We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to grab a quick lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura

Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura
Ranked #181 of 2,020 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Cuisines: Cafe, International, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to grab a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Tried their oak smoked salmon bagel, and to be honest, it was worth it. Had the right flavours in the right proportions. And the highlight, as always, is their fresh cheesecake, which I make a point to get every time I pass by Jones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    68
    32
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our last visit wasn't great, food not specal. Previous menu was much better. Thai beef salad wasn't good at all. Setting outside very dusty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Franz Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Found the place on uaeshelf.com before I was planning to visit abu dhabi...The food was amazing. I also love the concept...the only downfall is the price....but I highly recommend this place it will be an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foovana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality of food and ambience are hard to beat in Abu Dhabi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are a few of these restaurants in Abu Dhabi, I have never been disappointed in any of them. Friendly efficient staff, good quality food and a lively atmosphere, I am happy to pay a little more for a quality product, hard to find fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom51253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food at extorionate prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Food is only decent, but ridiculously overpriced for what it is! They do decor and ambiance very well (cheese counters, food testers, communcal benches and tables, smell of fresh bread) but the actual food is only alright. Portions are insanely small. Salads are so small you will leave hungry if that's all you order. I observed a man at another table order two salads for lunch! I ordered a salad with edamame and the edamame was so limited I thought I had received the wrong dish. Fish & chips is decent, steak sandwich also, roquet and cheese sandwich...all just decent, but nothing that will excite you and an absolute fortune for the portions you receive. This goes for all the Jones outlets in town (Raha Gardens, Mamoura A, Khalidiya) as I've sampled all of them and keep hoping the quality of food and prices relative to portions, will improve. Abu Dhabi is DYING for a French, bistroy-style place like this if they could just fix those two issues!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FNKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Jones the Grocer - Al Mamoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing