We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Came back to stay here having been here 6 months ago so clearly good enough for a return stay. All was as expected. Rooms were good, service excellent and love sontaya restaurant. Only negative is the fact that sun beds are still reserved by people at 8 am and then they show up at 12. It should be either pay for premium locales or strictly first come first served with no holding. Apart from this, perfection

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Cdiebel1,

Thank you for choosing the best address once more and for taking the time to post your review globally. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and appreciate your comment about the sun beds.

We eagerly look forward to your return for another bespoke experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,571 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

For us, it's all about service and friendly staff. St Regis Saadiyat has both. We recently visited for an afternoon break - a gorgeous day. We had eaten at the Thai Restaurant previously - a must-do for anyone coming out to Saadiyat. We enjoyed some drinks while we were there and would like to especially note Roshan at the adult poll bar areas and Darwin at Tourquoz. Outstanding service from two great guys! And, Naman Schwarz, pool and beach operations Manager was equally guest-centered. Thank you all for a 5* afternoon! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRMFujairah-Dhadna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear BRMFujairah_Dhadna,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words of appreciation. It is motivating to read that our team delivered a truly St. Regis experience and we do appreciate your individual recognition of our associates.

We eagerly look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax you are perfectly right with this hotel and get the best value for money you can get.
The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bathrooms are the nicest I have ever seen and the pool area is so beautiful and relaxing as I hoped it to be.
The hotel is a 20-25 mins drive away from downtown Abu Dhabi and possibilities to have dinner or drinks outside of the hotel (if you wish to), go shopping, see some sights etc.
If you plan a city trip with nightlife and much going on I wouldnot recommend this hotel.
There is no problem to go back and forth Abu Dhabi, desert trips, trips to Dubai (just a €80 taxi drive away), F1 circuit etc. but the location of the hotel is calm and relaxing and therefor a bit away from the hastle.
There is a small piazza on the hotel grounds where you find a small supermarket, some shops and some more restaurants and another cafe if you like to have some alternatives for dinner.
A big plus is the private beach as you are not allowed to sunbath in bikinis on the public beaches in the UAE.
I totally understand the critical reviews regarding the service but it did not bother me in any ways as I was on holidays and had the time to wait a bit more for my water to arrive, for example (and we are just talking about 10 more minutes max, not about ages).
The only thing which was a bit dubious was that you get different answers if you ask different people the same question. My boyfriend wanted to drive on the F1 circuit and interestingly we got different times and prices everytime we asked. Even this happening made us smile not unsatisfied :-)

Room Tip: Even the lowest category is really spacious and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephfrommunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Stephfrommunich,

Thank you for positive feedback and for your kind words of appreciation. It is indeed a pleasure to read that you were able to relax and unwind in our resort.

We eagerly look forward to your return for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

great hotel, wonderful breakfasts, helpful staff, good location. we didn't have a sea view room but was no problem, wonderful room, large spacious, bathroom to die for, spacious balcony, beautiful furnishings and toiletries

Room Tip: either sea view or garden view fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rufusdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Rufusdoug,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another opportunity to deliver momorable and bespoke experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have stayed for 2 nights is this beautiful resort, I was traveling alone and a little bit concerned about being alone in such a big resort. Actually I have never felt alone. All the staff members are more than friendly, they deliver personalized service and really genuine care about the guests. From front office to housekeeping, pool and beach to restaurants and not to skip the excellent butler service. Which is nowadays so rare to find. Partially I was visiting for business partially for leisure, this resort hotel offers everything. What ever purpose of your visit, you will find it here. The rooms are a breathtaking and than I am not even speaking about the location, view and beach. I will definitely be back in future for business and I will also take my family because I want them to experience this with me!! The property is is located at the peaceful island, but nevertheless the city centre, city attractions are never more than 15 mins away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesmichael911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Jamesmichael911,

Thank you for your kind review and for your kind words of appreciation. It makes us proud to read that the team took care of you whilst staying at the best address and you enjoyed our Mediterranean-inspired resort and its facilities to the fullest.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another indelible moment.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I travel a lot, and seldom does a hotel take my breath away - but this one does, from the moment I arrived at the grand entrance to my last night's dinner at the fabulous Sontaya restaurant. The hotel is new but built in a grand old style. It's almost as if someone started the design process with "well, we're going to be hosting lots of sheiks and royalty and such, and everything needs to feel like that." the public spaces are grand and soaring, with acres of gleamingly polished, inlaid marble floors, and absolutely perfect fit and finish to everything. A discreet army of impeccably uniformed employees are stationed throughout the hotel, just waiting for an opportunity to help or simply smile and make you feel welcome. The sleeping rooms are among the largest and most well appointed I've ever stayed in, and the luxurious bathroom itself is bigger than some rooms I've stayed in! The bath is something, with a giant soaking tub that is easily comfy for two next to a full length window gazing out upon the gardens, shore and sea; bidet and two sinks of course; and my favorite spot in the entire hotel, a giant walk-in rainfall shower that could easily accommodate 6 people, but is cavernous for one and, I imagine, just perfect for two. Hard to beat a room service breakfast on your terrace overlooking the sea, the sound of songbirds filling the air. And, while I was here, it was nesting season for the Hawksbill turtle and all the lights in the gardens and grounds were turned down very low so as not to confuse the turtle, making a night time stroll to the Sontaya or Turquoiz restaurants an almost mystical Arabian Nights kind of experience.

The restaurants are all first class, and especially the Thai-themed Sontaya with its floating islands of dining rooms and exotic menu is a place to remember. The hotel bar, Manhattan, exudes a stuffy old gentleman's club kind of feel, but it is hard to find fault with a place that serves up 40 year old port alongside a dozen varieties of Cuban cigars; too, it is the kind of "whatever it takes to satisfy our customers" place that will magically find you a plate of amazing Blue Cheese and crackers at 1 a.m. just because someone in your party thought that would be nice.

Absolutely stunning and cannot recommend it highly enough. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You definitely want to request the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holokauahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Holokauahi,

Thank you for your wonderful review and it is a moment of pride to read about your experience at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort. Your feedback about our well-appointed rooms and about our venues are truly appreciated and will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another bespoke and flawless experience very soon.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed at the St Regis during a conference, which was hosted there and was impressed by the quality of the rooms and hotel in general.
I had a standard room, but the bathroom / wet room was very spacious with dual sinks and bath with a window view (and a remotely controlled blind for privacy). Bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was well equipped with useful items such as an ironing board and iron as well as extras such as an emergency toothbrush etc. Wireless internet in the room worked well too.
I eat at the buffet breakfast each day and was impressed by the selection of hot and cold foods available to suit all tastes. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave a great level of service.
As I was on business, I did not have an opportunity to enjoy the various pools and beach facilities, but I had an excellent sea view from my private balcony.

Room Tip: Not all rooms will enjoy a sea view. If this is important, you would probably need to ask in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Phil,

Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities and our well-appointed rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again, maybe for another occasion and for another opportunity to deliver memorable and flawless stay.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,492 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,515 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
3.6 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £206 - £612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing