We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick transfer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #31 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I must say up front that my wife and mines stay here was very brief, we arrived around 10:00 PM and left around 7:00 AM the next morning, just a quick overnight stay on our way from the US to the Maldives. The only reason I can't give this resort 5 stars is because since we were staying here as a transfer stay, we couldn't fully experience the resort. I must say the the standard King room is perfect, with a very large bathroom and very neatly appointed. We ordered room service and it arrived promptly and was very tasty. All in all, I can't wait to return when we can stay longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback.
I am glad you enjoyed your time at the resort during your very brief time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and next time with more time to fully experience our Mediterranean-inspired living and service excellence.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,776 - 1,782 of 2,553 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

I treated myself to a weekend at the St. Regis before a week-long meeting for work in Abu Dhabi. I was very impressed by everything about the property! From the moment I stepped foot in the lobby, I felt like I had been transformed to another world. The lobby is very dramatic and impressive, and the St. Regis butler service is always a special treat. I've stayed at several St. Regis's before, and I thought the butler service here was consistent with other properties. I received an room upgrade, which provided a stunning view of the beach. The room itself was immaculate and very comfortable in Western-style design (I actually wish it felt more "local").

I enjoyed several of the restaurants and didn't experience any of the service issues that a few other reviewers have mentioned. The adult pool was great, very comfortable and quiet. However, I thought the service at the pool wasn't consistent with the other areas of the hotel. It took some wandering around and asking people to get a drink and fresh towel. The beach was nice... of course it's not the Carribbean, but it is a wide and well-groomed beach.

I was very impressed by the spa. I had two treatments, both of which were terrific.

I would definitely return to the St. Regis for some quality R&R if I were in the region again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jao1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Jao,

Thank you for sharing your kind words of appreciation. I am very pleased to read that your stay with us was transformational from the moment you arrived in the lobby, and until departure as it is our uncompromising pursuit to offer our guests a bespoke experience. And indeed, the St. Regis Butler Service is a corner stone of our service excellence to assist in delivering a memorable stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back shall you be in the region.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel for 4 nights as it had been highly recommended by friends who live in Abu Dhabi and Dubai. We flew during the day so did not arrive at the hotel until around 10pm (Abu Dhabi airport passport control was a nightmare and a rip off and took over an hour for us to get through having eventually crumbled and paid the extra cash to 'Fast Track'- be warned!). After a quick hiccup at check in which was soon sorted out we went to our room and were very impressed with what we found. It was huge with everything you could want. On closer inspection it appeared the room was not particularly clean (bits of food on the floor in the corners, children's stickers stuck on the frosted glass door dividers between the bedroom and the bathroom area - none of which were cleaned at any point during our stay despite hotel staff being in our room at least twice a day to carry out the usual services) but nothing which put us off too much.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. So much so that we only ate lunch one day at the hotel by one of the very appealing and well tended pools and that was very nice indeed. The steak restaurant 55 & 5th was superb. We had an amazing dinner in there one night and we would highly recommend it. Also in room dining was very tasty and efficient and we did this a couple of times also.

The spa was great. We both partook in massages. We had 90 minute treatments which were reasonably priced and then I spent a further 45 minutes or so enjoying the steam room, jacuzzi, sauna and plunge pool afterwards with no pressure to hurry.

We do have to mention that one nights sleep was ruined as one of the restaurants, Turquoise, was hosting an event and the music was at a ridiculous level. My wife was 7 months pregnant at the time and despite phoning the main desk to complain firstly at 11.45 (they advised the music would be turned down/off shortly) the volume didn't let up until 1.45am. This was extremely frustrating and really put a damper on our relaxing stay. When I spoke with management the following day I asked what was going on and they advised there was a wedding in the hotel and the venue was booked out or a private function. Considering the size of the hotel and the fact they knew we were there to relax and knew we were nothing to do with the event I am bemused as to why they put us in one of the rooms which was so close to the venue. Eventually the management agreed to give my wife a free massage in the spa as compensation but only after I suggested it.

In summary we did enjoy our stay but with the amount of other hotel options on offer I would not hurry back. They are famed for their butler service but we did not really see much evidence of this to be honest.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Candy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Candy,

Thank you for your detailed feedback.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, with dining at 55&5th, The Grill, our signature venue, being the highlight. I do apologize for the noise level experienced on account of the private event at one of our venues. I am however confident that your next stay with us will be flawless in every sense and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My 30th birthday was coming up and we decided to spend it in the Emirates with the goal to relax. We could not decide between Dubai or Abu Dhabi as the offer of hotels are just enormous. My travel agent suggested the St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort to us. After reading a few reviews online we gave it a go.

As our flight was scheduled to land in Dubai very early in the morning I contacted the hotel shortly before our trip and asked if it is possible to have a room available when we get there (an early check-in). Furthermore I asked to make reservations for an appointment in the spa. My emails were answered in a short time and I was told that everything will be as requested.

We arrived at the hotel Sunday at 9 am. The check-in was very smooth. Our room was ready and our luggage was taken care off. So I was happy. However, the welcome could be improved by offering the guest something to drink or any kind of refreshment. But in the room were free water bottles, so it was ok with me.

The room:
We had a Superior Sea View Room on the fourth floor. The room was large enough, clean, and equipped with a big King-Size Bed, Flat-Screen TV, Sofa, and a desk with two chairs.
The bathroom was divided into five parts: the toilet, washing area for her, shower, washing area for him, and bathtub with window view.
Everything was clean and a good condition.

As said, the water in the room was complementary as well the peanuts. Furthermore, in the evening the room service made the room “ready for the night” and provided little treats.
Disappointing was that the peanuts were not refilled during our stay.

The air conditioning was also a little bit too loud. As it was not really hot during our stay we turned it off during the nights. I guess that in the summer months this could become a problem.


The pool and beach:
It has to be noted that the hotel has an Adult pool and Family pool. The pool area is beautiful and very spacious. There are a lot of service staff around this area. They are very friendly and helpful. Furthermore Lifeguards are around. The beach is ok – it is not comparable with the Caribbean! The hotel cleans this area regular but you can not get rid of all stones but you can definitely have a good time at the beach. Even at the beach you can enjoy the full hotel service (lounger, towels, ordering drinks & food, etc.) as well as a lifeguard.

What could be improved: The short walk to the pool area could be cleaned. The tiles could be scrubed.


Food:
The hotel offers various restaurants. In the morning we had the breakfast buffet which was good. Quite variety of food, fruits, etc.
A problem here is the architecture of the restaurant. You can sit inside and outside. There are three doors and people walk through all of them, resulting in air draughts.
I also have to say that it is not a good idea to clear the tables in the outside area and collecting all the dirty plates, bowls, and glasses outside on big trays. Birds were flying around and trying to get some of the leftovers. Bring the trays into the kitchen directly.

The other hotels range from very good (55&5th) to good (Sontaya) to bad (Turquoiz).

I also have to mention that I think the prices for drinks and food are way to high!!!

Tipp: We also enjoyed dining in our room. The food was good and I can only recommend to do it.


Spa and Sports.
The hotel has a spa, an Athletic Club, and a Golf course.
As we do not play golf I can not say something about this offer. However, the golf course looked good to me and there were people playing 

Particularly noteworthy is the Athletic Club: 3500 square meters and with a 25m equipped swimming pool. Excellent staff, great equipment, great course program and a fabulous atmosphere – I have not seen something similar in other hotels.

The spa is also equipped very good – sauna, steaming room, whirlpool. The prices for massages and treatments are ok and we both enjoyed a massage.


Would I come back?
Yes, but not until 2015. Abu Dhabi and Saadiyat Island are just enormous building projects. There is a lot of construction ongoing (Guggenheim, Louvre, etc.). There will also be more hotels on Saadiyat Island by then and I hope with this, prices will go down with quality staying as good as it is.

Room Tip: Book Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nordischboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you for your detailed and honest feedback.
I am happy you were able to experience our facilities during your time with us and have highly rated our gymnasium and spa. Your feedback on some of the areas mentioned has been well noted and shared with the concerned teams.
Thanks you again for choosing to stay with us and I am confident that your next stay with us will be beyond expectation.I look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A lovely hotel with great service! The staff were very welcoming and helpful, we were escorted to the room! the room was lovely and spacious, lacked a good view, but very clean! We enjoyed having the luxurious bathroom! On the downside, we found it very inconvenient to contact a butler to deliver tea and coffee when a coffee machine is a better investment! My wife was disappointed that a blow dryer wasn't available either.

However, beautiful hotel and looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggbertt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It’s always a pleasure to read about our staff being warm and attentive as that is one of our cornerstones in delivering a bespoke experience.
I do apologize that you were unable to locate the hair dryer but as standard, it is available in all rooms. Your butler would have been happy to assist you with the same as they are available to attend to your every need. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The St. Regis chain is proud of its high level of service, particularly it's nearly patented butler service. Apparently the memo never reached this hotel. Nearly every interface with the staff has exposed comic ineptitude. The large problem: I needed to speak to a doctor because of a suddenly painful tooth and suspected infection so I called the number listed in the hotel directory. The person who answered couldn't understand what I needed so thank goodness it was not an emergency situation. 3 calls later I finally got through to a doctor who by the way was quite good. The small problems: the maid made off with our robes and didn't replace them, requests to the butler for a razor went unfulfilled, the phone message light won't turn off, blinking all night, and no one knows how to fix it, a request for a car several hours ahead of time was met with a "we have no cars because we have too many pick ups at the airport", a request for a car one and one half days in advance was met with repeated mistakes and call backs as to the day and time of the reservation ( since I'm still here only time will tell if they get it right), and they only randomly attend to the mini bar. To be fair, the property is beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oobadooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I apologize for the shortfalls in service.
I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you and can be contacted at StRegis.Saadiyat@stregis.com or should you visit the city in the weeks ahead, please do contact me directly and I will be happy to meet with you.
Our sincere apologies and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again and attempt to change your view.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed here with my wife and my brother and his wife, check in took a bit long, but he rooms are super cool. Huge property, We had the friday brunch at the hotel, good value for money. Huge selection of food and no shortage of it either. Only stayed one night and overall good hotel with plenty to do and plenty off outlets to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanZylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the resorts' facilities and especially appreciated our guest rooms which are refined in design and well-appointed to represent the resort’s Mediterranean flair. Friday Brunch at Olea, our all day dining restaurant, is indeed very popular for its wide selection and the alfresco seating and I am glad you enjoy it.
I am looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,464 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
3,472 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £232 - £1,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing