We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant bar”
Review of Hakkasan

Hakkasan
Ranked #19 of 2,062 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hakkasan Abu Dhabi opened in June 2010, bringing Hakkasan's award-winning cuisine to the landmark Emirates Palace. Comprising a restaurant, bar and lounge as well as four private dining rooms, the 16,000 sq ft space is separated by carved wooden screens and latticing that echo the rich interiors of the London flagship restaurant. Long-time design partner Gilles & Boissier designed the space with the Hakkasan ethos of the modern ethnic, interpreting it for the United Arab Emirates. Embroidered furniture and marbled Chinese forms enrich the space, and the main dining area is crafted into a wooden cage surrounded by backlit blue glass and a stainless steel frame. Signature Hakkasan dishes like Peking Duck with Caviar and Grilled Wagyu Beef with King Soy Sauce are served alongside a set of new dishes created especially for an Emirate clientele. The restaurant is headed by chef Lee Kok Hua, who was previously at Hakkasan Hanway Place where he worked under Head Chef Tong Chee Hwee for five years.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant bar”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Bar is great with skilled bartenders and verities. Friendly and outgoing bartender (Aung) recommended their version Negroni, Hmm well suggested. 100% credited.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank katrin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    233
    68
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great but a little dark”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Loved the food and service but it's a little too dark to read the menu! Can't remember what I ordered but everything was really good.

Helpful?
Thank pillowsandpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HakkasanAE, Guest Relations Manager at Hakkasan, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hakkasan. We hope to see you again very soon in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Way below London standard”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The service was poor-I know it was Ramadan and that I was travelling alone, but I was a guest in the hotel and deserved better.
The salt and pepper squid, which is one of my favourite dishes in London, had been cooked in oil that wasn't hot enough, so it was greasy beyond belief and soggy. I tried to send it back, but my waiter either didn't understand or care. My main course, Stir-Fried Prawns and Pineapple, which is usually full of chills and quite spicy (which I wanted) was bland, not a spice in sight, just a few cubes of what tasted like canned pineapple and a couple of flabby prawns.
I asked for a manger, but after waiting about 15 minutes I gave up and simply paid the bill. I've had far better food at my local Chinese takeaway back home! HUGE disappointment, especially from a brand like this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank geminigirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HakkasanAE, Guest Relations Manager at Hakkasan, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are very sorry to read about your experience at Hakkasan Abu Dhabi. We strive for perfection and this is indeed unacceptable. We will take the necessary measures to make it right for your next visit. Apologies from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expectations Exceeded”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Before coming to Abu Dhabi, I had been told that i had to try Hakkasan at the emirates palace! And a good thing I did! The setting in itself is breathtaking! The service superb! But what to say about the food ? Simply the best Asian restaurant I have ever tried!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
278 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Date night with my wife and it was a perfect choice. Nice and cosy setting, long bar and attentive service. meal was very good, was surprised to get this standard of Chinese food. good wine list and knowledgeable sommelier. overall a very nice evening out. definitely a must if in abu dhabi and cheep rose champagne by the bottle

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrisIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hakkasan also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Hakkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing