We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect for breakfast with friends”
Review of Shakespeare and Co

Shakespeare and Co
Ranked #101 of 2,055 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Shakespeare and Co was established with the simple premise of serving great quality food, providing friendly and efficient service in a warm atmosphere reminiscent of home. Abiding by that philosophy has propelled the company's growth from its first establishment in 2001, to currently 18 company owned and operated outlets in the United Arab Emirates, and franchises in Lebanon, Jordan, Qatar, Oman, and the United States.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“perfect for breakfast with friends”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is the best place to have breakfast at, food is great, very good value, amazing atmosphere and excellent staff, it is a place to go with friends, couples or alone :)

For Arabic food lovers.. try the Saj and also the fool .. it is great :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaaZaghmout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, ShakespeareandCoUAE,Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your colorful review and recommendation of our restaurant. We are delighted that you loved our Saj and Foul Madammas, which are the two of the most popular Arabic breakfast on our menu. We certainly well known for our all day breakfast and we are happy that you are satisfied with the quality of food, value and service that you received. One of our goal is to provide our guests an environment they are comfortable in and enjoy...that is why we created Shakespeare & Co in such a way that, all our patrons will feel that they are at home away from home, inline with the elegant decors, homey, warmth and comfy atmosphere. We hope that you will continue to patronize us, and we will do our very best to provide you and our regular patrons the true Shakespeare & Co experience, every single time you'll visit us. Once again, thank you very much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    24
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
276 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Food is just ok but great staff!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went for breakfast on a weekend, outlet not busy, total of 3 tables at 10.30am. Service very friendly and efficient, good coffee but the breakfast not really outstanding. the omelette had no seasoning so did the mushrooms and potatoes gratin. The pancake looked good but again lacked in flavour and was very plain, even with pouring all the maple sirup over it. we tried also their homemade chocolates and they where grate on the other end. Not sure how lunch and dinner is but after this visit, even though the place looks nice we want be back soon for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrisIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, ShakespeareandCoUAE,Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much Trislv for taking the time and effort to write a review about us...we are glad that we were able to provide you friendly and efficient service. Unfortunately, we do apologize if you are not satisfied with our breakfast meal. We will be discussing these matter with our Group Executive Chef and we shall do the necessary. Through efforts made by customers such as yourselves who provide us valuable feedback, we were able to determine our weaknesses and improve on it. We are on the verge of launching a new menu...we do hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves and give us the pleasure of providing you again warmth, efficient and friendly service, inline with an improved selection of dishes. Thanks again for your essential review and we hope to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A nice staff a nice atmosphere neat the soux in side out side sitting and nice aran food what van you have more
We had a great appetizer soup salad and arab bread with cheese and enjoyed it too much
After this we had a main course that honestly was too much
I had a leg of lamb not bad but not perfect but it did not spoil the appetizers
Be aware no alcohol here no wine no beer

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hans b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, ShakespeareandCoUAE,Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much hans b, for your lovely review and for sharing your experience with us...we are glad that you like the array of fresh and delectable foods that we offer, and for positively commenting on our friendly and professional staffs...we recommend you to try our classic artisan french pastries the next time you visit us, you might wonder what the ordinary people is doing that time while you're into it...at Shakespeare & Co, we always keep in mind value for many, thereby, offering our patrons QUALITY + QUANTITY = VALUE FOR MONEY...thanks again and we hope to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfort food, charming atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently had a light lunch at the Shakespeare and Co (The Souk - Central Market location). The main dining room is very small and cozy; there is a nice outside area and some overflow seating into the mall.
*Liked best - the extensive menu, reasonalbe prices, large portions, restaurant ambiance. I had the lentil soup and my mother had the chicken soup--portions were very large and very good bread and butter was served along side
*Liked least - despite not being busy, the service was slower than usual and took some time to get our bill
*I highly recommend Shakespeare and Co. I have been here several times for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have always enjoyed my meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReeReeRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are glad you enjoyed our food quality, selection and presentation. It is unfortunate that we were unable to deliver the good service to accompany the great food and the branch manager has been informed of your comments and to bolster the service standards. We need a wake up call once in a while and we count on our customers to provide it! Thank you for your compliments and constructive criticism and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kottayam, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Completely fulfilled”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had read about this restaurant on Tripadvisor and went there when we visited the mall. Not being overly hungry on account of the heat, hubby ordered a vegetable sandwich and I, a vegetarian burger. We in our haste expected exactly that. But when lunch was served I was astonished to realize I had in fact received a full meal. We of course went on to enjoy it and were full by the end of it all. The fries, burger and salad were freshly made. Being homemade, they tasted really good. Even the accompanying sauces were delicious. Next time I visit I'm going back for more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjwarriorprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakespeareandCoUAE, Regional Director of Operations and Franchises at Shakespeare and Co, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for writing such a glowing review about us, we are glad that Trip Advisor proved to be a useful tool in providing you a great recommendation! Your review certainly brought smiles to our faces and provides us motivation to continue striving to deliver better food and service. We are also launching a new menu shortly with more vegetarian options! Thank you again and we look forward to becoming your favorite restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakespeare and Co also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Shakespeare and Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing