We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an Exceptional, Magnificent and a Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Truly an Exceptional, Magnificent and a Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been putting off writing this review, because I do not know how to adequately express into words how amazing The St. Regis Saadiyat Island was and how special they made us feel - for me and for my brother birthday celebration.
What made this place so special? Well, it was the service and the staff.
First, we've got a free upgrade to an Ocean Suite. Very stylish, beautiful and luxurious with an amazing ocean view. And with a professional, personalized, and friendly check in with late check out. Thanks to the managers Damir & Joori and also to Chiara. It was an awesome arrival experience!
Second, the attention to all the details made during our stay at this property especially the Butlers. In fact they go out of their way to recommend more options for us plus a complimentary Birthday cake. Thanks to Marjorie, Nenita, Diana and Joana.
The food in Sontaya is exceptional! I love the taste, presentation plus ambience of this restaurant. Thanks to Jessa, Koko and Moe for their excellent service especially the manager Nay and Belle who came to table and seemed genuinely interested in our comments. Absolutely fantastic! Great food, great service, great atmosphere, great views!
And also I was so impressed and touched when the staff in Turqouiz surprised me with Birthday greetings together with a complimentary Birthday cake during our Lunch. Not only was the food was magnificent but also the unique location of the restaurant with an amazing sea view! Can't express a very nice feeling - the staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. Service was exemplary and quick! Special thanks to Jovana, Lem and Shijumon. If you are in town and want to try top class sea food, then this is best place for you.
The spa was so lovely, gorgeous and fabulous! It is overly luxurious! It has a very authentic ambiance with soothing music and fragrance floating in the air. With very professional, well-trained and friendly staff, it was excellent! We enjoyed our massage treatment. Thanks to Jacqueline, Jiriya and Ketut who did the massage treatment for me, for my younger sister and brother. The best massage treatment ever! And also to the receptionist Amine and Kanya who were very friendly.
This was our first stay and overall, The St. Regis lives up to it's name with their superb service to their guests. I cannot thank them enough as it definitely made our birthday celebration feel more special. We highly recommend to stay here as you will never regret. Expect nothing but the best! Would definitely come back! That was truly an exceptional, magnificent and a paradise experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, General Manager at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Thess,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on our team and for rating us so highly. We are truly delighted to read that your experience with us was indelible and eagerly look forward to the welcoming you again very soon.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    442
    167
    70
    50
See reviews for
714
908
75
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family and I have stayed here in March 2014 for a couple nights and have to say that the service was not up to standard. It started with the check in. Okay I booked the room just about one hour before check in but the staff was not informed about the booking. We arrvied about 15.00 pm and there was no room available. I have to say that if you as a company offer last minute bookings (we booked through spg) then please ensure you can manage them!
The staff told me not very friendly that we will have to wait. She could not answer my question if this means minutes or hours. Only after I insisted on a room as per booking confirmation or a discount the staff offered us a room (again unfriendly). We had the impression during our stay that the staff was very much arrogant and not really service minded. The room was average in size and comfort. But the breakfast buffet I have to say was the best I have ever seen. It was huge and with plenty of choices (including roasted duck!). The beach is not bad so is the beach bar (where our orderes were mixed up). The Asian (Thai restaurant) was good but not enough for the high price. The kids club is great. But to be honest the stay did not impress us much (beside the breakfast buffet) and you have much better options in this price range in the UAE.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear SAT33,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and it is a delight to read that you enjoyed breakfast in Olea. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectation.

I remain at your disposal, in the event you wish to discuss it further at saadiyat.stregis@stregis.com

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just to keep it short, rooms excellent, most of the staff excellent and friendly , breakfast average where one of the 'managers' really friendly and the other one ignores you ! We paid for a buffet meal on our first night at olea, not worth the money at all. Neither the breakfast or buffet at olea compare well with our stays at hotels like jumeirah beach, Westin on jumeirah beach or grosvenor. When we arrived, it was 3.30 but did not get our rooms until 4.45 even though official check in at 3pm. One of the managers kindly gave a credit of 250 dhs per room. We are lucky that we can afford good hotels and although I didn't say anything 250 dhs is a bit of an insult. Overall though it is an excellent location our views are the best we've ever had and overall staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear AAYK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is our constant endeavor to deliver a bespoke and memorable experience and your feedback is valuable. Please do not hesitate to contact me at stregis.saadiyat@stregis.com, if we can be of any further assistance.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been to Olea restaurant for lunch and the service was a bit slow. We waited for 30 minutes to get some water. The mixed grill was not marinated at all, it just tasted like meat. Great choice of salads. No helpful staff/ chefs at the buffet.
In comparison to the other outlets is that the weakest one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AyMa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear AyMa2011,

Thank you for your review and we are sorry to read that your expectation was not met. Your comment will be shared with the Food and Beverage Team. Please do not hesitate to contact me at stregis.saadiyat@stregis.com

Warm regards,

J. Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I spent the day with my family there, and eventhough the kids club has amazing facilities, when i went to pick them up, they had left to another pool without anyone supervising. The views over the ocean are amazing, and the food at the restaurant really impressive, along with the service. The pool closes at sunset, which was a bit dissapointing. Overall, average, specially because the cost is not cheap at all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Coxito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Coxito,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience about our venues. We are sorry to read about the incident at Sandcastle Kids Club and will be surely passed on to the team.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiasso, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I spent few nights at the Saint Regis, and I can recommend it. Rooms are very nice, and the hotel premises are impressive and very sophisticated.
The worst side was the canteen, but it was outstanding if compared to some competitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bispereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear bispereo,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the best address. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and it was indeed our entire teams pleasure to deliver you a memorable experience.

We look forward to your return very soon.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am an international very experienced traveller. I have stayed in the hotel for about 2 weeks.
The thing is quite simple: As a normal package tourist you will feel very comfortable and not recognize the shortcomings of the hotel. As somebody expecting highest standards you better stay away. I agree with the review of "gorkiij", but not his rating. The hotel still offers a lot of value for money and compared with other 5 star hotels the staff is very welcoming and friendly. Especially the Guest Experience Manager, Mrs Yoori Goh, and the St. Regis Butler, Mrs Dijana Orestijevic are to be mentioned here. They made me feeling like home. When booking, pay attention to the fact that some companies offer HB and drinks included, some other do not. Drinks included will save you around 50 USD per day. The hotel is a great stay for families, singles better look for a different holiday destination. The adult pool is calm and quiet, I enjoyed spending time there. The a-la-carte Restaurants are top, the "Olea" a middle catastrophy, though food has to be rated good - very good. There is a Spa and a Gym, a supermarket and ATM nearby, located in a small shopping mall where you will what is needed during your stay. For those ones, having no board booked, there are also a couple of restaurants just opposite the hotel where you can find breakfast, lunch and dinner. And please, do not complain about a bottle of water (1 L) charged aorund 10 USD: You are still staying at a 5 star hotel and not All-Inclusive in the Carribean ;)

Room Tip: Always ask for 5 to 8 level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stregis_Management, Geschäftsführer at The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Pa H,

Thank you for sharing your review globally and for rating us so highly. We appreciate your honest feedback about our team and it is a moment of pride to read that especially Joori and Dijana made your stay memorable. Feedback like yours is very encouraging and motivates us to continue to deliver an experience beyond expectation.

We look forward to your return for another indelible experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Stewart Selbie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#9 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.6 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#10 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort

Property: The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Address: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island is your new address in Abu Dhabi overlooking either Saadiyat's pristine beach or the impressive Saadiyat Beach Golf Club, designed by the golfing legend, Gary Player. The resort provides unparalleled accommodations and service along with food and beverage outlets that provide sumptuous meals and refreshing drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Travelbag and Starwood EMEA so you can book your The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing