We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but...”
Review of Shakespeare and Co

Shakespeare and Co
Ranked #104 of 2,062 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Shakespeare and Co was established with the simple premise of serving great quality food, providing friendly and efficient service in a warm atmosphere reminiscent of home. Abiding by that philosophy has propelled the company's growth from its first establishment in 2001, to currently 18 company owned and operated outlets in the United Arab Emirates, and franchises in Lebanon, Jordan, Qatar, Oman, and the United States.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty but...”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Went there for breakfast in AD near 31st st. Decor was nice, service was good, too. Food, juices & coffee were tasty. Beef bacon was a bit too crunchy, though.

My only problem with this place is: i had the runs later that day & had to make frequent visits to the bathroom.

Maybe I was unlucky that day?

Helpful?
Thank Skrooobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are dismayed that desipite your great experience at the restaurant, that you were afflicted with some discomfort later in the day. I can assure you that all of our restaurants have the strictest hygiene standards in place and we have passed all our routine municipality health inspections with flying colors. Nevertheless, we shall continue to to refresh our staff on the importance of personal hygiene and safe food handling to ensure the safety and peace of mind of our valued patrons. Regarding the beef bacon - our senior chef at the branch has been informed to be more diligent in ensuring the beef bacon in all our dishes is not overcooked. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Love every detail of it!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

From afar, it was really a fancy looking restaurants - having nicely hung chandeliers, elaborate tables, sofas & chairs. Being a major in literature, the place was bit of a heaven. It was that day again when I fell for the classics.

Love the cocktails! The food was okay and their service is great.

Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience with everyone! We certainly are a magnet for artists and literary afficionados such as yourself, and we are glad we were able to not just meet, but exceed your expectations! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is a family favourite restaurant which serves a great mix of food. Very child friendly, nice staff.
Great salads in a good location, the souk.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience at our Central Market branch, and we certainly pride ourselves in being a family friendly restaurant! We look forward to welcoming you and you family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had the opportunity to savor on a lunch at Shakespeare and Co with a few of my colleagues, and was not disappointed. The decor and ambiance was pleasing, and the food and service didn't disappoint either. Will go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our restaurants with us, and we're overjoyed we were able to live up to your expectations! We hope we continue to be your regular haunt in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service, Good food, Good decoration!!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was staying at in st. regis, Saadiyat island, it's a expensive hotel for food, so a few days ago I decided to try some of the restaurants in the compound, I found shake speare and co the best looking so I tried it! I was there for breakfast, it is just AMAZING I loved it so much, the staff where very friendly and the food is also very good!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenJenny9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your experience with us! It gives us great pride and pleasure to receive such a glowing endorsement and we look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Abu Dhabi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare and Co also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Shakespeare and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing