We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels and Beer”
Review of Belgian Beer Cafe

Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #55 of 2,071 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Since its opening in 2009, Belgian Café Abu Dhabi has been the city's leading restaurant amongst locals, expats and tourists offering the best of Belgium. Fresh mussels, chunky frites, Belgian waffles and exclusive Belgian beers served up in a classically European setting. The Belgian Café is a little piece of old Brussels right in the heart of Abu Dhabi. A clear favourite to unwind after a busy working day or start your well deserved weekend, the Belgian Café terrace serves up for any occasion. Add to that a marina view that never disappoints.
Abu Dhabi
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mussels and Beer”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We often go and share a pot of mussels and a pint of beer. I especially like the Hoegaarden beer but they 15+ other Belgian beers to choose from. They have a wide selection of mussels (Au Natural, White Wine, Provence, Thai, etc.) from which I usually have the Garlic and Cream. I have also had their unlimited beef ribs which was very good too. The food comes with Belgian style chips with home made mayonnaise. This is one of my favourite restaurants.

GJS

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skulmoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    178
    90
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“30 min with no service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner and drinks last Thursday and after chasing waiters for 30 min to order, we moved to Boccacio (another restaurant at the intercon). While we are used to haggle for service on busy nights, zero service for 30 min was unacceptable and if it wasn't for the crowd I was with, I would have left the intercon altogether. This was very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank louayac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“We'll be back ”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Came here last night and found the service to be very good. We were able to get a table outside after waiting a few minutes at the bar.

The weather was perfect for sitting outside.

We ordered two beers. One blonde and the other dark. They were both very good. Thai mussels were very tasty.

We enjoyed the meal and price. Nice to find a "reasonably" priced place for eat and drinks in AD.

Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We opted for a chilled out and relaxing dinner here one Tuesday evening. We ate inside (only noticed outside eating and drinking on a following visit). Service was good, polite and efficient.
We ordered mussels in white wine sauce and chips.

Order came with lovely fresh bread, which was good to help soak up the delicious sauce.

A really enjoyable meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LASallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice beer.......poor ambience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went for happy hour one Friday evening. Expected the place to be busy, however it was almost empty - which I guess says something. Beer was nice, but got impression they were more interested in food as asked three times by different servers. Service was not brilliant with us having to seek service on a number of occasions even though there seemed to be plenty of staff 'passing by'. Television had some premier league highlights on a short loop. Most of the staff were friendly but one female who brought drinks and nibbles when requested - consistently did not smile once simply put things down without a word and appeared as if everything was a chore to her. - not a good advert. So nice beer but ambiance wise there are places with better service

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank timmy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing