We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ambiance!”
Review of Sho Cho Abu Dhabi

Sho Cho Abu Dhabi
Ranked #199 of 2,062 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: sho cho is a contemporary Japanese restaurant and lounge serving the freshest sushi and Japanese dishes. sho cho is fully licensed with an outdoor terrace for dining and a cocktail bar. We're open from 12 noon till 3 am with kitchen closing by 12mid night, daily specials that includes bento box lunch specials, happy hour drinks and sunday night feast. Please follow our social media pages for updates.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

For my sister's birthday, she picked up this restaurant to celebrate and frankly speaking It was an excellent choice!

The restaurant is located in Qaryat Al Beri opposite the Great Mosque. it has both indoor and outdoor seating. the view by night is very nice, overlooking the see and facing the illuminated Cheikh Zayed mosque.

We booked a table for 14 people and were very nicely welcomed by the staff. the menu is well designed and offers a good variety of tastes & flavors...fish, meat, chicken or pure veg, it has it all!
The service was smooth, the waiters were very attentive to serve the food at the right time and not make you wait unnecessarily.
I did like their Sushi and advise you not to miss it, if you happen to go there!

At Sho Cho you will not only enjoy the food, but also the music! the DJ is very good and he kept us dancing till late in the night!

We had a great time there and would definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Stick to the sushi!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We came to Sho Cho expecting an above average meal - unfortunately the food we were served was way below par. With entertainer coupons, we were limited to the "Main Course" selections on the menu plus a couple of other options - when I enquired about one of them the waitress informed me it was thin slices of seared tuna. I asked what it came with - she said it came with rice and that's it. These dishes are all around 100 AED. I started to get concerned.

We ordered a sushi platter to share between two people - 143 AED, around $45 for 15 pieces of nigiri, expensive but whatever, and this was pretty good. But then our main courses came.

We had ordered a chicken teriyaki, and a salmon teriyaki. Both were apparently pan fried, overcooked, without much seasoning, and finished by pouring a sticky teriyaki sauce over top. This came with a small bowl of white rice on the plate - no vegetables, no salad, no soup. 78 AED for the chicken, over 100 for the salmon. This was the worst food we've had in Abu Dhabi.

Can't recommend unless you are in the neighbourhood and want some sushi, which was not bad. We felt ripped off and disappointed that the rest of the menu was so poorly executed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The food is correct, the ambience is just great!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I am frequently in Abu Dhabi due to my work and I have been in many discos and pubs trying to find the place where music is good enough to spend a dancing night.
Well, I can tell that up to now, Sho Cho has the best ambience in Abu Dhabi, better than Eight that is just in the upper floor. The DJ is excellent and friday's is the 70s & 80s night.
Ah! of course, this is a restaurant... food is OK as a Japanese, bit overpriced but correct in terms of quality and cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaniCasanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance for nice sushi”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Whenever you have a craving fir a nice sushi, Sho Cho is the place to go! Their Rock Shrimp Tempuras are an absolute must! Background lounge music is very pleasant and their rolls are spot on: the classics and originals. Beware however, the portions for the rolls are quite small.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zalnea224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
291 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Wonderful view from patio, expensive but good sushi”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sho Cho is definitely a good pick for Sushi in Abu Dhabi.

I found it a bit overpriced, meaning that, although good Sushi, I ate better sushi for the same price in my life. Still, I would highly suggest the restaurant.

The view is just incredible, right on the Grand Mosque, at night illuminated is romantic and eerie.
The service was ok, staff attentive. We waited a while, but we ordered SO MUCH FOOD, so that was expected. In four our bill came to 270 each.
One suggestions: Sho Cho has THE BEST MOJITOS in Abu Dhabi! Get one and you won't be disappointed!


I'm looking forward to go back and enjoy the mosque view with my boyfriend when he visits Abu Dhabi :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1990nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sho Cho Abu Dhabi also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Sho Cho Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing