We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but needs to improve on service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but needs to improve on service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My new husband and i stayed at the St Regis hotel for the first half of our honeymoon in May and we had high expectations of what this hotel would be like. on arrival the hotel itself is absolutely stunning and the greeting from the doorman was very friendly! but unfortunately we found check in to be not so good! firstly there is no welcome drink which is something we have got used to when we stay in Dubai and we think it is such a nice touch as it is lovely to be able to sit and relax for 5 minutes after such a long and tiring flight! (small touch but goes a long way!) and also to then be told we could not get to our room until 3pm and this was 11am was quite disappointing as i was exhausted from the over night flight! we were told there was a room we could use to freshen up so decided to use this facility and we headed to the pool. when we eventually got to our room it was a gorgeous room with a lovely bathroom which was very spacious. As we were on our honeymoon i was expecting a few personal touches from the hotel such as rose petals on bed, maybe a letter of congratulations but instead we had a welcome letter on our desk addressed to someone else so from the off you get the impression of the lack of organisation! one more negative is that when we were checked in the reception staff gave us no information of the hotel facilities/restaurants so we knew nothing about where to have breakfast etc so therefore we had to find everything out for ourselves. on a positive note as the week went on and we found our feet we did have a lovely time where we spent most of our days by the gorgeous pool which was quite relaxing. we only ate in the buffet restaurant as the food there was very varied and really delicious so we didnt want to miss out on what they had to offer. Another detail we wished we had known about but only found on the day we were leaving for dubai was that a couple of metres from the hotel entrance there is a lovely little supermarket which would of been so handy to use throughout our stay! i would also like to finish off by mentioning that all other staff around the hotel we found to be very friendly and attentive.
overall lovely hotel but a few areas to be improved on and also to acknowledge what the guests are celebrating whilst visiting the hotel would be a lovely personal touch!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to us as your first stop for your honeymoon. Whilst I am delighted to read your kind words of appreciation, I am disappointed to read not all aspects of your stay with us met with your expectations. Your feedback on areas of improvements have been shared with the concerned departments as we endeavor to enhance our guests experience. We have already implemented welcome drinks on arrival and are diligently working on improving other areas so that should you return your next stay will be seamless in every aspect.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    443
    167
    70
    50
See reviews for
716
908
75
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Looks very large, but in fact this is because the Rooms are of a very good size, and very nicely done. The first impressions are excellent and the staff, for our six day stay, were friendly and helpful in all parts of the hotel and facilities. Beach is fantastic as is the Thai Restuarant, a must if you stay there
The only criticism I would make is that there was very little evidence of effective management and supervision of the staff and so at times parts of the hotel seemed understaffed, in spite of there being lots of people around. This was particularly evident at breakfast which regularly had queues due to the rigorous process of escorting everyone to their tables - for some a long walk. This seemed more of a control mechanism for them than anything of client benefit.

Room Tip: All looked good but we were at the furthest distance from reception, which although a walk to most p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank discerninglyenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Whilst I apologize for the shortfalls in some service areas I would like to thank you for appreciating our well-appointed rooms, unique beach location and warm, friendly staff. Your comments on areas of improvement, in particular on our buffet restaurant, have been well noted and shared with the concerned departments in an endeavor to improve our guests experience.

We hope to welcome you back and I am certain your next stay will be seamless in every aspect.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days in May this year and was delighted at the excellent hotel and service.
We were very warmly greeted on arrival and the check in was first class.
We were shown to our room on the eighth floor and found it to be excellent, probably one of the best I have had in thirty years of visiting the U.A.E.
All staff were very courteous and helpful and all facilities were as advertised.
I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback and for rating us so highly. It is a moment of pride to read such wonderful feedback where our staff delivered on promise a true St. Regis experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another flawless experience.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, CI
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I flew out to meet my boyfriend who was on a conference here and I can honestly say the service we received here was fantastic. The staff are friendly and genuinely happy to help. We dined in the Thai restaurant every night as we enjoyed it so much. The adult pool is great if you can get there early enough to get a good lounger. We would not normally have chosen this destination or hotel given its size but we were pleasantly surprised and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skabenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for appreciating our warm and friendly staff members. Pleased to hear you enjoyed dining in Sontaya, our Southeast Asian venue that is popular for being the city’s most romantic restaurant. I will be happy to pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the St. Regis Hotel, Saadiyat Island. I think it must rank as one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in (and there's been lots). Our room was on the 7th floor with a wonderful view overlooking the whole resort, the beach and the fabulous blue sea. A very large room with a huge bathroom (with a massive bath which looks out of a huge window) and a lovely balcony. The staff at the St. Regis were outstanding. They couldn't have been more helpful, friendly or polite. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank southamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for rating us so highly. I am delighted to read that our staff, location, views and our interiors truly impressed you.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I was here on a conference and enjoyed truly 5 star facilities: several pools including an adults only one, several restaurants, a huge area of beach that you could have to yourself and turquoise bath warm seas to swim in. A staff to guest ratio that meant we enjoyed great service at all times and a butler service for that bit extra. I had an ocean view suite enjoying super views and iPhone docking stations, Bose speakers, two balconies and so on. Several families with small children were staying who were clearly enjoying themselves. There is nothing else near the hotel, the town is about 20 mins by taxi, so not for you if you want to stroll out of your hotel into town.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Davish,

Thank you for kind words. I am pleased you were impressed by our facilities and beachfront setting. Glad to read our staff took care of your every need and you were able to enjoy our signature butler service – a cherished hallmark we pride ourselves on. We hope to welcome you back for another St. Regis getaway.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is really great! The rooms are impecable! I've booked a superior room for my honeymoon: it had a huge bathroom in marble, lots of drawers , a big closet, a shower and a bath (separeted) with a window showing the beach (it's really nice to have a shower watching the arabic sea), an extra large bed (and very comfortable), and you'll sure get all the attention you need for a AA+ vacation... The hotel also provided a butler who could help us in our needs, and brought us strawberries with chocolate when I arrived with my wife... The pools are great and the hotel has its own private beach and golf circuit, that is fantastic. Of course everything is very expensive as it is normaly at this places, so be prepared! (For example, dinning in the main restaurant buffet was almost US$ 120,00 per person). Also, it is a little far from the center and other attractions.. but the overall experience was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertosartorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Alberto,

Thank you for choosing us as your honeymoon getaway. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and had the opportunity to experience our signature St. Regis butler service – a cherished hallmark for over a century now. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards
Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Starwood EMEA and Travelbag so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing