We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep going back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toki

Toki
Ranked #122 of 2,021 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Keep going back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have been going to Toki at least once every couple of months for a few years now. I find their staff very friendly and professional, the food is consistently good and not overpriced (but be careful what you order, some of it is expensive!) and their complimentary green tea (hot or iced) is wonderful!

I'm no connoisseur of Japanese food, but Toki does the basics well - flavourful miso soup, great tempura and very nice maki rolls with a good selection of fillings. Their menu is very extensive and I think anyone could find a great meal here - even those afraid of raw fish, as some people can be! Also their black sesame creme brulee is exotic and delicious!

The only bad thing I can say about Toki is that I would prefer a dining space with more natural light. Toki is entirely interior and I have found myself wishing for a bit of a view now and then!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    58
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have eaten here twice. Lots of Japanese variety. It can be expensive if you don't check out the prices first. Would defiantly go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raddicool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, I will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I have been in many Japanese restaurants in the past and I have had good and bad experiences. Never had I had such a great and authentic Japanese experience before, though.
The place is very nice and cool. Small, separated tables for better privacy and intimacy. Wifi bell on the table. And attentive and kind personnel.
The food is attentively prepared, and is of amazing quackery and freshness! I had mix sushi, of course! But I also had an excellent chirashi , that you have to try.

Green tea was at the good temperature (at last!) and they also have a reasonable choice of bottles of wine, apart the usual Japanese beer.

I found every aspect of this dinner very satisfactory. Price is not exaggerated, though you cannot imagine to dine in such a beautiful place for 10€! I spent around 50€, a very reasonable price for such good quality!
I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank DanieleGiuffrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

much better than I thought. In fact better than the Royal Orchid. the staff are friendly and service good . every order was good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Located at the Hilton on the Corniche, Toki offers Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Great place to have dinner with friends or date night! Dress code is Smart Casual.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toki also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Toki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing