We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect, but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Almost perfect, but not quite”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

In a great location, almost on the sea-front (but not quite), this 5* hotel has almost everything. The staff were great, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and smart. The rooms were clean and very well furnished and equipped. It's difficult to put my finger on why I don't feel this hotel rates as a 5 'tripadvisor blobs' hotel as opposed to a 4 (and I realise that being short on specifics doesn't make for a great review), but having stayed in other Sofitel's this one was just not quite as good somehow. Perhaps it was the feeling that everything was designed to engender a feeling of disconnectedness. The breakfast area has a large screen in front of it so it has no view of anything other than the breakfast area. The restaurants also felt a little isolated and hidden. This may be down to local customs, I guess, but it made the place feel slightly furtive. The large reception area and people milling around meant that talking to reception staff was done in hushed tones. The restaurants are good quality but expensive and there are cheaper and equal quality places for a bite nearby. The rooms are faultless though - nothing here to let the hotel down. The bed was very comfy, as were the pillows. Don't get me wrong, this hotel was not disappointing, just not quite up there with the very best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Elusive-Thnith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations. As a luxury hotel, it is not our goal for our guests to leave us disappointed. It is sad to know that we have failed in giving you an exceptional experience.

Your comments have already been shared with the management team, I hope that you'll give us another chance to better serve you in the future.

Please accept my sincerest apologies, it would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,030
    466
    123
    46
    25
See reviews for
482
959
175
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Was upgraded to a suite as an Accor gold card holder which was much appreciated and having arrived in the middle of the night I had dropped my phone in the cab. The staff were fantastic in retrieving it for me - with a bit of help from 'find my iPhone' . If u could criticise anything I guess you could say the pool is small because the hotel is on a fairly small footprint as is typical of more recent developments. As a business hotel it couldn't really be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you liked the hotel and our rooms. Our Ambassadors are trained to assist our guests in every way possible. On this occasion, I am happy to know that we were able to do so.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just got back from a fantastic stay at the Sofitel Abu Dhabi, nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel.

Upon arrival we had our bags taken off us and a very friendly memeber of staff checked us in. We were given a cold flannel and a glass of refreshing juice. A porter then came with us to show us to our room, he showed us where everything was and explained about different things going on in the hotel.

The room was beautiful, the bathroom been the best feature it was so spacious, witha seperate bath tub, and shower cubicle. The beds were really comfy too!

The next morning we went down to breakfast it was amazing, so much choice and again the staff treated us like Royalty, they could not do enough for you.

We spent the afternoon by the pool, the pool attendent came over and put towels on the sunbeds for us, then later on in the day someone came round with cold flannels which was very refreshing. The pool bar was great the barman kept coming round to see if we wanted anything.

On the evening we visited the Jazz and fizz bar which was lovely, the waitress who was serving us advised that on Tuesday night it was ladies night and certain drinks were free for ladies, so the next night we went and it was great, I had cocktails and bubbly all for free, they had a dj playing in there as well it was a really good atmosphere.

All in all the hotel was great could not fault anything. I would return without a doubt and will be recommending it to people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I really appreciate all the nice comments that you wrote about the hotel. I am glad that you had a wonderful time with us. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to them as we strive to provide consistent quality service to our guests.

I am grateful for your support and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed overnight at this hotel and had a great time. Firstly, we checked in super early because we had a birthday party to get to. No problem: checked in and upgrated to suite because we had Accor Club membership. Room was very nice, interesting view over port area and over to Saadiyat Island etc (didn't need seaview as we live over the Corniche). Does Sofitel have a pillow menu? If we'd thought about it, we would have asked for less squishy ones.

We didn't dine there as we had another function to go to, but we had a great breakfast in the Exec Club the next morning. Service - including room service late at night - was great all round, the pool was lovely, will go back sometime again. Hope that the Thai restaurant opens after Ramadan for lunch during weekends - we were disappointed we didn't get to eat there this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I appreciate you taking the time to tell me about your experience. I am glad that you liked the suite and the Club Millesime. I will share your comments about Silk 'n Spice with the management team.. But as of the moment, Silk 'n Spice is open for dinner everyday from 19:00 hours.

On your next visit, I hope you'll stay with us longer and try our other restaurants. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I traveled to Abu Dhabhi earlier this month for a business visit and stayed at Sofitel for a night.
Hotel has an amazing lobby with lots of hustle and bustle. Was welcomed with a natural drink in the lobby while I was checking-in. I was put up in a room on the 5-floor. Room was surprisingly big as compared to the other five-star hotels I have stayed in Abu Dhabi. The wash room was clean and loaded with lots of bathroom accessories. Bed was very comfortable and had a peaceful night sleep.
Breakfast area on the ground floor is very large and having lots of things to offer. Staff in the restaurant was very friendly and helped recommend vegetarian food.

I would definitely like to stay in Sofitel when I visit Abu Dhabhi again !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishkaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you liked the hotel, the rooms and the amenities that we have for guests. I hope that on your next visit, you'll stay a little bit longer and get to try the other restaurants in the hotel.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had dinner at the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche restaurant and it was a very pleasant experience. The food variety was amazing, catering to all cuisines, the place was cozy, nice Italian and French music at the background and the staff was attentive and very helpful at the same time very friendly, tip: ask for Mark!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_SofitelAbuDhabi, General Manager at Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Corniche, our All Day Dining Restaurant.

I am glad that you had a wonderful experience at the restaurant and that you liked the food. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to serve as an inspiration and encouragement to them. I hope that you will try our other restaurants on your next visit.

I appreciate your support and I look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

Nael El-Wary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.0 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
3.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,579 reviews
3.8 mi away
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
#20 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,159 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche

Property: Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Address: Corniche Corniche Rd, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in the first quarter 2012, the Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche (part of Capital Plaza building) is ideally situated in the heart of the city, close to the seafront and the business and financial center. It enjoys a privileged location on Corniche Road, one of the most prestigious district. The maritime centre Port Zayed, the Souk, famous for its rugs and Dhow Harbour, home to the traditional transport and fishing boats which still take to the waters of the Arabian Gulf, are all a short distance from the hotel. The hotel offers all the services of a world-class French establishment, blending its origins with the best of the Oriental influences: butler service and executive lounge access (Club Millesime) for club rooms and suites, and the famous MyBed concept and Bose wave in all rooms. Each of the rooms offer breathtaking views over city and Arabian Gulf. Additionally, the hotel offers 3 signature restaurants and 3 bars, a pool, a spa and wellness space and 9 meeting rooms. A ballroom can also welcome up to 1000 visitors and therefore host any kind of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing