We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun & Sand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham Common
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sun & Sand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a wonderful property with fantastic service, food and rooms.
Abu Dhabi is a great airport to arrive at and the transfer is quick and easy.
The hotel is set on a long beach with beautiful sands and plenty of beds. Great pools and facilities to relax by. The Golf Course, attached to the Hotel is one of best I have played on and with the special rates from the Hotel, super value.
The food in the restaurants was fantastic and the Thai was one of the best we have eaten in.
The rooms were beautifully appointed and had great views.
Above all the service and staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear christopherts,

Thank you for sharing your kind review globally and for your kind words of appreciation about Sontaya and its team.

We eagerly look forward to the opportunity to deliver another indelible and bespoke experience in the near future.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    445
    167
    70
    50
See reviews for
717
910
75
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I can comfortably say that St. Regis Saadiyat is by far the best hotel in Abu Dhabi. Everything was just easy, flexible, and pleasant from the very beginning till the end. Service (which is something that is generally absent in Abu Dhabi) was amazing, the location, style, facilities, and beach were all great. The only issue I faced was getting there since the location was not available on Google maps, and road signs were not awesome. Apart from that everything was perfect.

It's a must see landmark in Abu Dhabi!

Room Tip: Go for the suites with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nash8879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Nash8879,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. Your recommendation being best hotel in Abu Dhabi is indeed motivating and will be shared with the team.

We eagerly look forward to your return very soon.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Fantastic room with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathroom was pure luxury with the biggest bath ever. The staff were lovely and helpful and there are plenty of restaurants in the complex all of a high standard. The steak restaurant is incredible. The facilities are great, good gym, swimming pool and excellent spa. The down side were all the children but there was an adult only pool which was a good retreat from the badly behaved kids!
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pythagoras2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear pythagoras2014,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words of appreciation. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities to your fullest, inclusive 55&5th, Athletic Club, Iridium Spa and Adult Pool.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future for another memorable experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

If I recommend this property, it is for its beach and sea quality seldom seen in Arab Emirates. To say it was my best beach experience in Abu Dhabi (Shangri-La, Abu Dhabi Hilton, Emirates Palace) and Dubai (Jumeirah Beach, Dubai Hilton) would not be too much of exaggeration. However, the sun beds are not served close to the waterline, and no complimentary water is offered (in all the mentioned properties except the Emirates Palace, they have plenty of it, in Shangri La they bring a little portable fridge and almost make sure you drink your water with the heat being above 35 C).The beach team is a bit overwhelmed too.

Another advantage, and the first day it was a great one-the breakfast was served till 11 o'clock.

Concerning the property-it was great, the decor, the style etc. The rooms were spacious and clean, with plenty of amenities. However, unlike in most of Emirates Hotels, there were no coffee machines or tea makers in the rooms. It is your private battler who brings it. You just have to dial 0.(How many times would you do this? I did it once a day...) Neither the welcome fruit platter was offered at arrival. I had an impression, and I still have it, they were a little less generous than the other mentioned hotels of the same quality and class. Maybe, I was disappointed by the fact that they blocked an excessive amount for the extras on our credit cards and we had to fight to unblock it later, which you certainly want to avoid on holidays... (Shangri-La and Qasr al Sarab, where we travelled later, blocked half of it! FYI, 500 AED per day per room for 2 persons for the extras is the amount).

Another small thing-to have the best rate Do have a look in the "offers", where you will find the rates including breakfast or others which are not in the rates menu. The reservation team might not be in the picture, as in my case ( I spent about 2 weeks negotiating what was on their site...).
As for the restaurants- we tried the "Turqoize"(not sure about the spelling))). Found it pricey for what we got (double as compared to the restaurants in 2 minutes walk from the hotel, in the Collections Mall, where the quality was the same or not worse. The libaneese and Shakespear, for example).
These were small details that were worth keeping in mind just to make the most of our stay. Overall, we enjoyed it very much, but everything is experienced by comparison...

Room Tip: Once again, DO check the offers. Standard rooms are largely sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear julia s,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience. Your constructive feedback is well noted and will be passed on the team. Some areas of improvement are on the project pipeline so that it will hopefully be rectified in your future visits.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

One of the great resorts in the area, our getaway was for 2 nights. We have booked the superior room sea view and upgraded to a suit which was clean, spacious, calming lights and great view.

The resort has seven restaurants in which you'll find that special dish you wanna try. Additionally, beach area, several pools, golf coarse and kids play area.

The butler service was great, overall staff were very friendly and helpful in any means. I can say that they were really distinguished.

Surprisingly during our two nights stay, we didn't leave the resort as everything is available.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahdi_AlTaheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Mahdi_AlTaheri,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for rating us so highly. It is indeed a moment of pride to read that our Signature Butler Service was delivered to you and you could unwind in our Mediterranean-inspired resort.

We look forward to you welcoming you again in the near future for another bespoke and memorable experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed at the St.Regis this April and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left felt simply amazed by the level of service and the beauty of the resort.
Our room was so gorgeous, with a breathtaking see view. No need to comment the cleanliness, tidiness as everything was impeccable. Our battler Jovana & Amit made their best every day to make our stay perfect, just as Damir, the duty manager.
The hotel have some great restaurants and the beach area. We especially liked the adult pool as it offered more privacy and it is a great place to relax.
Pity we stayed only a week! Would love to come back at any time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARINAWOOBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear MARINAWOOBY,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us globally and for your kind words of appreciation about Jovana, Amit and Damir.

We eagerly look forward to your return very soon for another uncompromising and indelible moments.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamib123
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had an excellent family holiday. Was anxious about the varying reviews on this site but was totally unfounded. Have been to Dubai about a dozen times, staying in the One and Only, Ritz Carlton, The Atlantis and mostly in the Jumeirah hotels. This hotel stood up to them all.

The choice of food and buffet might not have been as grand as some but we didn't have any complaints. Food and drinks were expensive but that isn't going to change any time soon.

Service was good but staff were sometimes thin on the ground in the restaurant and around the pool. Starting tipping and looking for the organ grinder got round that problem pretty sharpish, unsurprisingly.

Spa was very good and the gym (24 hours) had the best freeweights section of any hotel I have stayed in. I was there every morning and was back before the kids had woken up. Pool was pretty big, plenty of shade and like all these Emirati hotels, had at least 5 lifeguards on duty all day. Kids club was very good.

We paid for seaview superior connecting rooms. They were massive and well laid out. You will not be dissapointed. Butlers unpacked and packed our cases (make sure you tip!!).

We loved it here. It was less than half the price of Dubai, which has gone up 20 pc year on year for ten years I would say. Give it a try. It is definitely 5 star and is definitely VFM. I am sure we will be back.

I almost forgot the beach. Maldives quality. Dubai has nothing like this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stregis_saadiyat, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear jamib123,

Thank you for posting your review and choosing the best address over the Easter. We are happy to ready that your experience was pleasant and you enjoyed our facilities, inclusive Iridium Spa, Athletic Club, Pools and Beach and our well-appointed rooms.

We eagerly look forward to your return for another bespoke experience.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#9 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing