We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignore the pompus moaners, this place is the epitome of luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2012

we stayed for 5 nights on a half board basis to celebrate our anniversary.
before i begin i should point out that we have stayed in many top hotels around the world so we know what to expect from a true 5* hotel.

check in was prompt, we were seen to immediately. a little disaapointed in that we werent offered any complimentary room upgrades like other guests,however when we were shown to our room we were not disappointed.
We were introduced to our Butler, who was very informative and offered all the usual services; unpacking etc, and he showed us around our room.

everything was beautifully set out as you would expect. the room had a large bathroom with a view of the sea from the tub, a large rainfall shower, 2 vanity areas with sinks and a separate WC and bidet. The huge bed was one of the most comfortable i have slept in and turndown service was given every evening.

we had a problem with the lights one evening, when they all suddenly turned on by themselves at 3am! however, within minutes of telephoning reception they had an engineer up to the room and the problem was resolved.

service throughout our stay was continually to a high standard. no member of staff could help you enough, everywhere you go, you're greeted with a smile, and the staff learn to remember your personal preferences whether its at the pool, the bar or the restaurant.

we ate at the Olea restaurant and 5 & 55th steak house. Starting with Olea, a buffet style restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could think of; fruit, seafood, eggs of every style, pastries, cereal, juices, meats etc etc, it would set you up for the day.
Dinner was just as good with food to cater for every pallet. The carvng station was particularly good with a different cut each night whether it be Beef fillet, lamb leg, salmon fillet, chicken etc.

The highlight of our stay at this hotel had to be the visit to 5 & 55th steak house. Yes its expensive; approx £250 for 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 drinks.... BUT i can guarantee this will be one of the best meals that will ever pass your lips! we had the Wagyu steak and it was out of this world. If you stay at this hotel you have got to try it. as it was our anniversary we were also presented with a beautiful bouquet of roses at our table and the chef created a canape of smoked salmon and caviar with black truffle which was a lovel surprise and again demostrates the exceptional service on offer at this hotel.

Outside, We spent a few days at the adult pool and again the staff were highly attentive and polite. The drinks aren't too bad, however the only place you can get draught lager is at the Manhatten Lounge. Its around £8 a pint plus taxes and is served in a silver tankard. This is the best value. Elsewhere in the hotel they only offer 300ml cans for 25 dh plus taxes. This is the only negative of the hotel, they really should offer draught facilities at all bars, as not everyone wants to drink champagne and cocktails all day!

we did visit the other top hotels on trip adviser to compare; the bab al bah- great drinks list but poor location situated on what appeared to be an estruary, didnt fancy swimming in that water; Emirates palace- lovely hotel however its in the middle of a building site and after a while the constant gold everywhere drowns you and the walls closed in! The St Regis is very light and airy and offers a true escape from the hustle and bustle of the city and the constant construction which you cant escape. plus with taxis so cheap, we found it so easy to get around everywhere anyway- we were so glad we didnt choose the emirates palace which we very nearly booked.


Overall we would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to anybody who enjoys a bit of a splurge- but try and get half board if you can because you could spend a small fortune on food & drink

Room Tip: got to be a sea view no matter what!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Louise & John,
Thank you for your kind words of praise and it is certainly a moment of pride for my team and myself reading your comments. I am happy your experience with us was beyond expectation and I will be certain to share the above with my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,872 - 1,878 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

From the time we arrived at the airport to the night we left the St Regis is was just amazing!

From somebody who has been to some of the most amazing hotels across the world, through a travel operator job, this hotel is perfect for anybody who wants total luxury and relaxation.

We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean View, beautiful room huge bathroom and a stunning view of the ocean.

Butler service incredible. Lovely touches..cookies for our daughter and yummy chocolates for my wife and I.

A huge thank you to Nadia on reception and all the life guards around the pool, especially Sashith. These guys around the pool make this hotel.

We dined at the Olea restaurant each night, the food is out of this world. Didn't eat in the other restaurants, as we were on half board.

Food service around the pool amazing, Olena is brilliant at her job and I wish her well with her career.

The only thing that I would say, is that the menu around the pool for lunch is a bit boring, should have wraps and more finger food..burgers and chicken nuggets were tasty but boring.

Children's pool and activities again are out of this world..it is going to be very hard to beat this holiday.

I would highly recommend this hotel for couples and families.

It's amazing, total luxury..well done to all the staff.

Room Tip: Sea View - Room 650
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TWELLS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This 5 star property is a new edition to the Starwood collection and does not disappoint. From the grand entrance to the lobby and rooms, it exudes luxury.

We were upgraded to rooms with seaview, most comfortable, clean, generous sized rooms and totally loved the butler service. Bathrooms are massive , double vanities and great amenities.
Loved the shower facility.

Beach and pool areas are just wonderful, although the beach had a few too many rocks. Apparently they come in with the tide. Turtles lay their eggs June and July and there are dolphins to spot as well.

The Thai restaurant I highly recommend, delicious food , warm staff. Lovely ambience!
The buffet breakfast just wonderful , lots of choices, great coffee!!
Would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Im sure all rooms are lovely, although not all face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

spent two nights before heading to dubai. received a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite. was fabulous. butler service immensely appreciated with tea and fruit delivered every morning. breakfast buffet amazing. thai restaurant fabulous. enjoyed it very much. can only recommend. beach is fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAdorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi.

I am glad to read your stay with us was ‘amazing’ as that’s what we strive to achieve with every guest. I am also glad to read that you had the opportunity to truly experience our signature service – the St. Regis Butler Service.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Located at the Saadiyat island, around 20 minutes from the downtown of Abu Dhabi.
The resort was still under construction during my stay, with very low occupancy, we enjoyed a quiet atmosphere.
Beautiful St Regis suite, very comfortable, but you won't feel you are in the Middle East. The food in Sontaya restaurant is delicious, the bar is just like the Manhattan King Cole located on the beach side, wonderful. The library are full of New and great books.
Beach is very wide and pretty, but strong current, not suitable for swimming.

Room Tip: those with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Saadiyat Island is a beautiful beach destination and our resort with its location and proximity to Abu Dhabi’s downtown [15 mins drive] and even Dubai [60 mins drive], it is a great getaway for a weekend or a much needed break. And I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our food and beverage venues. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Loved this hotel!
It's on Saadiyat Island, about 30 mins from the airport. This is a proper beach hotel with a real beach and unstructured views of the Ocean. Anyone looking for a beach holiday in the UAE, the St Regis has to be first choice. I have stayed in most the 5* hotels on Jumeriah Beach and a few in Abu Dhabi and I am always dissapointed with the beaches as they are normally man made or have buidlings all around them. The beach at the St Regis is the best by far I have seen in the UAE, nothing even comes close to it's natural beauty.

I stayed in a Deluxe Sea View room. Room was large with a balcony over looking the pools and ocean. The bathroom is huge with a bath, shower, his/her sinks. Anyone thinking of saving a few pennies and not paying for the sea view, stop! The view is lovely and worth every penny.

They offer a butler service for everyone room but I found this more of a glorified room service then a proper butler service.

Service was exceptional.

Will be returning here before any other hotel in the UAE

Room Tip: 460 was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nealphillipsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Saadiyat Island, with its natural beach and blue waters, is a beautiful destination and our resort is a great getaway for a weekend or a much needed summer break. And I am glad to read that you truly experienced and appreciated the difference.

Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We only stayed in the St. Regis for one night, but our experience was perfect from the beginning until the end.
The check-in was very quick and friendly, and we were escorted to our room by a butler, who explained us all the facilities of the hotel and how to get there.
Our room was very elegant, with a comfortable and homey feeling, not too much luxury, but subtle. We absolutely loved the balcony with the view on the resort and the sea - just perfect.

The breakfast buffet was amazing, with everything you can imagine, from pastries, to juices, fruits, warm dishes, breads, just everything. However, we found it a little overpriced, but if you want to treat yourself, I guess it is fine.

The property is very new, and everything looks sparkling clean and fresh, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. When we were at the beach, we received cold towels and some watermelon to refresh ourselves, we found this very nice.
As I said, we only stayed one night, but it felt like a holiday to us, and we will definitely come back soon!!

Room Tip: The sea view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
30.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,456 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,459 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £228 - £1,122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing