We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food, charming atmosphere”
Review of Shakespeare and Co

Shakespeare and Co
Ranked #104 of 2,062 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Shakespeare and Co was established with the simple premise of serving great quality food, providing friendly and efficient service in a warm atmosphere reminiscent of home. Abiding by that philosophy has propelled the company's growth from its first establishment in 2001, to currently 18 company owned and operated outlets in the United Arab Emirates, and franchises in Lebanon, Jordan, Qatar, Oman, and the United States.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfort food, charming atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently had a light lunch at the Shakespeare and Co (The Souk - Central Market location). The main dining room is very small and cozy; there is a nice outside area and some overflow seating into the mall.
*Liked best - the extensive menu, reasonalbe prices, large portions, restaurant ambiance. I had the lentil soup and my mother had the chicken soup--portions were very large and very good bread and butter was served along side
*Liked least - despite not being busy, the service was slower than usual and took some time to get our bill
*I highly recommend Shakespeare and Co. I have been here several times for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have always enjoyed my meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReeReeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are glad you enjoyed our food quality, selection and presentation. It is unfortunate that we were unable to deliver the good service to accompany the great food and the branch manager has been informed of your comments and to bolster the service standards. We need a wake up call once in a while and we count on our customers to provide it! Thank you for your compliments and constructive criticism and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Completely fulfilled”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had read about this restaurant on Tripadvisor and went there when we visited the mall. Not being overly hungry on account of the heat, hubby ordered a vegetable sandwich and I, a vegetarian burger. We in our haste expected exactly that. But when lunch was served I was astonished to realize I had in fact received a full meal. We of course went on to enjoy it and were full by the end of it all. The fries, burger and salad were freshly made. Being homemade, they tasted really good. Even the accompanying sauces were delicious. Next time I visit I'm going back for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjwarriorprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review about us, we are glad that Trip Advisor proved to be a useful tool in providing you a great recommendation! Your review certainly brought smiles to our faces and provides us motivation to continue striving to deliver better food and service. We are also launching a new menu shortly with more vegetarian options! Thank you again and we look forward to becoming your favorite restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Laura Ashley on speed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Fabulous place, great food and staff. Had breakfast and lunch here today and will be back again. Found prices very reasonable for the quality of the food. Decor is amazing, it shouldn't but it does work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we certainly defied the odds when it comes to our decor! Each of our restaurants possesses its own individual quirks eventhough from afar they are all unmistakably Shakespeare! We are particularly proud that you found us "reasonable" - as that has always been our main goal: to provide our customers with a value for money experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty but...”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Went there for breakfast in AD near 31st st. Decor was nice, service was good, too. Food, juices & coffee were tasty. Beef bacon was a bit too crunchy, though.

My only problem with this place is: i had the runs later that day & had to make frequent visits to the bathroom.

Maybe I was unlucky that day?

Helpful?
Thank Skrooobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are dismayed that desipite your great experience at the restaurant, that you were afflicted with some discomfort later in the day. I can assure you that all of our restaurants have the strictest hygiene standards in place and we have passed all our routine municipality health inspections with flying colors. Nevertheless, we shall continue to to refresh our staff on the importance of personal hygiene and safe food handling to ensure the safety and peace of mind of our valued patrons. Regarding the beef bacon - our senior chef at the branch has been informed to be more diligent in ensuring the beef bacon in all our dishes is not overcooked. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Love every detail of it!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

From afar, it was really a fancy looking restaurants - having nicely hung chandeliers, elaborate tables, sofas & chairs. Being a major in literature, the place was bit of a heaven. It was that day again when I fell for the classics.

Love the cocktails! The food was okay and their service is great.

Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience with everyone! We certainly are a magnet for artists and literary afficionados such as yourself, and we are glad we were able to not just meet, but exceed your expectations! Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare and Co also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Shakespeare and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing