there myself , still no welcome , they got us mixed up with someone else , however when i eventually explained who we were the member of staff profusely apologised and upgraded us to a really nice suite .
There was a wait for the cot and the beds for the kids but we didnt mind as the room was stunning .

The stay got better from there :Here are the plus points

1) nice facilities
2) it was nice and quiet by the poolside and beach
3) excellent choice of restaurants and not too badly priced and in Frankies free meal for the kids as they wanted simple pasta and tomoato sauce
4) very helpful staff and accomodating eg free steamed veg for the baby and always polite
5) good gym


bad points

1) the snacks on the gold level are just that snacks but you do get free drinks
2) the room cleaning frequency and level of cleaning did dwindle as the week went by
3) some may think its a little too quiet by the beach and pool but we liked it

As for things to do :

walk to the souk in the shangri la next door - its a bit quiet but a nice set up . i wouldnt eat there however there is better quality food at the fairmont and also the shangri la

Yas Marina circuit tour was good .Went to thehotel next door and was glad we didnt stay there - it felt too clinical and quiet

The mosque visit was a nice trip

and thats about it .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allaboutyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.7 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,350 reviews
10.8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Bab Al Bahr

Address: | Khor Al Maqta, Abu Dhabi 114304, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £112 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr boasts a prime location at the mainland gateway to the cosmopolitan city of Abu Dhabi. With its striking, contemporary design, this beachfront hotel offers the highest level of comfort and elegance throughout its 369 rooms and suites. Guests can enjoy world class on-site amenities, including private sandy beaches, an Olympic-length swimming pool, covered children’s pool, separate ladies’ and mixed-use gyms, business services and state-of-the-art conference facilities. Add to this an awarding winning portfolio of eight dining options; all delivered with genuine Arabic hospitality - the result is certain to exceed every guest’s highest expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing