We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We chose the St. Regis for a one week beach vacation in October 2013. The main purpose was to escape from the cold European temperatures and to heat up a bit before the tough winter time. Abu Dhabi is a perfect spot for that. Just two hours time difference during that season and just a bit more than a six hours flight. The St. Regis was recommended by friend. We enjoyed the week very much. The staff was super friendly, our Ocean view suite was spacious and equipped with all the amenities you would expect from such a hotel. We booked about six months in advance and got a decent package that also included breakfast. The hotel is definitely not cheap, but we got quite some value for what we paid. The pool was very nice, staff brought some refreshments every time we came to the pool. The beach is beautiful, however, for swimming not really perfect. But you can make long walks along the beach. The breakfast buffet was probably one of the best we have ever seen. I would give a 9 out of 10. We also like the dinner buffet even though we are usually not into buffet style. But the food quality was just perfect. We also visited some other restaurants on the premises, an Asian and a seafood restaurant on the beach. All of them very good, we even got some discounts for being Starwood members. All in all, a perfect week for us. We went on to spend some days in Dubai. Next time I would probably just stay in Abu Dhabi as we are not that much into the busy city life of Dubai. But if you want to do some shopping next to a relaxing beach vacation, this combo makes a lot of sense.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donrodolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Donrodolf,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for your kind words of appreciation. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Mediterranean-inspired resort as well as our venues, including Sontaya, Turquoiz and Olea for breakfast and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,493)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

A truly 5 star hotel with 5 star service. The staff could not be more helpful. I used the Butler Service to unpack my luggage for the first time, as we arrived and went straight to the HSBC Golf Championship, I never wish to do my own unpacking again! Everything in it's place and put away logically so everything was easy to find, I will definetely avail myself of this service again. Our dedicated butler was very helpful and once we had asked for an extra tea bag in our English breakfast tea, we did not have to mention it again - marvellous.

I live in Dubai and although only a short drive away it fells almost like a sanctuary, calm and relaxing and you return to Dubai totally stress free and refreshed.

This is a super hotel I would recommend to anyone for a short break away from the hussle and bussle of Dubai, gorgeous hotel, wonderful beach, attentive and courteous staff, what more could you want? and I am not easily pleased!

Well done St Regis!

Room Tip: The superior sea view rooms with the fabulous bath tub overlooking the sea, fabulous. A higher floor...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time post your experience with us and for your kind words of appreciation. It is a true delight to read that our team made every attempt to ensure your stay with us was the best possible and you could take full advantage of our Butler Signature Service.

We look forward to your return very soon.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Smilling helpfull staff, my son sat on the guest manager lap upon check in, amazing beach, breakfast is exceptional, the room size is righ with sea veiwing balcony The sea view is great. Kids club available and my kids 7y and 1y loved.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawyakhafaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Mawyakhafaji,

Thank you for your positive review about the smiling and helpful staff and for complimenting us on our facilities, including the exceptional breakfast and popular Kids Club.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another opportunity to deliver indelible experience.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is a great addition to the list of UAE Hotels I am happy to frequent for a little winter sunshine. Perfect 5 star hotel with plenty of amenities and space. Restaurant options are good and there are further restaurants on the door step, Athletic Club very good. Rooms are huge and well appointed. All round excellence. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Probably worth paying extra for sea view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HomeJames991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear harripg,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review globally and rating us as perfect 5 star hotel. Your kind words of appreciation about our facilitates, including the restaurants, well-appointed rooms and our Athletic Club are well shared with the team.

We look forward to your return in the near future for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The building and price are 5 stars, but the rest is 2-3 stars max.
The place is nice, the white sand beach is beautiful, the rooms are large nice and clean, but for a 5 stars hotel and for the price list they have is not enough.
The staff of a 5 stars hotel (that ask 1000 to 6600 AED/night about 200 to 1350 Euro/night) must read in the thoughts of their guests instead of know nothing that you ask, the hotel must hire person with more knowledge so pay more for them (the staff is kind and nice, but level of education is very basic).
Then if I pay a room an average of 400euro/night, at the beach I would find some complimentary (or at least to rent) kayaks/ surfs/ windsurfs, etc. , I would have see a lifeguard equipped with a jet-ski (or at least with a kayak) if something happens, in the gulf sea there are sea-snakes and sharks. There isn't a place where you can wash the sand from your feet only the showers (where you get more wet that what you want). The waiter at the restaurant know nothing or few about dishes and beverage. At leas they put false info on the menu (ex. 'maraschino' for them is equal to 'amaretto', the waiter explain me after asking to the chef).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear patrAlb,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience. While I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the resort’s Mediterranean ease, I am equally disappointed to know that our team were not able to live up to your expectation. Saadiyat is a natural island and home to dolphins and Hawksbill turtles, an endangered species. Your feedback is well shared and noted and will be reviewed. We look forward to your return in the hope we will be able to better suit your needs.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Everything was excellent. Super service, super location and delicious food. behind the Hotel a wonderful and difficult golfplace (Saadiyat beach). Transfer and Service as well as in the Hotel. We will come back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for Golfview.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Agnes,

Thank your for taking the time to share your experience globally. It is a delight that you could unwind and take full advantage of our resort and we look forward to your return very soon.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A perfect place to celebrtate my wife's 40th birthday. In her words "a once in a lifetime experience" which I hope is more than once!
The staff, design, setting and ambience complement each other to great effect. Secluded enough to feel 'away' but buzy enough to feel part of something special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teifion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Teifion,

Thank you for celebrating your wife’s 40th birthday at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort and for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you again for another “once in a lifetime experience” .

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,330 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £190 - £623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing