We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ambiance for nice sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sho Cho Abu Dhabi

Sho Cho Abu Dhabi
Ranked #173 of 2,020 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: sho cho is a contemporary Japanese restaurant and lounge serving the freshest sushi and Japanese dishes. sho cho is fully licensed with an outdoor terrace for dining and a cocktail bar. We're open from 12pm daily with bento box lunch specials and happy hour drinks specials. Please follow our social media pages for updates.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance for nice sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Whenever you have a craving fir a nice sushi, Sho Cho is the place to go! Their Rock Shrimp Tempuras are an absolute must! Background lounge music is very pleasant and their rolls are spot on: the classics and originals. Beware however, the portions for the rolls are quite small.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zalnea224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    67
    29
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
290 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Wonderful view from patio, expensive but good sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sho Cho is definitely a good pick for Sushi in Abu Dhabi.

I found it a bit overpriced, meaning that, although good Sushi, I ate better sushi for the same price in my life. Still, I would highly suggest the restaurant.

The view is just incredible, right on the Grand Mosque, at night illuminated is romantic and eerie.
The service was ok, staff attentive. We waited a while, but we ordered SO MUCH FOOD, so that was expected. In four our bill came to 270 each.
One suggestions: Sho Cho has THE BEST MOJITOS in Abu Dhabi! Get one and you won't be disappointed!


I'm looking forward to go back and enjoy the mosque view with my boyfriend when he visits Abu Dhabi :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1990nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing place to have Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We went to the restaurant on a Sunday, we paid a fixed price for an open buffet of Asian food. The restaurant offers a wide variety of sushi (maki,California rolls,Salmon nigiri,Toro nigri...) and other Japanese dishes. The restaurant is so special in location, it is located opposite to the grand mosque. The Ambiance is so lovely, i loved the food, it is so yummy. I believe the restaurant is worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LKhamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great location opposite the grand Mosque. Sushi is ok (not particularly inventive), as a main course had a yellowtail tuna and hammour ( both unexciting/slightly overcooked). Given the main course we decided to give up on the dessert
Decor is modern, room tends to be noisy. Service ok.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vigorish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
567 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Tasty modern Asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Sho Cho is located in the Souk Qaryat Al Beri opposite the Great Mosque. They have booth indoor and outdoor seating. The selection of food is wide with Japanese dishes based on both fish/sea food and meat. We did not have a reservation but the staffed managed to get us a table on a busy Thursday evening. Service was great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sho Cho Abu Dhabi also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sho Cho Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing