We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments could stand some better design for families..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Millennium Al Wahda
Ranked #51 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Apartments could stand some better design for families..”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We travel often to the Gulf on family vacations, and make it a practice to stay in apartment hotels. This was our first stay at the Grand Millenium - we had a 2 bedroom apartment for our family (one 4 yr old, 1 baby). while the apartment is tastefully furnished and the bedrooms relatively spacious, we found 2 major drawbacks: 1) no dishwasher, which was totally impractical for a family who is eating in 1-2 times a day, and 2) the dining area was simply a high bar with tall bar chairs - smaller children could not begin to get on these chairs . Therefore, we were forced to eat in the living room hunched over the coffee table in order to eat as a family. Also, some small nuisances: the lighting was a bit confounding (figuring out which switches worked with which lights), and the closets were not deep enough for a good-size suitcase. There was plenty of closet shelving in the children's room, but not so much in the adult's room. An important tip for anyone getting a baby cot: our baby got dangerously tangled up between the mattress & the side-netting, and we realized that the cot had not been properly assembled. That is definitely worth a double check prior to using.

Plusses: the bedroom areas were carpeted, which was cozy (and alleviated my concerns about children falling out of bed), and there was lighting in the closets (these made good night lights!). The bathrooms were very spacious, including a full-size bathtub and large walk-in shower. There was a clothing washer/dryer too, as well as a DVD player.

The pool area was well designed, so as to have partial shade/sun throughout the day, and there was a children's pool. The big pool had a swim up bar (which was more frequented by kids playing on the in-pool seats!). One could also order lunch at the pool restaurant , from the room-service menu

We enjoyed evening drinks and small snacks in the Arab-style hospitality tent (with privacy curtains) down in the lobby, which we would highly recommend, as it lent a local touch and was fun for the kids.

Buffet breakfast had a very nice, extensive selection, but only runs until 10:30am which is difficult for those of us still on European time.

We didn't try the children's club, but it appears to be available for 3 hours at a time for AED 50.

The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful, although we occasionally experienced crossed wires with housekeeping requests. We were able to valet park our car at no additional charge during our stay. Appreciated the free wi-fi !

Next door in the Al Wahda mall was a "hypermarket" (a very big, somewhat frenetic supermarket) in the basement, where babyfood could be purchased.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whereisjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    555
    186
    84
    72
See reviews for
366
356
170
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The rooms are decent sized and the I liked the Italian restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was not as good as others in the middle east. Overall, it's a perfectly decent place to stay, not tremendously expensive, and a reasonable value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is ver conveinatly located right next to the Wehda Mall. This is very useful if you here on a business trip and need a place for your family to sty while you visit. The Mall isn't very big but is a dicent size. During our visit they Mall extension was being finihed so I expect the Mall to double in size in future.

PS. The spa and gym facilities are excellent, one of the best I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Get room on higher floor to enjoy the veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The rooms are very comfortable - both for sleep and working - and excellent value for money. The food in the various hotel restaurants is first-rate but relatively expensive compared to the value of the room. Alternatively, you can eat cheap fast food in the mall next door (I did and wished I hadn't). The spa is surprisingly good and an early massage fixed my jet-lag.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

In my very first arabia trip, landed at DXB and picked my rental car and drove
all the way to abu dhabi. Located at the Al Wahda shopping complex, which very easy to find once left hwy E11. Its the only high rise bldg nearby. It offered free parking with valet parking service. To be honest, the hotel lobby is nothing you would think of "Grand", but giving the consideration of the reasonale room rate, i wouldnt ask for more. Much appreciated the
check-in with efficiency, after a red eye flight from Asia and a 2 hr drive from DXB. The room is impressive, and realize the definition of "Grand" is subtle, the room is a little larger than standard hotel room, esp, space at the room door, where you can keep your suitcase and shoes, so that I won't ruin the atomsphere of my room. My room is facing Al Reem Island , it's a pity that my view was kinda squeeze ( still wide enough though ) between 2 building in front of me. Apart from appreciating the cleanness of the room, the bathroom, i would say, it's almost as big as my hotel room. Enjoy a refreshing shower with L'occitane-amenities.
It helps to get started for my day1 UAE trip.
Pool, it's on the top of the building, it has 270 degree view of the city.
Restaurant, did not try any, please refer to the others comment, and since Al Wahad mall is right next, it offers plenty of choices. Also, there's LULU supermarket ( they called it Mega market ) , you can get whatever without opening your room's fridge.
Location, it's not far from the corniche area speaking of driving, but it's way closer to AUH, also it's right next to bus terminal for intercity route.
I think i would come back for sure when i go Abu Dhabi again.
Once again, thanks to the staff from parking, door, concierge for my stay.
Little suggestion, remember to ask for a pocket booklet of abu Dhabi for traveller from front desk, which include everything I need for my 4 day Abu Dhabi stay.

I dont understand much about Islamic culture but respect to it, so I'm wondering why the supposed transparent glass between bathroom and bedroom is sealed, waste the chance for hot tube while watching TV. I guess it has something to do with cultural difference.

Room Tip: choose the room the opposite direction I had, I think it has 180 panoramic view of Abu Dhabi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Traveled with a group of firends from Qatar with a 12 hour drive including a long transit in Saudi. Booked online through the hotel website and had opted for the weekend package for three pax inclusive of stay for 2 nights and breakfast, an excellent deal. The hotel offers a complimentary valet parking service which was a great relief for us. Check in was fast and we got the room cards within 10 mins approx. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and adhere to five star standards. The toilets were excellent and had basic amenties. Had mini bar but did not use. Free coffee and kettle provided. Free wifi (but slow, can check emails but not possible to stream videos). LCD TV with a good range of international channels. After all were in the UAE for an adventure, so were not bothered about the in room facilities even though they were very good.

House keeping staff - excellent. Had clothes for pressing and the staff went all the way to set up the ironing board with the right temperature.

Breakfast timings were good with smiling staff who took good care while dining. International breakfast buffet with wide varieties.

While waiting for my car from the valet parking, I was asked to wait in the hotel lobby and were served arabic "gawah". Truly a hotel known for its hospitality.

Check out was fast with only few extras to pay. We were very thrilled to see a tall guy (bell boy) with around 7 feet. He was the center of attraction.

The hotel is located right in the city center and close to Al Wahda Mall.

Room Tip: Rooms are sound proofed and we had booked for a room facing the road time - calm and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bipin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I book this after a distaster at the Grand Continental. Breakfast was great, a full buffet freshly served. Polite staff.

The bar down stairs was very atmospheric and I enjoyed a few classes of wine there. the room might have been a bit small, but more than satifactory with the quality. I enjoyed the pool and all the spa areas. it was rather odd that the sauna was not near the pool, something for them to think about in the future. Location was great, so there were plenty of options if you did not want to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAW_2012, Manager at Grand Millennium Al Wahda, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Sarah f,

Thank you for your feedback! We were delighted learn that you were satisfied with the service at Grand Millennium Al Wahda Hotel.

Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

Thanks again! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,


Marwan Mseikeh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.7 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#44 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#17 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Rose Hotel
Royal Rose Hotel
#27 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Al Wahda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Al Wahda

Property: Grand Millennium Al Wahda
Address: Hazza Bin Zayed Street | Al Wahda Complex, Abu Dhabi 107080, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#32 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#36 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#39 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#46 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Millennium Al Wahda 5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant five-star hotel with direct access to the mall opened in October 2010. Its spacious 585 hotel rooms and 265 residences have all been designed in a luxurious contemporary style, offering unrivaled comfort and high-tech connectivity, with features such as multi-line telephones with data ports, wireless internet connection, 37-inch LCD televisions, Bose sound systems, and heated towel racks. The hotel also boasts the largest health club in the city with a 2,700 sqm spa, rooftop swimming pool and a supersized gym equipped with top-of-the-line Technogym aerobic and weight training machines. Multiple dining venues beckon with authentic and wide-ranging international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Al Wahda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Al Wahda Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing