We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Architecture, Service”
Review of Hyatt Capital Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Capital Gate
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Architecture, Service”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The service at Capital Gate is really very good, almost too attentive. As a Platinum, I got a nice room upgrade. The room was enormous, with a beautiful bathroom, although facing the city instead of the more attractive seaside. Room design is earthy, modern, with lots of interesting texture that blends well with the unique architecture of the building.

As for the room, everything is automated but not too confusing to figure out. Minibar is pretty lacking, with a pretty standard lineup of beverages but only KitKats, nuts or Pringles for snacking. I didn't have any meals from room service but did order some incredible homemade ice cream flavors -- I tried saffron yogurt, cardamom peach, pine nut, and Turkish coffee flavors. All were excellent.

I asked for a 2pm late checkout, was told to feel free to stay until 6 pm (I left at 3 anyway). This was a very generous offer.

Cons: The hotel really isn't very close to anything except the convention center and many embassies, but the front desk will call a taxi which will arrive in just a few minutes and sweep you off to wherever (but the cost does add up to take taxis from here downtown too many times).

Their breakfast concept is a little odd, a bit of a hybrid between buffet (for cold items) and a la carte, but all included with the breakfast rate. Fresh baked pastries were outstanding -- whole wheat croissants were lovely, and there is a good selection of fresh fruit. Cooked a la carte items were just OK, but presented well. I didn't eat any other meals at 18 Degrees, but I heard from locals that the Friday brunch is good/unique.

It's hot this time of year, but I still found it bearable enough on the cantilever pool to swim late morning/midday. I was the only one with either the heat tolerance or the free time to be out there over the two mornings. It's a small pool but has a great view. There's just enough breeze blowing across at 19 stories up, and the pool water is either cooled or not enough in the sun yet to warm up at that hour. I didn't try the spa or fitness center.

I highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind the location and want a great Abu Dhabi luxury weekend. The price was even good as far as luxury hotels in the Emirates go -- definitely one of the finest hotels I've stayed at, and best overall values for luxury I've ever experienced in the Gulf.

Room Tip: Rooms have odd and irregular shapes due to the building shape. City view rooms look out over an expa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    248
    47
    26
    9
See reviews for
180
370
109
323
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

There can be no mistaking that this is a world beating hotel of some sophistication. The design is such that it has a bend in the middle, cannot think why that is such an attraction, architects again!

Rooms
Perfect, very well designed and a place you could actually live in.

Eating
Very limited choice. I had an afternoon 'snack' in the restaurant and it cost £40.

Bar
There is no bar, repeat there is no bar.........there is a place that serves drinks next to reception but it is more like a cafe. If you like a pint at the bar while watching the footie and having something off the bar menu then this is not for you. As I said in the title, it depends what you want.

Staff
Excellent and went out of there way to look after you.

Overall
Depends what you want but this place is certainly for the business market.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddman572001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As a business traveller I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, this is the finest I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. The hotel is unique in that it leans farther over than the tower in Pisa. The rooms are stunning with a complete wall of glass giving panoramic views over the city, palaces and Qatar in the distance. The rooms are well equipped with exquisite decor and facilities. The hotel boasts a infinite pool on the 19th floor, complete with jacuzzi. There is also a restaurant with panoramic views on the same floor. The staff are friendly, helpful and very professional, as you would expect from a Hyatt hotel. The hotel is also connected to the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre. I stayed at the hotel for 6 night and have booked a further 12 nights over the next three months. Limousine transfer from the airport is available at a cost. I really rate this hotel for anyone who is looking for luxury along with friendly service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Royal palaces also give you a view of the creek and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It was a very nice stay with friendly stuff and the view from the room was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockdale, Australia
Level Contributor
545 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is a very impressive piece of engineering with it's unusual design & shape! I had a pleasant walk around the building & called into reception to ask for some brochures & info on the hotel. I asked the security & hotel staff if I could take some pics inside the hotel lobby area & no problem. I didn't ask what the room rates were & may be I'll look those rates up in the future if & when I return to Abu Dhabi..... Impressive from the outside & no doubt very impressive on the inside.... the hotel is approx 20-25 min's drive from the centre of AD........... Enjoy your stay folks!

Room Tip: View your booked room before showing your passport & don't be embarrassed to ask & chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest
How wonderful that you passed by our property to have a look! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your whirlwind trip and we do look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you as an overnight guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A luxury five star Hotel linked with Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center (ADNEC).
The building is a skyscraper designed with a striking lean. At 160 m, it is one of the tallest buildings in the city. In June 2010, the Guinness Book of World Records certified the building (Capital Gate) as the "World’s furthest leaning man-made tower. The new record shows that the Capital Gate tower has been built to lean 18 degrees westwards.
Great fresh air lobby at the Ground floor with concierge and a Sweet Profit roll Café.
And when you go up to the Hotel’s main lobby at 18th floor and the registration desk, what a welcome that you can find!! And a restaurant at the same floor an at 18M, Fast Check in then go with one of their concierge Mr. Omar to a great spacious clean tidy amazing Hyatt room. Comfortable King size bed for a good sleep, marble bathroom, with these window from the floor to the ceiling you can have a magnificent view from both the room and the bathroom. In addition to the speakers at the bathroom, now back to the 19th floor for the 5-star treatment spas and a relaxing oasis, Gym, 32° degree Celsius outdoor swimming pool and Steam room with a shower in it. Great experience and leisure & It was great weather on April. (one À la carte restaurant available plus a Café and the great 24 hours room service "No buffet available till Aprill 2012".)

Room Tip: All Rooms located in a Higher floors between 20 - 33, All with a magnificent view, Lagoon side Delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barghouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest
What a delightful and humbling review – thank you! We especially love the pictures you took…of your recent new arrival (congratulations) and with you holding up the building of course!
We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The building has made it to World Guiness record book for tha biggest inclination and it's really impressive!!!! The area around is still under constraction and the taxi drivers don't know it yet so make sure you have the right info...also you need to discuss the price from the airport and it's cheaper with meter rather than pre-paid. The rooms are so large and the bathroom so beautifully decorated probably among the best ones I've ever stayed, with see-through glass doors, so if you share the room with someone not so intimate then you need the version with the private bathroom. The view from every room is great as well as the espesso machine!!! There seems to be an issue with the air condition that goes on and off all night long no matter if it's switched on or off and makes a loud noise which didn't let me sleep but they are working on it so soon it will be fixed according to the hotel's management. All the staff is really nice and polite and the restaurant one of the best in the city. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 13_Eleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest
You’re very correct about the taxi situation at the moment – our apologies for this. To all future guests, to avoid this difficulty, please let your driver know the hotel is the “leaning tower” next to ADNEC (the Abu Dhabi Exhibition Centre) and they should then know exactly where to take you!
We’re very happy to hear you will be returning – we are looking forward to exceeding your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
7.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
7.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#1 of 7 in Yas Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
6.9 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Capital Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Capital Gate

Property: Hyatt Capital Gate
Address: 1 Street | P.O. Box 95165, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Capital Gate 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is a premium business hotel located in the iconic Capital Gate building, which leans a record-breaking 18 degrees. The hotel is also a part of the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), the largest conference and exhibition venue in the Middle East.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi offers 189 luxury five-star guestrooms and suites occupying the18th to 33rd floors of the Capital Gate building. It has a contemporary and luxurious design with panoramic views from floor-to-ceiling windows.Bringing a new focus to style and design in the city, the hotel invites guests to experience several dining options from the variety of Mediterranean flavours at the hotel’s signature restaurant, 18˚. For something more intimate, there is the residential-style Lounge located on the 18th Floor.Rayana Spa, Abu Dhabi’s only “sky spa”, is perched on the 19th floor overlooking the city. The Spa offers “a refreshingly elevated oasis experience” that complements the Fitness Centre, suspended outdoor pool and whirlpool.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is strategically located within walking distance of the UAE capital’s embassy and government district. It is less than ten minutes’ drive from the UAE Armed Forces General Headquarters (GHQ) and the twofour54 media zone. The international airport is a 15-minute limousine or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Capital Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing