We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hakkasan

Hakkasan
Ranked #15 of 2,013 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hakkasan Abu Dhabi opened in June 2010, bringing Hakkasan's award-winning cuisine to the landmark Emirates Palace. Comprising a restaurant, bar and lounge as well as four private dining rooms, the 16,000 sq ft space is separated by carved wooden screens and latticing that echo the rich interiors of the London flagship restaurant. Long-time design partner Gilles & Boissier designed the space with the Hakkasan ethos of the modern ethnic, interpreting it for the United Arab Emirates. Embroidered furniture and marbled Chinese forms enrich the space, and the main dining area is crafted into a wooden cage surrounded by backlit blue glass and a stainless steel frame. Signature Hakkasan dishes like Peking Duck with Caviar and Grilled Wagyu Beef with King Soy Sauce are served alongside a set of new dishes created especially for an Emirate clientele. The restaurant is headed by chef Lee Kok Hua, who was previously at Hakkasan Hanway Place where he worked under Head Chef Tong Chee Hwee for five years.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went here for drinks with some expat friends, good atmosphere, music pumping and a nice crowd to mingle around with. Obviously its located in a killer setting, the only let down was the rude bouncer/door man that for some reason figured he is more important then the guests, A little welcome with a smile wouldn't kill you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aff_Rallare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    222
    62
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

After all the hype we decided to give it a go. Went with my husband and parents tonight. Food was ok, rice was stone cold, for the price I would expect perfection and hot!
The place is so dark it's ridiculous, you have to be directed to the toilets, once inside trying to find the right door is a mission in itself, I entered 2 store rooms before finding the toilet door, once inside, if you wanted to apply some lip stick no chance, it's just too dark.......why?
Would I return no, been to much cheaper and better Chinese restaurants in the city

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silecroft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in a stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Whilst visiting Abu Dhabi on golfing holiday I booked a special family evening meal at the Hakkasan. We had a wonderful evening, great food, excellent service and a stunning location. If possible book an outdoor table as the view of the Etihad Towers really adds to the whole experience. The whole meal was rather pricey, but no more than I had expected from a restaurant of this quality. The atmosphere is great for a romantic dinner for two, but the lighting levels do make the menu and wine list difficult to read, however a small reading lamp was readily provided. Overall we had a lovely evening and we would have no hesitation in booking again on our next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul_goodrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT AMBIENCE AND FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant in an amazing hotel. The food was superb and the service outstanding. Prices are very reasonable for the type of restaurant it is and its location. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Amazing Chinese food with a nouveau twist. Personally I prefer the outside dining when weather permits as the views are good. The decor was my least favourite thing about this restaurant as it is dark and quite noisey with a prominent bar. Service was very attentive and the bill reflects the standard of venue, food and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakkasan also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Hakkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing