We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold on St Regis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sold on St Regis”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We drove to the resort and although it is sufficiently signposted to get there, we had one or two uncertain moments once inside the resort gates. This is because the route to the hotel goes past some of the resorts residences/villas and the hotel entrance is at the back of all this. The hotel's main entrance is only seen after passing the residences and a few other buildings on the resort.

Its a huge resort but despite this it is not intimidating. On the contrary it is very easily explored and tranquil (at least during our visit). The property is very new and being this new means that there are no stains on the carpets; the tiles on the walls still glisten and everything works. You walk into the hotel lobby and you are greeted by an expansive, softly decorated, light filled area with high ceilings and sweeping views out to the turquoise blue sea.

The hotel employs a color palette of whites, creams and browns throughout. In the bedrooms these neutral colors are interspersed with pastel greens/blues . Through the choice of materials (stone columns, wooden inlays, glass chandeliers) and use of colors St Regis has created an aura of understated elegance that is experienced from drive past the guard at the gate ... thru to the hotel room.

There is the usual valet service and greetings at the hotel entrance, seated check in at reception and staff escort to your room and then, there is the 'St Regis butler'. What does one get one's butler to do? Well there are the cups of coffees or teas to be made one; 2 items of clothing each to to be pressed compliments St Regis; packing and unpacking or even getting an arabic perfume from somewhere in town. For the business traveller there is the faxing, photocopying and scanning to be done whilst you work away from your dedicated work desk. And let me say - the coffee arrives to your room hot, is very nice and is complimentary.

Room 170 which was our first room is on the ground floor (one of my pet dislikes) and so we had a change of rooms. This room comes equipped with disabled facilities and a private garden area (shared only with the other guests on the ground floor at that part of the hotel). Limited views of the sea but absolutely ideal if you have a little one as it can be used as an extension to the room! The change over - seamless! I simply walked out of room 170 into room 686.

I will admit that I expected a bigger bedroom for my dollar but that aside the space is effectively designed. Almost a 3rd of the room is the bathroom and runs the full length of the room. The toilet and bidet is at the inside end of the room whilst a standalone deep, bath tub sits at the other end under a very large window. Being on the 6th floor - one can relax in the bath tub enjoying beautiful views across the resort and out to the ocean. The rain shower room is in the middle of all this. The freedom the rain shower room afforded ie being able to out stretch your arms without damaging yourself or the tiles was much appreciated. The location of the the taps at the other end of the shower room is also well thought out as it allows you to set the temperature of the water without getting yourself wet before you are ready to. The toiletries of choice is from Remede (I am not sold on them yet). I also liked the use of leather on things like the remote control holder, tissue boxes, coasters and everything has the St Regis brand embedded on it - no chance of you forgetting where you are. We also liked the listing of the channels in groups and noting the language beside each (News, Kids, Sports, etc) in the remote control holder - no need to search 66 unknown channels to try and identify whats what. There is also a standard UK 3 pin plug inside the door of the room safe so that you can charge your laptops, phones etc whilst being locked away.

Breakfast is from around the world - congee from China to porridge from Scotland. You are spoilt for choice in Olea restaurant. I especially liked the spicy crackers! and I especially liked the freshly squeezed green apple juice - clean and fresh! There were even pancakes and crispy duck for breakfast...

If you are a tea drinker - try the double happiness tea in the drawing room - its a treat for the eyes. Complimentary post cards in Concierge - get one to post to your friends - make them jealous!

Lots of opportunities to go swimming at this hotel, separate kids pool at the kids club (the kids club is resort in itself), separate family pool, secluded adults pool, more pools in the athletic centre and lets not forget that private white sandy beach.

The wifi was ok for checking my emails and social websites.

There is a Spinneys (supermarket) and a high end watch boutique on the resort.

Next stop - to purchase one of the residences!!! I'm making St Regis Saadiyat Island the resort of choice on my next visit to Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDancerIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed comments and kind words of praise.
We eagerly look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    465
    176
    72
    55
See reviews for
759
947
76
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have traveled all over the world with business and pleasure and this St. Regis is defiantly in the top 5 great hotel experiences. Great property and Beach location. I have stayed at the St. Regis, Saadiyat Island four times in the past two years on business/pleasure trips. This is an excellent property for both vacation and business travelers. The St. Regis Butler service and the hostess's at the Olea are exceptional. I have had the pleasure of having Mr. Romano Roman, Julius, and Johnny as my personal Butlers during each stay. Mr. Romano is the type of professional that pays attention to every detail and provides constant feedback and direction to his coworkers to make the stay the most relaxing and carefree possible for his guest. He makes it a point to know what you prefer and ensures that you get the personalized service you desire each day. Bulters Julius and Johnny are very good but Mr. Roman is the best of the best. Olea hostesses Elina and Sally make your dinning pleasure available indoors or outside this great all day restaurant. I feel fortunate to have been the beneficiary of both of their excellent service and customer service.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms are great for the special 2 especially on a full moon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is always a pleasure hearing that our employees delivered on our brand promise of a bespoke experience.
We eagerly look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed at the St. Regis, Saadiyat Island four times in the past two years on business trips in excess of 90 days each. This is an excellent property for both vacation and business travelers. The Butler service is exceptional and I have had the plaesure of having Mr. Romano Roman as my personal Butler on each stay. Romano is the consumate professional that pays attention to every detail. He makes it a point to know what you prefer and ensures that you get the personalized service you desire each day. All the Bulters are very good but Mr. Roman is the best of the best. I feel fortunate to have been the beneficiary of his excellent service and customer service.

Room Tip: The St. Regis Suite in the West Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Ricky,

Thank you for your positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our butler team. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first time here at the St. Regis we stayed four days the staff were incredibly kind and friendly the adult pool is to die for with our own private cabana we had our own butler who could organise any thing for use we tried all the food in each of the restaurants and they were all excellent you have to try the Shakespeare cafe just out side the main building the decor is some thing from the past we also went to a great Italian restaurant in Abu Dhabi called Shakespeare at the crown plaza hotel they do a 1 metre long pizza amongst other great Italian food any way we are off to Dubai now we are staying at the down town palace hotel cheers



Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Maria,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our teams and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have stayed at this resort twice, it's a lovely weekend trip away from Dubai where we really feel we DO get away from the hustle and bustle - just the colour of the water as you drive onto Saadiyat Island shouts relaxation at me whenever I see it. Unfortunately we keep picking super busy weekends, or maybe the resort is just that popular, so we have only experienced it at full capacity to date. But even then the hotel doesn't disappoint - the brunch is overwhelming in choice and presentation is beautiful. Breakfast is equally good, even when they are really busy, with plentiful stocks and staff to keep it all pristine. Staff are trained to be extremely attentive and helpful which makes you feel really looked after and cared about. Rooms are lovely, light and airy, huge bathrooms - everything you expect from a new 5 star. The kids club ranks higher than most, keeping even my short-attention-spanned boys happy for a few hours. Pools are well chilled in the summer and the adult pool particularly gorgeous and tranquil - love the cabanas and in-pool sunbeds though wasn't down there early enough to secure one. In summary, a proper high end 5 star with food and staff to match, lovely location and reasonable rates. I have no doubt we'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your words of appreciation and I am glad to read that we delivered an experience beyond expectation.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for a weekend to enjoy the Yas Waterworld Package of the hotel. We enjoyed pool and beach on the first day and went to Yas Waterworld on the second day. The price of the package was really worth the staycation as it also included breakfast for 2. The Staff is among the most attentive, friendly and professional I have come across in the UAE. We stayed in a standard room overlooking the court yard, because we knew we wouldn't have time to enjoy a sea view and it was the right decision for us as we were in activity mode. The room was quiet, spacious and very clean with all amenities one could think of. Press 0 on the phone and a personal butler appears out of nowhere to help you with adapters and gadgets. It is important for parents to have happy kids and I had one happy bunny with me. He appreciates to be treated with real respect and not the condescending kind one finds so often in hotels of this category.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisepaepstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise. We are looking forward to have your son and you stay with us for another fun filled experience.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottenburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We're in the middle of our 2.5 week holiday at the resort and are enjoying it very much.

Location: Its an oasis of calm on Saadiyat island with downtown Abu Dhabi and Yas Island close by. The Louvre and Gugenheim museums will be virtually next door when they open in a couple of years. Being out of town, it is probably the best located 5-star resort property for those wanting to escape city life. The airport is about a 30-min drive away and you rarely hear or see a plane passing overhead.

Rooms: The rooms are of an excellent standard, spacious and tastefully decorated. We have two interconnecting rooms and this works well (we appreciate the fact that the interconnecting door is by the front door and not by the bed as in most EU and US hotels). Due to their design, the bathroom is virtually as large as the bedroom and features a separate bath. The shower is huge but it would be better if you could have a door to close (it is a walk-in one open on two sides) so as to avoid getting the floor outside the bathroom wet. Whilst there is no pay-TV/movies, there are enough channels (over 100) to suit all tastes. The hotel should provide a TV guide in the room so that you know what is on (local newspapers only feature listings of a small selection of the channels).

Food: the food in all of the hotel restaurants and outlets is of a supreme standard; the Olea restaurant buffet is definitely one of largest and best that I have eaten. Due to our half-board plan we eat most meals in there and do find that there needs to be more variety in the selection on offer. After a few meals there it does get repetitive. The a la carte restaurants are excellent and definitely worth the price.

Pool: we spend most of the time at the three-tiered family pool which is an infinity style. Given that it is a "family" pool, we were surprised that there is no part that is covered; there are several shallow areas and it would be easy to cover at least one of them. The pool is surrounded by loungers and cabanas, so there is plenty of seats. The adult pool is very nice, largely covered and a very refined setting. The pool at the children's club is a large play area with water jets, a water slide and soft pool flooring. There are plenty of lifeguards around all pools and the water temperature is just right: cool enough to be refreshing but not so cool as to be a shock.

Staff: this is where the hotel needs to work on most, I feel. The butler service, in-room dining team and check-in staff all work well and efficiently. The main restaurant staff and the pool attendants are quite cold and impersonal; this is definitely out of keeping with the property and our expectations. Other 5-star+ properties (eg Shangri-La) in the region definitely are better at this. Another gripe is the inflexibility of having liquid drinks (eg water) at the pool. We understand that it is Ramadan and are respectful of this; however it is very strictly enforced here. Only our young daughter is allowed to drink bottled water. We have stayed in several other resort hotels in the UAE and Oman during Ramadan, all of them served drinks and even snacks and salads too. Given that it was 47-degrees yesterday, this is a big let-down.

Overall: a very nice property and one that is recommended, with just a few improvements needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Simon,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, thank you. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us and will share your constructive comments with our teams.
We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Max Wiegerinck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,182 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Southall Travel, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing