We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special evening at Sontaya” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
abudhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A special evening at Sontaya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Thank you for nice set up on my table during my visit to asian restaurant, i was proposing my girl friend we were so impressed with the table set up esspecially m tabe was facing on sun set.

Meezaan

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meezan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Congratulations Meezaan! Thank you for choosing to dine at Sontaya, our Southeast Asian restaurant, on your special evening. I am sure our team would have assisted in making every detail memorable. Wishing you and your partner the very best ahead and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    445
    167
    70
    50
See reviews for
717
909
75
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I use Trip Advisor to decide on where to stay so wanted to post a review to help everyone else. I travel for a living and for pleasure and have the luck of staying in many 5* resorts around the world but that does mean I have stupidly high expectations. I therefore had to write about the St Regis as there is nothing I can fault.

The service was perfect and unlike another review on here we found the staff were prompt, efficient and well-trained. Rooms were lovely, particularly the bathroom, Friday brunch is one of the best in the UAE, our glasses were never empty. The 55 on 5th restaurant was fantastic, both food and ambience. The resort is beautiful and I would not hesitate to stay there again, I am even planning when that will be!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubai2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for your positive comments.

It is indeed a pleasure to read that your stay with us was wonderful. Our staff is our biggest asset and they commitment to service standards certainly make all the difference in making the stay with us memorable. As I read that you enjoyed dining with us, I am confident you will appreciate our beach restaurant, Turquoiz, which will open doors post summer. I very much look forward to welcoming you back at our resort.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Dear Travelors,

I had the pleasure to enjoy a beautiful evening with friends, at the St.Regis Saadiyat Island Resort.
We had done our reservations at the 55th Restaurant. It was unbelievable, unforgettable and will be always remembered from my end. We had such a lovely funny evening, as the service was perfect and the food was outstanding. First things first. We arrived at The St.Regis hotel lobby,and we received very warm welcome, when the Gents opened us the door from the car and guided my friends and me personally to the lobby.
There was another Gentleman waiting and guided us personally from the lobby to the bar of the 55th restaurant where we met the rest of our friends. Having still some time, before we went for dinner, we had a glas of champagne and the Chef de Cusines prepared some lovely apertizers for us, which was really delicious.

Apart form the modern stylish interior and the warm blue color which shines from the top, it gives you really something special and you feel really relaxed. The entire Service team from the arrival at the hotel enjoying a drink at the bar, and finally having an outstanding dinner, made this evening with my lovely friends a really unforgettable stay for me.
We spend no, we enjoyed 4 hours in a nice atmosphere and we felt very very special and welcomed, thanks to the entire team of the St.Regis many thanks for that.

Believe me, if your are next time in Abu Dhabi, take the time and schedule yourself for either to stay in the St.Regis or enjoy a lovely evening with friends or family, you will not regret it.

I wish you all a happy and always safe traveling, until next time, see yah.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi

On behalf of the team, thank you for the words of appreciation on your experience of dining at 55&5th, The Grill, our signature venue. It is always a pleasure to read and hear about our friendly staff and the uncompromising service we strive to provide our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have booked with a friend for a long week-end. We needed a getaway, and were not disappointed on check-in! The place is amazing, the room, although only superior category, was large and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful, with a large rain shower. The facilities of the hotel were very good too. Although it seemed like a lot of families had booked over the week-end, the adult only pool made it easy to relax. The spa is also beautiful and very relaxing. The gym is super high tech, with internet available on the treadmills.
However, I must say that I was disappointed with the service. Although the staff was overall friendly and approachable, the lack of training was very obvious. I had to ask 4 times for ice next to the pool. We needed to wait for another 20min before our order was taken, and once it finally arrived, there was a hair in my food. In the spa, the manager was replacing the mats in front of jacuzzi/sauna/steam room with her shoes (and you walk barefoot on them afterwards). The turn down service of the room was also bad: beds not open, garbage bins not cleared, towels on the floor in the bathroom... We did call to have an extra bathrobe, which took an our to come. Same thing for tooth paste and soap. The phone on the bed side table wasn't working, and although I did mention it, no one came to fix it and I spent the whole stay (3 nights) with no phone. Staff (including top management) was using the guest lifts, which I believe shouldn't happen in 5* properties. The only exception to this bad service was Olea, the all day dining restaurant, where Willy was amazing. He took care of us from day one, and made a point to come and greet us even if he wasn't taking care of us directly. The whole team there was very attentive and ready to help.
Overall, it was a very nice stay thanks to the hotel facilities and the room. The staff was friendly and nice, but again, more training is necessary to help them deliver the level or service expected in this kind of property.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for your feedback.

On behalf of my team, my apologies for the shortfalls you experienced in service in certain areas. I am however happy to read your feedback on Willy and his assistance at Olea. I am sure he will be very appreciative of your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you back and making every aspect of your future stays with bespoke and memorable.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We took two interconnecting rooms for a long weekend with children (ages 10 and 8) and an adult family member, and had a magical stay.

Rooms

Stunning sea view, large balconies, very generous bathrooms with his and hers sinks, rainshower, and massive tub. Very comfortable beds with high-quality linen. Good storage space and well laid-out.

Service

Mostly good -- we had a glitch because we wanted to watch a major sporting event with the children which couldn't be viewed in our rooms and the only place screening it was the bar, into which families are not allowed. This was unacceptable for the first night but sorted out to our satisfaction for the rest of the stay. The business center was unexpectedly closed but remedied quickly with a phone call. Otherwise, fast and polite response to room service, bell desk, etc.

F&B

Delicious Asian lunch at Sontaya, quality offerings for lunch/drinks at Turquoise and the adult pool area, busy but substantial and well-managed breakfast buffet at Olea.

Facilities

Excellent, well-run kids club which entertained our two for an hour or so at a time. Stunning beach but very rocky -- the hotel has thoughtfully included some rubber swim shoes to lend to guests for mitigating this issue. The adult pool has jacuzzis and in-water lounges as well as very inviting cabanas. Plenty of seating and towels at the family pool, even on a holiday weekend. The gym is a short walk from the main hotel and has every machine and implement, as well as a fantastic indoor lap pool.

Overall, this is a beautiful resort which is a credit to the developing Saadiyat area -- more luxurious than the nearby Park Hyatt and a short trip to downtown Abu Dhabi. Worth a weekend away for GCC residents or a longer stay for overseas travelers.

Room Tip: Interconnecting 544 (king) and 542 (two doubles) were set off in their own private area with gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCCBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review.

I am delighted that your family and you had a true resort experience and had the opportunity to try all our facilities. We are Abu Dhabi’s first true beach resort and take pride in offering our guests every aspect that will make their stay with us memorable.Thank you again for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mali
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We spent a recent weekend at this stunning hotel for a reunion with our three grown sons in their late twenties. It was a perfect venue for all of us. We found luxuriously appointed, ample sized rooms, the adult pool with built-in jacuzzi areas to loll around at and chat, the perfect sandy beach with real waves to play in, and the views... ahhh the views... the tropical turquoise sea is so lovely, from every window.
Now let's go to food: any buffet meal here is an adventure in truly delicious choices suited to any set of taste-buds; the Asian restaurant offers Thai food at its height of 'gourmet'; the 55 & 5th Grill provided a family celebration meal (all birthdays at once) with each of us delighted, from top-quality beef right to the chocolate volcano dessert. The service was simply excellent throughout, including considerable insights into grape beverages provided by the sommelier.
In the Lobby cafe, the chef was accommodating to provide afternoon tea for us much earlier than the stipulated timings, and the Manhattan Lounge offered a relaxed atmosphere and an enjoyable place to converse and imbibe. Lunch poolside turned out very well despite a small glitch over the caesar salads which we trust will get the recipe right next time. Great service!
We were taken to the Library to check-in and check-out so there was no waiting. Thank you to the entire highly professional, gracious staff who in every instance met or exceeded our family's needs. We've lived abroad for 23 years and this hotel is a highlight. We will be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a sea-view room. It would be a shame not to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Greetings from The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I am delighted to read that you had a perfect family reunion at our resort.

It is kind of you to recognize our staff, our biggest asset, who make all the difference in delivering a bespoke experience for every guest staying with us. Our food venues have all been carefully thought through and it is always a pleasure reading that your family truly enjoyed and appreciated the same. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back for another weekend very soon.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

we stayed for 2 nights on a half board basis to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Before i begin i should point out that we have stayed in many top hotels in United Arab Emirates. The check in was okay.
We booked the sea view room but they gave us the building view so after making a complaint 2 hours later we got our sea view room and it was really nice view. We noticed gowns hanging in a bathroom surely belong to previous guests. The pools were really nice, the beach just 3 minutes’ walk from the hotel. We ate at the Olea restaurant a buffet style restaurant. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could think of; fruit, seafood, eggs of every style, pastries, cereal, juices, and meat fresh pancake made right in front of you, it would set you up perfectly for the rest of the day.
Dinner was just as good with food to cater for every pallet. The carvings station was particularly good with a different cut each night whether it be Beef fillet, lamb leg, salmon fillet, chicken etc.
They totally forgot about our anniversary after I had a word with reception she apologised and sent us a fruit platter and they offered us cake but we refused as it was too late. Shame that such a stunning property in such a beautiful location is being totally mismanaged and ruining the reputation of St. Regis as a luxury five star hotel brand.

Room Tip: all ways ask for sea view room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

My sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service and I will certainly investigate further with our teams. Thank you for the kind words recognizing our food venues and the quality offered.
Should you have any further comments, I welcome the opportunity to discuss the same and I can be contacted at StRegis.Saadiyat@stregis.com.

Warm regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Starwood EMEA, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Holiday Gems so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing