We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been much much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could have been much much better”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel itself is really nice. It overlooks a golf course and the surroundings are really beautiful. The rooms are spacious however it is a bit sad in the rooms that the places where they used marble are really dirty and in our case the desk, also made out of marble was really sticky. These have not been cleaned in years and will never be clean again since it is a natural stone so all the dirt has been absorbed by the marble.

But ok our stay, mmm... our check in was relatively smooth only our room was not ready yet. So we agreed with the receptionist that we would leave our luggage in the hotel. Which was not a problem and our luggage would be in our room when we would get back. We returned 5 hours later.... but guess what? no luggage. Not a problem so I phoned tot he conceriege on duty. 10 minutes later he called back because we had to describe our luggage. Did that and finally our luggage arrived.

During the chekin the clerk told us that due to the class of room we had booked we were entitled to the happy hour in the bar. Lovely, so around 7 pm we went to the bar had some snacks and ordered the drinks. But of course there was a problem. Our waitress said that we were not entitled to the happy hour and had to pay. So back to the reception they had to check and yes we were entitled to it. The clerk then on duty said he would make a note in our booking so everybody would be able to see it. Tragically, such a note was never made and the same thing happened the next day. The day after the next day they tried again but I said we are not having this conversation for the third time.

During check in we also made a booking for the golf . Normally a voucher is given but since we didn't have our room number yet, this would be delivered to our number. Unfortunately it suffered a bit the same faith as our luggage. The voucher never arrived. Here again not to worry so next evening I went up to the concierge on duty and asked for the voucher. Guess what? We were not in the system, not by name not by room number, nada niente nichts. As that was after the second discussion about if we were entitled to the happy hour we had a bit enough. So I told the concierge not to make a new booking for us since we were going to check out. I think we were quite patient with the service of the hotel but enough is enough. But that was not the end of it. Next morning at 7.15 AM concierge on the phone; We didn't show up at the tee off time. Excuse me?! We were not in the system etc etc. He tried to lay the blame on us and that we could tee off later but we already decided to leave so no thank you. That was quite a discussion so early in the morning.

So next day we checked out. Straightened everything out with the concierge and he admitted that it was something with his team. We told the receptionist of our concernes and he told us that we would be contacted by the manager. Needles to say that this also never happened. But to put the cherry on the cake, we have been anyway charged for the golf on our credit card although that was not the agreement we made when we left.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Sammiess,

I would like to thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience.

We accommodate a number of guests in our hotel and are proud to have the flexibility to meet the requirements of all our guests. It is therefore extremely disappointing to have let you down on this occasion.

Regarding the tee time booked with our concierge, you received confirmation at the time about the terms and conditions of the booking, and as you may also be aware the 48 hour cancellation policy is strictly set by the golf club and doesn't allow us to be more flexible with the changes and/or no shows.

Your present feelings are appreciated, however, I do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.
We do look forward to welcome you back at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa.

Stay Well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    209
    68
    17
    10
See reviews for
214
266
58
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Westin is a good quality hotel with a great range of resort features including 27 holes of very good golf course.
Our room was a standard king size bed room and had great views over the golf course. It was very quiet and had a very comfortable bed with a good choice of pillows. The bathroom was excellent.
Breakfast was really good with a wide range of cultural offerings - I had perfect salmon eggs Benedict today and a nice omelet yesterday.
If I had any criticism it would be the wifi service - available everywhere but so slow almost impossible to use, unless you pay about $20 a day for an upgraded service. In my view that is a really dumb thing for a quality hotel to do.
Apart from that, I'd recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Pottsy747,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a highlight that all of our rooms overlook the lush greens of Abu Dhabi Golf Club and we are glad you enjoyed the views.

Breakfast at Fairways restaurant is a great way to start the day and the wide range of different kind of foods probably leaves nothing left to be desired.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa for another renewing experience.

Stay well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Fantastic 4 night stay. I cannot find any negatives . Room well appointed. Bed really comfortable with fantastic pillow choice. Breakfast and evening buffet were my favorites. Amazing choice of well prepared fresh food. Brilliant bread at the breakfast too. Nice pool and good cold beer. Will definitely stay again when next in Abu Dhabi

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cav_on_tour_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Cav_on_tour_13,

Many thanks for recently having stayed at The Westin Abu Dhabi and subsequently sharing your feedback online.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds and the dining options in our Resort.

It is our pleasure to share your compliments with our brilliant chefs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another renewing experience.

Stay well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay in the Westin Hotel and we honestly didn't want to leave! The hotel is fantastic from start to finish. Everything about the hotel was superb from the rooms, to the staff, the cleanliness and also the food was delicious! The view of the golf course is beautiful even if your not a keen golfer! We travelled with a small baby and the facilities were perfect, they even have a baby pool which is covered from the sun and felt very safe. We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and hope to return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1chelsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear 1chelsie1,

Thank you for your praising words and your recent at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa.

We are very gladdened to have had the opportunity of hosting you and your family for a getaway in the city.

Your comments are read with pleasure and I am happy to know how much you liked your room, the dining options and of course the service provided by our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Resort for another relaxing stay.

Stay well,
Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We have recently stayed in this hotel and loved it! From the minute we walked into the reception we knew it was outstanding! The rooms were larger than average and the beds were so comfortable and big! The views from the balcony over the golf course were lovely! The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The food was out of this world! My daughter has stayed in the Emirates Palace and she said the food at the Westin was much better! The pool area was clean and very relaxing! We will definitely be going back. The only small negative my family had was the location it's a little bit secluded but the taxis are really cheap so nowhere is out of reach! My husband played a round of golf and thought the golf course was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0sie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear R0sie25,

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us online.

We very much appreciate your praise and recognition and are proud to receive such feedback.

I am delighted to know that we were able to impress you with our Resort and the services we provide.

It will be a great pleasure to have you staying with us again in the future for another renewing experience.

Stay well,
Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I am travelling a lot and so far the Westin Hotel Abu Dhabi was one of the best hotels I have ever booked. I already made some real good experiences in Dubai and so I decided to book again the Westin Group. The front desk was always very helpful, friendly and welcoming, the rooms are very spacious and pretty and the bed was amazingly comfortable. I enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the Fairways International Restaurant every day and the food was excellent and delicious.
All the professional staff (room, desk, SPA, restaurants) made my stay most memorable. All in all a fabulous place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear A6254,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences online.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay at The Westin Abu Dhabi.

We do pride ourselves on our high standards of service and value your recognition.

We are looking forward to accommodating you in the future for another renewing experience.

Stay well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is truly a beautiful location. The rooms are nice and spacious with high ceilings. We really like the pool loungers inside the pool!
One thing that needs to be increased is the staff. Front desk staff was great and very helpful, but when requesting water or something we needed it took an exceptionally long time. Also we had very long waits on food and drinks at the pool bar and the pub.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Trish731,

Thank you for taking the time and share your recent experience with us online.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time here at our Resort.

The loungers inside the pool are indeed a highlight and a great way to unwind and simply fade away.

Thank you for your feedback on your pool bar experience. I will share your comment with the concerning department

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Stay well,

Jose Miguel Infante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
13.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
13.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#22 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Sas Al Nakhl | Khalifa City 'A', Abu Dhabi 126 797, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa is the hospitality heart of the Abu Dhabi Golf Club - a 27 hole championship course, home to the PGA European Tour Abu Dhabi Golf Championship. This urban retreat is a refreshing addition to a city sprawling with glass and steel structures and will put the focus back on the outdoors and natural surroundings. Our restaurants and bars will offer you the finest cuisine in exceptional surroundings.All our 172 guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly furnishings and amenities and are facing the golf course with private balconies to soak in the atmosphere and rejuvenate. This is how it should feel. A renewing sleep, energizing workout, relaxing spa, nourishing foods, and clean, fresh air - all enable Westin guests to preserve wellness during travel. Celebrate your special day, whether it's an engagement or wedding in style with beautiful surroundings at Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Abu Dhabi Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing