We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great people, great food, great value, total customer focus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great people, great food, great value, total customer focus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

A fantastic hotel, great value and totally focused on the customer. I ended up here by accident but I felt very lucky to have found this place. Abu Dhabi has some very expensive hotels that don't always have the feel that the price would suggest. Cristal Salaam is great value for money but the best thing is the service which is fixated on customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    199
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
77
150
80
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed for a week at the Cristal Salam hotel and felt at home. The staff are very well trained, which is a contrast to many of the places I have stayed in GCC countries. The building itself, the furnishings and public areas, are all new and tastefully put together. The upstairs roof-top bar with an outside area and pool is a good place to relax on an evening and the Korean restaurant had excellent food and service. The breakfast buffet was very good and the spa also of top quality with a very well trained masseuse, "Be". The only point for improvement would be to enable guests to open their windows - I can understand why this is not allowed during the summer with 40+ degree heat, but in early March with 20-25 degree weather this fresh air into the room would have been nice to have. The hotel is pretty well located and the prices excellent for what you get. I would stay here again and can recommend it without hesitation as a good-value hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My colleague and I stayed for three weeks. This was the longest I've ever stayed continuously in one hotel. I will definitely return to Cristal if I return to Abu Dhabi. Convenient location, cheerful staff, modern rooms. The chef at Vertigo restaurant is excellent (braised lamb & surf 'n turf recommended) and the meals and drinks are not expensive, especially during happy hour. Bar staff Alex, Sanja, Zorya, & Malina were very friendly to us as were breakfast restaurant staff, front desk George and others, duty manager Litzl and general manager Syd, all regularly took interest in our stay. Gym very well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I booked this hotel due to the consistently good reviews on Trip Advisor. I stayed with a colleague during 'IDEX' week in February 2013. This is always a busy week for hotels in Abu Dhabi. Our stay was pleasant enough. The rooms were nice and generally well serviced, although the minibar was never replenished during one week's stay.

Breakfast in the Korean restaurant was plentiful with a wide range cold and hot items. The staff both in the restaurant and on the front desk were excellent and quite helpful.

My opinion of Cristal Salam was drastically affected by the attitude and rudeness of the person on the front desk when it came to check-out. This person turned out to be the manager of the hotel!

When I received my bill there was a large discrepancy between the rate I had booked and the rate that was being charged. The discrepancy with the bill manifested itself in two ways:

1. The rate I was charged was some 20% more that the "fully inclusive of tax" rate I booked.

2. The rate I was charged varied from night-to-night, whereas I booked a rate which was the same each night.

When I challenged the bill (by showing my confirmation email) the manager spent ages checking on his computer and then phoned somebody at another office. After much time and argument, he said that this happens all the time with bookings from Bookings.com. If this happens all the time, why did he have to spend so long thinking about it and talking to other people? He should have known about the "problem" straight away.

We argued for ages, with him becoming ruder and ruder towards me. Frankly, I have never been treated in such a way by the manager of an establishment. In the end I had to pay the bill, although I signed the credit card receipt "UNDER PROTEST".

In summary, be very careful with reservations with this hotel. Reconfirm your rate both before you arrive and when you check-in. If you don't like what they are going to end up charging you - find another hotel. Luckily Abu Dhabi is on a hotel building spree at the moment and there are plenty of other hotel options available (as compare with 5 years ago).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickjbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to flag some positives ( room, breakfast, friendliness of team), & my sincere apologies on any eventual aggravation caused by your check out experience.

Allow me to clarify 2 points you raised; firstly, the website through which you booked always displays our hotel rates exclusive of taxes. So when you do pay the bill, another 16% is added on for Tourism & Service charges. Secondly, rates at any hotel vary from day to day. Once again, the website you booked through would have quoted you the average rate over the period of stay. Thus you were quoted a constant rate ( the average), but in our hotel system, the rates would vary. If you average out our fluctuating rate, I am sure it would equal the constant rate you were expecting.

I hope you will accept my explanation above. We would never look to over charge our guests, & I trust that you will notice from our other 230+ reviews, the extremely positive experiences our guests have always had.

My apologies for the clear misunderstanding with our Front Desk Manager, & I shall definitely review this case with him.

You are right, there are plenty of hotel options in town, but I do hope you will choose to return, & give us the pleasure, & privilege to correct your impression of our hotel that happpened unfortunately in the last stage of your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sid Sattanathan
ClusterGeneral Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Both my colleagues and I stayed in this hotel at Abu Dhabi from 18 to 20 Mar 13. I found that all the staff in this hotel is very friendly and always serve with a sweet friendly smile. Even the manager in-charge of housekeeping talked to us during one of our breakfast time in the hotel. This was a very good gesture as the hotel management staff also walk and feel the ground. Inputs and feedback from the ground is important for continuous improvement and ensureing guests has the most wonderful stay in the hotel. As for the room, it was very clean and also the housekeeping staff was enthusiatic and friendly too. Overall, I felt very comfortable and the stay was fantastic. Surely, I will come back to this hotel on my next visit to Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, & it is encouraging to note that guests like yourself notice, & appreciate the focus we place on Managers walking the hotel, & looking to engage & interact with our valued guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Kind regards,

Sid Sattanathan
Cluster General Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Service was excellent, room is excellent, could not ask for more. I have stayed in other places in Abu Dhabi and I will be staying here from now on. There might be better hotels, but I have no reason to try and find another.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

While writing this review, we are still checked in at Cristal Salam Hotel. We chose to stay here to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Our first booking for this occasion was made with Sofitel. But when I read about the reviews here in Tripadvisor, we changed it to Cristal Salam Hotel.

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and assisted to our room. The receptionist appointed us a room which was convenient to us since we are travelling with our 6-month old son - next to the elevator. The room is clean and was prepared nicely by the housekeeping staff. The bed is great as well as the pillows! Its very comfortable!

At our first night, we dined at Sura Restaurant and was assisted very well by the staff there. They recommended Galbi & Bulgogi which were to die for. It is a little bit pricey than the buffet but its worth it - authentic Korean dishes which tasted heavenly!! My husband who haven't tasted any korean food gobbled most of our order since it was very good! When come by at Sura, make it a point to taste also the Chicken in sweet and chili sauce - it's great! We met Liezel, the duty manager that day and was instantly charmed by her attentiveness to guests staying at the hotel.

After our dinner, we went down to Blendz Cafe to have some coffee. It's a quaint little spot next to the reception but it is still nice. They serve good cafe latte & nice tasting desserts.

Second day (which is today, Mar-15-2013), we went again to Sura for Breakfast and it was ok. As usual, the employees where attentive when a guest enter the restaurant & offered them coffee or tea. I liked the fact that they asked you for your egg preference and they have it specially prepared for you.

After that, we went back to our room and stayed there beyond 2pm when Liezel called me (the duty manager) and asked if we are going out. Earlier, we planned to have a massage but could not do so since we cannot find someone to look after our son. She spilled the beans that they are planning to surprise us since it's our anniversary. I was glad to hear that and said that they can still do so since my husband was still unaware of this surprise.

Around 3 pm, I told my husband that I would like to check out the pool area. By the time that he was preparing, I called Liezel and informed her that we are ready to go. During the time that we are at the pool, the hard-working & very creative housekeeping went to work for the surprise.

The pool was small but it's not a big let-down since the overall experience is great. Then after an hour, we went back to the room but I saw that they were not yet finished so I dragged my dripping husband to Blendz Cafe again. =)

Anyway, Liezel dropped by again to say hello and checked out how was our stay. After we finished our coffee, we went back to the room and I let my husband opened the door. The bed setting was perfect! It was so romantically set-up by the houskeeping! There were roses on the bed and they greeted us while giving us a cake.

Thank you so much guys! You made our stay very pleasant. Your customer service goes beyond of those 5-star hotels! Also, free wifi in every part of the hotel is a plus! We'll definitely come back and celebrate something special again in this hotel! Special mention to Liezel who really went out of her way to make our anniversary special for us. But all in all, every one is doing their job efficiently & effectively. It shows that they love what they are doing. Also, I love that guy who helped us with our luggage, whenever he sees us, he waits and opened the elevator and assist us to where we are going. It's a bummer that we cannot sample the massage but will do that next time!

Note: This hotel is highly recommended! Great value for money! Great food, customer service & great management!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_loves_Rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristal H, General Manager at Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honeymoon experience with us, & also for posting the photos taken.

I am glad we lived up to your expectations, already set when you cancelled a 5 * hotel reservation to stay with us! I don't believe many hotel room attendants would make the lovely towel, & flower arrangements our team did.

Liezyl has been complimented & recognised for going the extra mile to wow you, & I have also shared your positive feedback on our Korean food served at Sura.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, & you don't need to wait for a special occassion! We do our best to make every stay a special one!

Kind regards,

Sid Sattanathan
Cluster General Manager
Cristal Salam
Cristal Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
Ramada Abu Dhabi Corniche
#64 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#5 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Seasons Al Hamra Hotel Abu Dhabi
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
#15 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown

Property: Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown
Address: 8th Street | Tourist Club Area, Opposite Abu Dhabi Municipality, Abu Dhabi 107523, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Cristal Salam Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Downtown Abu Dhabi an exciting new hotel in the heart of the downtown banking district. Our 112 rooms & suites have been designed with contemporary luxury in mind. Enjoy Korean cuisine or beverages at Sura, let your hair down at our Karoake rooms & savour specially selected cuts of Meat from our Steak menu at Vertical, the city's only Wine Bar & Restuarant while you take in the panoramic views of Abu Dhabi's skyline at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Ramada Abu Dhabi Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing