We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBEATABLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We spent Christmas at this hotel. Faultless in every aspect. Great rooms, attentive staff (but not overbearing), delicious food, plenty of sunbeds and to top if off dolphins on the shore on christmas day. Its going to be very hard to beat the St Regis in Abu Dhabi. Thank you to everybody in the hotel for a memorable christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eloopj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for choosing to spent the festive season with us on Saadiyat. I am happy that your stay was memorable and flawless during a time when the hotel was in high demand and at full occupancy.
And while you truly enjoyed spotting the Bottlenose dolphins, Saadiyat is also home to Hawksbill turtles that nest from April to Summer. I’m certain you will appreciate the experience of spotting them on our beach.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis for ten days over with our 2-yrs old daughter. Very new, modern and luxury resort.

CHECK IN
Very warm welcome and courteous service at check in. We arrived 11am and were able to get our room immediately.

CONCIERGE & LIMOUSINE SERVICE
They have Bentleys, Mercedes S350 and GL500 cars with very friendly drivers. As they offered kids seats unlike teh regular taxis, we used it for a Abu Dhabi trip and the airport shuttle.

ROOMS
The rooms (we had a superior room) are big, large bathroom with spacious shower and an extra nice detached bathtub with an outside view (we could see the sundown while using it!). Housekeeping did a great job, the 24h Butler and Inrrom dining service is very nice.

RESTAURANTS
Nice main buffet restaurant with lots of different dishes. Very nice dessert selection.
Additional three differnet speciality restaurants, Turqouiz (beach restaurant with nice flair), Sontaya (very good asian cousine) and 55 & 5th (modern steakrestaurant). Its not cheap eating there, but definitely worth it. We had dinner at the 55 and 5th for our wedding anniversary, very very nice and tasty experience!

KIDS
Staff everywhere was very nice and polite, especially with our daughter. Lots of other families with kids were at the hotel, but it was never loud or crowded. They have a large, very well equiped and seperated area for kids as well as toys at the beach for them.

POOLS & BEACH
Next the the 2-level main pool there is an additional one for adults only.
The beach was clean all the time, the often mentioned small stones there didn't bother us at all.
If so, the only drawback of the resort was the service there. They do very good if not too much crowded (which it was the last days of our stay), but very poor service during peak times. It happened that nobody was available and then we had to order over and over again until we were served.

SUMMARY
Our impression was, especially compared to Dubai resorts, you get a very good value for money. We definatly recommend it and will be considering it as our first choice when we vistit Abu Dhabi again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefAng78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Stefan,

I am glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your time at the resort, and your children especially liked the Sandcastle Club, our facility dedicated to our little aficionados.
Thank you for the kind recommendation and making us your first choice for your next visit.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis in November and had a wonderful experience. At check in we asked about available upgrades since we are gold SPG members. There were no complementary upgrades available but then the check in person spoke with the manager and we were offered an upgrade to a suite for an additional price. It was on the 3rd floor and it was ocean front. Staying in that room made our time at the St Regis memorable and if you can splurge, I strongly recommend it.
With the time change from the states, I found myself waking up at 7:30am so i would walk out to the beach, grab a seat, and read my book (while my husband slept). The beach was very quite early in the morning and even the rest of the day I never saw anyone having a problem getting a seat. I also loved the adult only pool except that it was completely shaded by 2:00pm by the building.
We ordered room service breakfast every morning and found it to be a good value (compared to the restaurant prices) and the food was always delicious. We ate in the Asian restaurant most nights and the seafood restaurant one night. We looked at the menu for the steakhouse and found it to be overpriced for what you get (and we are not big steak eaters).
Our only issue the entire stay was that we were told on check in that since we were paying with a SPG Amex that we would get 20% off all food purchases and that it needed to be adjusted by the restaurants on each bill. The restaurants were under the impression that the adjustment was to be made on the final bill at check out. I spoke with our butler about this and he was very quick to help up get this sorted out without us wasting too much of our vacation time dealing with the issue. That in no way would prevent me from highly recommending this hotel to anyone looking to relax at the beach in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: If you can splurge on an upgrade to the ocean front suite, do it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenn9293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Jenn,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback. I am glad you indulged in the resort’s Mediterranean-inspired setting and where able to unwind and relax. It is also a pleasure to read that our signature service, the St. Regis Butler Service, was able to assist and go beyond expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and remain at your service shall you require any further assistance.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

St-Regis Saadiyat Island Resort Room 268.

The first impression when you enter the room is that it is spacious and well decorated. Small taste issue, there is a metal - glass trolley in the room that is out of sync with the design of the room and has no value add. As you open the door of the dressing room a second surprise: a large dressing room with a table and a chair (not that useful) and a very small wardrobe (see picture) and no real other space to put clothes. I hope that during your stay it is very hot and you only need swimming suits as that is the maximum allowed luggage in the dressing room. So you have to keep the clothes in your luggage, not nice but not dramatic either. Bathroom is nice, but let's call it a showerroom as the bath is small and will only allow a 4ft tall person to take a bath. The view of the room is... limited as you are too low in the hotel to have a nice view and it is a corner view so during a windy day due to the bad noise isolation there is a constant wind sound...

Next is the fitness room and indoor swimming pool (as the weather today does not allow me to go to the beach). Another surprise, the hotel building is very large and despite that, they found a way to put the gym in a remote location so that you have the pleasure to pass the reception in front of arriving / departing guests, need to get out of the hotel through the front entrance, walk outside for a few minutes to arrive to the gym club. Great choice both from a health perspective when you are sweating coming out in the wind and "cold" is great as well as from a feel good perspective passing sweating from the gym in front of other guests through the whole lobby is always a nice experience... Now that is the location. The gym in itself is really perfect, nothing to say. The equipment is abundant and modern, the swimming pool has four 25m lanes which allows you to really swim so great job there. There is a nice sauna,...

Finally the dining at the 55 & 5th The Grill. Very nice design and good atmosphere. Staff is friendly (albeit not too much). I took an off-the-menu first course (smoked salmon) and a main dish. From taste and presentation both were fine. Then comes the bill a TOTAL RIP-OFF, they charged me the smoked salmon at the same price as the most expensive starter (scallops), more expensive than wagyu, foie gras,.... so basically 50 USD for 3-4 slices of smoked salmon... (3 USD cheaper than my main course!!!). I guess that anybody who wants to learn how to make great margins should come here. After a smal discussion some Great News 45 USD so now it is not the most expensive starter of the menu anymore... So a good lesson if you ask sth off-the-menu expect the highest price even if it is super basic...

Still 2 days to go so maybe more news to come.

Overall, much to improve to get a fourth star ....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Alain,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I am sorry to read that not all aspects of your stay with us met your expectations. While I understand you were initially upset, the item was a special request not on the menu and the venue offered a complimentary starter at the end of the evening. We also appreciate your requirement on having additional space in-room and the trolley was removed to better suit your needs. We now have a better understanding of your preferences and are confident to be able to better serve you on your return. I am sure your next stay with us will be flawless in every detail and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

we had a nice stay. Location is good you feel in a real vacation resort but you are so close to Abu dhabi. Staff is nice and friendly but the reception was a disaster. Probably they were under staffed it took 2 hours to have the room. Also in UAE 5 stars Hotel generally pays more attentiom to guests. Only issue anyway seemed to be lack of staff in a very crowded period. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giangio70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation. Our apologies that the check-in didn’t live up to your expectations, but glad that your stay with us went well.
I look to the opportunity to welcome you again, and quietly confident that every aspect of your next time with us will be flawless.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Excellent service during our stay at the St. Regis. Comfortable, very clean and well appointed rooms with great balconies overlooking the beach. Very good restaurant experience and cafe locations. The breakfast buffet and the dinner Buffet was amazingly good with a very wide selection of food that offer local food choices as well as more familiar staples.

I have worked in the hotel industry for many years now and I have rarely seen a staff so honestly dedicated to good service and hospitality. Everyone was very friendly, always offering great suggestions and going beyond to make guests happy.

My son enjoyed especially the Children’s Club and he is asking me to return again next year because of it

We really want to thank everybody there for our wonderful vacation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMichalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Michalis,

I am glad that we delivered to you an experience beyond expectation. Thank you for recognizing our staff, our biggest asset that sets us apart and for the appreciation of our food and beverage venues. I will be pleased to share your feedback with the team at Sandcastle Club, a simply enchanting venue, I believe, for our little aficionados.

We look forward to welcoming your family and you for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
John Pelling,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The St Regis serves as both a luxurious residence for discerning hotel guests and a backdrop to Hawksbill turtles’ nesting grounds. The hotel is fabulously designed inside out: beautifully tiled roofs atop of roman style columns welcome you in a part of Abu Dhabi set to become iconic in the near future when multiple world class museums see the light. The Italian theme continues on the inside where shiny pastel colored marbled hallways lead you to one of the coziest piano bars I’ve seen in any beach resort I’ve been to: the Manhattan lounge. Touches of “New York grandeur” adorn the dark teak wood flooring and terracotta leather chairs. The property is “airy”: room ceilings are perforated and carry rose wooden wind fans, bathrooms have been designed to occupy most of the room’s width and feature standalone bathtubs even in their most basic configurations. That lightness carries over in Olea, the main all dining restaurant: a sort of escape to the Mediterranean with freshly prepared food simmering away in several cooking stations under a majestically lit wavy glass mosaic. Walking further, your feet soak into that deep sand, your senses telling you that this was all just a mirage…

Room Tip: Sea view rooms should be the starting point. Indulge in a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Choucrallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Pelling, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the resorts' facilities and especially appreciated our spacious and well-appointed guestrooms which mirror the resort’s Mediterranean-inspired flair. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay at the city’s true leisure address.

Kind regards,
John Pelling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,492 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,515 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £206 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing