We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Lebanese food”
Review of Barouk

Barouk
Ranked #218 of 2,061 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Lebanese food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I am staying at the Crown Plaza on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi and was enticed to try Barouk. I grew up eating Lebanese food and challenged the manager to impress me. It was great. The presentation, the smell, the taste. The mezzas were the best I've had, from the zatar to the hummus, fatouch, bread and a host of other delicacies. I am only sorry I missed the aoud player, maybe next time. They believe they are the best and they love to engage with you. Talk to the manager and let him and his team wow you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
194 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Good, creative, Lebanese food”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Lebanese cuisine is always a safe bet in the Middle East and the Barouk wasn't an exception. I started with a very good tabbouleh, followed by a chicken kebab. Both were well prepared, well seasoned and tasty. I had a glass of a very nice Lebanese wine to accompany the meal, and also went for the mixed Baklava deset, which was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for non-smokers”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We can't comment on the food at Barouk because we didn't even get to sit down at the table, let alone order or eat anything! We made a booking for Friday night, having heard good things about the food at this Lebanese restaurant in the basement of the Crowne Plaza hotel on Yas Island. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted a smoking or a non-smoking area, and we said non-smoking. But the non-smoking area of this restaurant in a raised area along the side of the restaurant, right next to the smoking tables which in the lower level but less than a couple of meters away. The table we were shown to was close to a group who were busy puffing away on their shishas, wafting smoke towards our table. When we asked if we could have a table in a real non-smoking area we were told that was the only place available. At that point we decided to eat somewhere else, rather than have our evening ruined by some extended passive smoking during dinner. We also noted that the non-smoking tables are right in front of the crooner, who was due to start his act in about 10 minutes. We can't comment on how good or bad the singer is (I am sure he is excellent) but it may well be that the non-smoking tables are not the best for dinner conversation given the closeness to the singer. We would also note that we didn't receive any kind of apology for the lack of a suitable non-smoking table before we left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardW770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
208 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese Restaurant in UAE !”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a cozy yet hippy , great food , efficient service and live entertainment !all are available and more at the Lebanese restaurant Al Barouk in Crown plaza Yas island -AbuDhabi.

Food with so much flavors from the Farrouj , to the Homus and Barouk salad , all freshly prepared , and will exceed your expectations !

Restaurant cozy with dimmed lights, red light table lamps , restaurant was full noting it was a Tuesday , singer started performing around 8.30 pm , great Lebanese songs that made us feel home !

once manager knew about our anniversary , he arranged for a nice cake and asked singer to make a surprise song where it was amazing surprise for us !

very good value and nice view of swimming pool . we will be driving from Dubai on weekends to have dinner in this lovely restaurant as its only 40 min away from Dubai !

highly recommended ,!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDubai68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to relax while eating”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great styling and although we sat in the non smoking area located near the speakers for the 2 large screens which airs local television the arrival of the musician was a welcome relief to our ears.
We were welcomed and seated promptly and bought snacks of beans.
I was hungry but my husband not so much so we asked what size the mains were and the lady said enough for one person. I should have gone with my gut instinct and ordered just one meal but we ordered 2 and upon arrival we knew we would not eat both. Lebanese is usually served with "Lots" of flatbread on the side as well as on the meal filled with parsley, onion n tomato. The lamb dish I ordered was delicious along w the char grilled vegetables. My husband ordered the chicken and he said it too was delicious. Both meals were moist and lots of flavour.
If you are not big eaters then I would suggest 1 entree share and 1 main.
Great watching people experience while listening to beautiful music.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkno8759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barouk also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Barouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing