We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service throughout, let down by kids pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service throughout, let down by kids pool.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in the Westin, a mini escape from Dubai. Upon check in we informed we had been upgraded to a premium room, i guess as the hotel is so quiet, a frequent Abu Dhabi positive. The room was indeed spacious and well equipped with a wonderful terrace looking onto the driving range.
We ate in Fairways (breakfast & dinner) which was very impressive and offered a huge variety and some good live cooking stations. The Retreat also offered good value food and both are in the Entertainer, making it even better value.
Staff throughout were very friendly and made you welcome and at ease at all times and in all locations.
Our one massive disappointment however was the kids pool, the sole reason we chose this hotel with a 2 yr old. The marketing pictures display a nice big pool covered fully to offer protection to the little ones in the UAE June sunshine and heat, we arrived to fine only one of the 3 sections in place. The other 2 had apparently been damaged 4 months prior in a storm and had not been replaced. A very poor show from a hotel of this standard to neglect of all things, the safety of the children using the facilities. Reception staff seemed shocked it was missing and inquired if we had asked the lifeguard what had happened, unfortunately i doubt the lifeguard has sign off to replace the damaged sections.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank got2bfunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear got2bfunky,

Thank you for taking time to send your feedback about your recent experience at The Westin Abu Dhabi.

I was thrilled to learn you enjoyed our venues and service by our team!

We are actively working to replace the pool shades however we need to follow some regulations before we can proceed with the maintenance.

We would love to welcome you and your family back to The Westin Abu Dhabi for another rejuvenating stay.

Stay Well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    207
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
212
261
58
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

2 business partners and I stayed at this resort for 4 days and it was excellent. The architecture of the resort itself was breathtaking. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The restaurants were amazing, especially the breakfast buffet. The staff was very attentive and helpful. I guess my only concern would be the weak shower pressure. Other than that this resort made my business trip very comfortable and I will come back next month.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlewisjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear dlewisjr,

Thank you for taking time to send your feedback about your recent stay at The Westin Abu Dhabi.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort that our hotel offers and the services provided by our team.

I was sorry to learn about the water pressure, please rest assure that we are looking into this in order to avoid any other guest having to experience the same.

We are looking forward to welcome you back for another rejuvenating stay with us.

Stay Well,
Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Westin has so many things going for it: spacious rooms, great service, a collection of nice restaurants, as well as a secluded location. The gym could be better, but they are already working on building a new one. What really lets down this hotel, and makes it not worth one dirham of your money, is the Golf resort it overlooks. All night the Golf course gardeners drive to and fro in their little buggies, making tonnes of noise, meaning that one is woken up half a dozen time during the night. The hotel cannot interfere, and the Golf club is blase about the nuisance their workers create. When I raised the issue I was told 'tough'. The better your room, the worse the noise is, as the closer you are to the Golf club. It is a TRAVESTY that a hotel as nice as the Westin cannot ensure its guests get a good night's kip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0llingSt0ne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear R0llingSt0ne2011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us online.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, the restaurants and the service provided by our team.

I am very sorry to know that you were not able to recharge yourself with a good night’s sleep due to the level of noise which the Golf Club tries best to keep it to a minimum.

We hope this will not stop you from staying with us again in the future and enjoy the renowned services here at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa.

Stay well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed a night at the westin. We live in abu dhabi but wanted a weekend away. The hotel is lovely, the grounds, the pool, the attention to detail in Breakfast, and the room was gorgeous too. However we found that our room had an impeded view as the photo shows. All rooms on the 4th floor and half of the rooms on the second floor have this view(which accounts to a good 30%).

When I called requesting that our room be changed, the person was almost rude, and patronising, also claiming that the hotel was full, although I later asked front desk and they were at a 55% capacity.

Would recommend but stay away from these rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed-asmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Ahmed-Asmaa,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Westin Abu Dhabi.
I am very happy you highlight and like the features and settings of our hotel which is indeed a fantastic choice.

I regret to learn that we were unable to offer a room without a stone balcony on your recent stay with us. Even though the associate may have informed you we were at 55%, the specific room category you have booked was indeed completely sold out.
We would very much appreciate to welcoming you back to The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa for another renewing experience.

Stay well,
Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night on our way to the Maldives after a long IAD-AUH Etihad flight. Since we were only on the ground for 14 hours in between flights, I booked an inexpensive room at the closest to the airport Starwood hotel, primarily to help me re-qualify for my SPG Platinum status. We were pleasantly surprised.

Less than 20 minutes and a cheap $14 Mercedes van ride from the airport. Very attractive, spacious new facility on the Abu Dhabi Golf Club. As a SPG Platinum, we were upgraded to a spacious and well appointed premium golf view room at a rate that included an impressive full buffet breakfast in a very attractive dining area. We would definitely return to this Westin and spend more time next time.

More pictures...
http://sfo777.com/hotel/abu-dhabi-westin-abu-dhabi-golf-resort-and-spa

www.SFO777.com

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFO777dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Director of Rooms at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear SFO777dotcom,

Thank you for your stay at the Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa.
Taking care of our valuable SPG guests and primarily Platinum member is always a pleasure.
We are glad to have had this opportunity to welcome you at the hotel and looking forward to welcome you back.

Stay well,

Lilia Koleva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Westin and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Although I found it quite annoying that they decided to trim the bushes infront of our room at 8am, it would be great for them to realize that people go there to "rest" and not just play golf. The issue wasn't resolved and although after an hour of intense noise, we gave up on sleep and headed to the pool.

The pool and service of the staff is great. Don't bother with the gym it's tiny and unless you want to see peoples business in your face give it a pass.

Hopefully the minor issues will be fixed before our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear dixiefly,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor,

I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Whilst I can assure you that any neglect experienced in this instance would have been as a result of thoughtlessness rather than intent, please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

Thank you, once again, for taking the time to write and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.

Stay well,
Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Last week we booked 6 rooms to stay there as a family, we requested all the rooms to be next to each others 2 weeks ago, but when we reached there 4 only was met our requirement. the staff refused even to make up for that and upgrade one of the rooms to the next level to be all on the same level.
3 of the rooms had a A/C problems, the maintenance guys spent 2 hours to fix it, and unfortunately the only thing that we got is a late check out for two rooms only to make up of their problems, they even didn't offered another room while it's their mistake.
while check-out they charges us $600 as a fine for smoking, even they couldn't prove that these area are non-smoking areas, no stickers, boards or been informed by any of the staff.
the reception guy (who's name is Bruno) offered us a birthday cake while check-in and he asked me when to deliver it, I told him 7:30 is fine. we haven't seen this cake until I followed up with room service at 11:30 PM.
Matt is one of the rudest guy I have ever dealt with, and he introduced himself as a manager. when we was discussing with him the problems we faced with the hotel and smoking fine issue he came to us and said he called the police for us.

Really it was the worst hotel I have ever been, and according to the staff and the way they deal with their customers, I don't think this hotel deserve more that three stars.

Room Tip: Be careful from A/C problems happens at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rami N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Rami N,

I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

We accommodate a number of guests in our hotels and resorts worldwide and are proud to have the flexibility to meet the requirements of all our guests. It is therefore disappointing to have let you down on this occasion. I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.

We aim to accommodate guests with special requests and are proud to have the flexibility to meet these requirements. Accommodation request for adjoining rooms is subject to availability on the day of arrival therefore we had to provide you with one room on a different floor. Due to the nature of your booking this did not entitle you for an upgrade to suite.

We fully empathise with your sentiments regarding the inoperative air-conditioning during your stay. Every effort was made to minimise the discomfort and offered to change your room while the technical fault was rectified. Nevertheless the decision to stay in the same room was at your discretion and instead you requested for a late check-out and did not accept our offer for a room change.

Please note that smoking is allowed only in designated area and there are various non-smoking signs throughout the hotel while smoking rooms are clearly indicated.
As you requested we provided you with non-smoking rooms and it was highlighted upon checking. We were alarmed by other guests and security that you endeavor to smoke in the corridor in front of non-smoking rooms and fees of AED 500 were applied to your bill while the set charge for it is AED 2000.

I would like to apologise for the manner in which the situation was initially dealt with as more discreet approach could have been adopted.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring your concerns to my attention. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future.

Stay well,

Jose miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
13.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
13.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
5.8 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#1 of 7 in Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Sas Al Nakhl | Khalifa City 'A', Abu Dhabi 126 797, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa is the hospitality heart of the Abu Dhabi Golf Club - a 27 hole championship course, home to the PGA European Tour Abu Dhabi Golf Championship. This urban retreat is a refreshing addition to a city sprawling with glass and steel structures and will put the focus back on the outdoors and natural surroundings. Our restaurants and bars will offer you the finest cuisine in exceptional surroundings.All our 172 guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly furnishings and amenities and are facing the golf course with private balconies to soak in the atmosphere and rejuvenate. This is how it should feel. A renewing sleep, energizing workout, relaxing spa, nourishing foods, and clean, fresh air - all enable Westin guests to preserve wellness during travel. Celebrate your special day, whether it's an engagement or wedding in style with beautiful surroundings at Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing