We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jet lag retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    439
    113
    44
    23
See reviews for
458
888
159
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, that has opened its doors a few months ago, is a pure Sofitel hotel, as you can find many others in the Sofitel network. It offers (almost) all you can expect from a Sofitel.

In terms of location : the hotel is situated on the Corniche, which is the "skyline" of Abu Dhabi. Next to the hotel, you will find a "promenade" that serves the Corniche, parallel to the sea. The Marina Mall is situated around 7 kms from the hotel, as the Emirates Palace. The Yas Marina Circuit, for F1 fans (we were in Abu Dhabi for the 2012 Grand-Prix), is situated at around 30 kms, using the Check Zaheid speedway (the one that goes through the Mangrove and the desert). There is a "Big Bus Tour" stop near the hotel (for those willing to take a tourist tour of the city), and taxis can be easily asked from the reception or parking personel. Just in front of the hotel, however, some building construction are heavily hurting the landscape - this is something that you can't see on the official hotel pictures, however. For that aspect, the hotel deserves a rating of 4, at maximum.

For the hotel itself : it is a "tower" hotel, with around 37 floors. Facilities are at the bottom of the hotel, except for the Millesime Club, which is at the top floors. The swimming pool is on the 8th floor, in front of the sea. The hotel's orientation makes that even in front of the sea, you don't get any sun ; especially, the swimming pool is always under shadow - so don't except to take a sun bath there. The hotel is nice, well furnished, and has the usual Sofitel standards. We rate it 4.

The rooms are very classic, with again Sofitel high quality standards. We were upgraded to a Prestige Suite, as Le Club Accor Hotels Platinum Member. This suite, with sea view, offers a separate toilet, a desk part, a living room (with two big sofas and chairs, a table, and a flat screen), a bedroom (king-size bed, flat screen), a dressing, and a bathroom (shower, bath, two sinks, toilet). The furniture is great, the room very clean, and because of our status, we get every day small gifts in the room (chocolate, Nespresso, etc). This room is ideal for a couple willing to have space. Especially, the big bathroom and the double toilets is was very appreciated.

The Millesime Club is at the top floor. There, you can find food and beverages at all times of day. Alcoholic drinks are served during two hours (in the evening) for free (wines, etc). The food is fine, too. The ambiance is soft, and you will meet there people willing to have a short snack or drink between two activities. There is also one or two staff people, that can help you with your stay (for us, the person in charge changed our next Sofitel booking and arranged our next stay very quickly and professionnally - and that was very appreciated). However, we are not sure if this facility desserves its price, but that's probably because we didn't spent a lot of time in the hotel. We rate this facility 4.

Worth noting is the fact that the hotel offers a free wifi connection - finally, they did it. It is sufficient to read and write email using a tablet, or to watch short videos.

Our reservation included the breakfast, which we took from the general breakfast room, on the ground floor (you can also take it from the Millesime Club). Food offered is just very common. A bad point, however, stands with the service : once seated, they forget about you, meaning that you wait for your drink (coffee or juice) for a while, or that you don't get your basket of bread. That aspect was very disappointing to us, since we are used to a high level of service. Probably, it is linked to the recent opening of the hotel, and the lack of training of the personel - it was pretty clear to us that the personel was just not sure of what to do and when. We also took a drink at the pool bar, on the 8th floor, an evening : there, the waiter forgot about our order ; when he finally reminded about it, he offers it for free - which is a nice way of presenting excuses. We rate the service part at 3, not to put a 2 (as service is very important to us).

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in the hotel, as we found there the usual Sofitel standards. We were however disapointed about the service at the restaurant and bar. We guess that this will be fixed soon, as the hotel gains traction, and as the staff is trained appropriatly. We placed a rating of 4 for that reason, as excellence is not yet there.

Room Tip: We recommand strongly the Prestige Suite, for the space it offers. Take the sea view, for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbre_Sage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

We are glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as its design, the room equipment and service in Club Millesime.

It was however sad to read you were disappointed with the breakfast food and service.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche and have the opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We spent one night in Abu Dhabi and Sofitel was a great choice. We had a suite and the room was fantastic, huge shower with rainfall and a bench inside the shower. Fantastic seaview! Also we had access to the lounge on the 36th floor which served great food and drinks. The only remark from our side was the lack of sun in the pool area as large buildings gave shadow. All in all a very modern and nice hotel but most important superb service from the staff in the lounge like Pamela who gave outstanding service! We stay 200 night a year in hotels both business and private and this is definitely one of our top 3!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobi_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for this review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our teams internally.

We thank you as well for praising Pamela. The whole team work very hard to make sure all our guests benefit the best service.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days on training and the hotel was in close proximity to Shaikh Khalifa energy complex which was very convenience if you work there.

service was great, well equipped seminar venues , clean specious rooms, food was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

It was a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room and the quality of the food proposed.

We hope to welcome you again at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Fantastic service and attention to detail with buffet breakfast to die for......you name it you can have it.....tho get in early as not always fresh if late arriver.

Hungry to be great so enjoy........

Room Tip: Purchase sea view and city and enjoy best of both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of the food in the buffet breakfast.

It was also very pleasing to read you enjoyed the views over the city and the Corniche

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Booked this due to new jazz bar and close proximity to Hilton for our favorite bar. On arriving saw lunch offer at la mer, without a doubt the best lunch in years. Wagyu and red snapper to die for. Highly recommended. Evening spent in jazz and fizz with lots of ladies as it was their night. So my drinks free. All good except for the large cigars next to me.
Would I stay again probably but defo not for sunbathers as no sun till late. Over all nice rooms and people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche.

We appreciate reading positive feedback regarding the La Mer Business Lunch.

Stiletto night at Jazz & Fizz happens every Tuesday, with a live performance from our saxophonist.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Wary, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I haven't expected much from the newly opened Sofitel in terms of service and overall property. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The property itself is great design-wise; the room was spacious, cosy and well-equipped. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The pool area is too small for my taste, but the view of the towers and the endless sky compensate - although would have been better if one could actually see the Corniche.
Anyway, this hotel will definitely become one of the nicest properties in Abu Dhabi - for business travellers.

Room Tip: The higher the floor - the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your satisfying review of Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche. It is always a pleasure to read you enjoyed the design and equipment of our hotel.

Your feedback has already been shared with all the departments.

We hope to welcome you again in our property and give us the opportunity to serve you even better next time.

Sincerely,

Nael El-Waary,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#5 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
1.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#2 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.7 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#19 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Property: Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Address: Corniche Corniche Rd, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in the first quarter 2012, the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche (part of Capital Plaza building) is ideally situated in the heart of the city, close to the seafront and the business and financial center. It enjoys a privileged location on Corniche Road, one of the most prestigious district. The maritime centre Port Zayed, the Souk, famous for its rugs and Dhow Harbour, home to the traditional transport and fishing boats which still take to the waters of the Arabian Gulf, are all a short distance from the hotel. The hotel offers all the services of a world-class French establishment, blending its origins with the best of the Oriental influences: butler service and executive lounge access (Club Millesime) for club rooms and suites, and the famous MyBed concept and Bose wave in all rooms. Each of the rooms offer breathtaking views over city and Arabian Gulf. Additionally, the hotel offers 3 signature restaurants and 3 bars, a pool, a spa and wellness space and 9 meeting rooms. A ballroom can also welcome up to 1000 visitors and therefore host any kind of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing