We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxuous Design”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyatt Capital Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Capital Gate
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Luxuous Design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a holiday. As we spent an extended time in Abu Dhabi, instead of staying in one hotel, we tried several (Capital Gate, Eastern Mangroves, Fairmont, Viceroy).

Room: The room is very clean, luxuous and modern. Well designed and a wonderful bathroom and bathtub. We could not find any fault. A nice view towards the sea. The beds and pillows are very comfortable.

Facilities: There is a nice gym, a spa and an outside pool, sort of hanging along the wonderful designed Hyatt Capital Gate. Whilst the lobby is small, it is very nicely decorated and check out the great library corner.

Location: We were a bit concerned about the location, but it turned out to be only a short taxi ride to e.g. Marin Mall (about 15-20 minutes). Mushrif Mall is only a couple of minutes away. However, there is nothing in walking distance from the hotel (shops/restaurants).

Reception/Staff: Everyone was very friendly and professional.

Breakfast/food: We had dinner in the café on the first floor, which was a bit pricy, but tasted fine. Our only complaint in respect of the Hyatt hotel was the breakfast. The selection was below average (what may be expected from a Hyatt). On the first day of our stay, the carrot juice was not refilled as they did not have anymore, whilst the breakfast was still open for about 1.5 hour. On the second morning the carrot juice was not even there. That was a minus. Also the refilling of other items, from bananas to breads could take up to 30 minutes. Other items which were there on the first morning were not available on the second morning. Coffee was served by the waiters per cup, but it took a very long time (up to 20 minutes) for each cup to arrive on our table. Luckily on the third morning we got a pot of coffee. Whilst the views are nice in the restaurant, the breakfast was our least favorite of all the hotels we stayed in Abu Dhabi (and actually all of the Middle East) and honestly disappointing for a five star hotel like Hyatt.

Overall: A very beautifully designed hotel with wonderful rooms. You are not right in the center of things, but with a short taxi ride, all of Abu Dhabi is available to you. The breakfast is questionable. I would not recommend this for holidays for more than 2-3 nights as the hotel can be more considered a business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

Such an extensive and positive review – thank you!

We highly appreciate your constructive feedback in regards to breakfast and we are investigating how we are able to improve this service offering. I’m delighted to note that we have already added additional new hot items to the buffet!

We do hope you will return soon and when you do, please us let know so we can ensure all your needs are met!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    245
    47
    26
    9
See reviews for
175
362
106
318
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had a vacation in UAE this spring. Went in Abu Dabi for one day and had dinner in restaurant "18 gedrees", which is in Hyatt Capital Gate. We spent an amazing time there! Restaurant stuff was very proffecional, despite of the fact that all of them are really young. Specially want to say thank you to Ian and Rosalyn who served us. They did everything perfectly! And we enjoyed every single detail there - food, atmosphere, interior, service. When i have a chance to come back to this country, i would love to go to "18 degrees" again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
382 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel looks awesome from the outside. It's a bit far from everything though, unless you just need to access the convention center. There are no places to eat or shop within walking distance, that i could see. Even driving there is a bit tricky, despite it being the lone building in the skyline.

Parking seems to be valet-only. You have to get to front desk at 14th floor to check in. For some reasons, it seems to take forever to get there. Surely they could've built a faster elevator. From there, it's another elevator to your room. It just seem to take too long to get to the room.

Other than that, the hotel is very nice. Room is huge, and has a great view. Everything is modern. Maybe it's too new, or too expensive, but the hotel is very quiet, and it just feel a bit lifeless and sterile staying there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palladia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate your feedback, thank you. Capital Centre – a key business district of Abu Dhabi – is currently being developed and we apologise that more activities in the surroundings are not yet available however this will soon change! As we are a mixed used building, levels 1-17 are office space hence why the hotel was designed to have a “Sky Lobby” 80 metres above the ground – to add some additional quirkiness to the building’s design and overall guest experience.

As with any hotel or business, we have our busy and quiet moments however hope that during this quiet period, you managed to get some undoubtedly well-deserved rest and relaxation with your family :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

A building unlike I've ever seen before. The service was, per usual Hyatt standards, very good. The rooms were very comfortable and complete with all ecpected amenities. Location is in the middle of a fair amount of new construction and without a cab ride, there is nothing close. The one available restaurant was good, not great. I thought it was quite humorous that from various points in Abu Dhabi taxi drivers did not know how to find the hotel or even that it existed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgtkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your constructive feedback and we’re delighted to hear you received the service you expected.

Please bear with us as construction of Capital Centre – a key business district for Abu Dhabi – is being developed. As a mixed used building, unfortunately we are unable to have a Hyatt sign on the building’s façade however, we have already implemented installation of a large sign facing the highway to increase awareness of our presence to all our guests – including taxi drivers! We can expect it to be erected soon however should you enter another taxi who is unsure of our whereabouts, please refer to us as the ‘leaning or bending tower next to ADNEC’ and without a doubt, he’ll know where to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We drive past this quirky looking hotel every time we go into Abu Dhabi and therefore decided to go and have tea there. Friday afternoon is always a bad day, as brunch spills over into tea and the deck/balcony area is only for drinkers and not tea.
The lounge area and reception are situated on the 18th floor (why) with three elevators it takes some time to get upto the 18th floor.
Once there you can sit on uncomfortable low backed chairs some of which face a large 10 lane highway, or higher backed chairs which face into the room - not ideal and no view.
Tea took along time to come, which was only the drink, and then for what we had was a lot of money.
There are other more relaxing enjoyable places to go for an afternoon cuppa.
Not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobYoung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

We’re sorry to hear your experience at our hotel wasn’t how either you nor we hoped it would be. We are a mixed use building in that levels 1-17 serve as office space hence why the hotel was designed to have a “Sky Lobby” – 80 metres above the ground - to add a unique element to the guest experience and provide views overlooking the capitals waterways.

We do hope you visit us again and please let us know when you come so we can personally ensure you have a memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here for a business event last year and I could honestly as a frequent traveler say it was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had recently.
The building itself is a landmark and the moment you step in the lobby, which is located on the 18th floor by the way, the staff is an expert on making you feel special.
As expected, it is not a budget hotel at all but everything is worth what you pay for.
The food and service are excellent. The rooms are extremely elegant and the view is amazing. The swimming pool is located on the 19th floor and does get windy at evenings and it is weirdly shaped but still classy.
If you're not on a tight budget and wish to experience the luxurious lifestyle Abu Dhabi offers, it is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayaz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we’re pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay. From all of us here, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

It's the fourth time I stayed there, I would not choose any other location or hotel in Abu Dhabi. The rooms are elegant, sophisticated and trendy; everything works and is hassle free.

The staff are the biggest advantage of the hotel. Friendly, outgoing, caring and genuine in their service approach.

The food is outstanding in the restaurant with an eclectic mix of dishes available.

They also added a cozy bar to watch sports and relax, so it's even better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abu-Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapitalGate A, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback as this no doubt motivates our team!

We’re humbled to hear you enjoyed your stay and trust you will have the same experience on your fifth visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
7.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
7.4 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#4 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
6.9 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Capital Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Capital Gate

Property: Hyatt Capital Gate
Address: 1 Street | P.O. Box 95165, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Capital Gate 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is a premium business hotel located in the iconic Capital Gate building, which leans a record-breaking 18 degrees. The hotel is also a part of the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), the largest conference and exhibition venue in the Middle East.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi offers 189 luxury five-star guestrooms and suites occupying the18th to 33rd floors of the Capital Gate building. It has a contemporary and luxurious design with panoramic views from floor-to-ceiling windows.Bringing a new focus to style and design in the city, the hotel invites guests to experience several dining options from the variety of Mediterranean flavours at the hotel’s signature restaurant, 18˚. For something more intimate, there is the residential-style Lounge located on the 18th Floor.Rayana Spa, Abu Dhabi’s only “sky spa”, is perched on the 19th floor overlooking the city. The Spa offers “a refreshingly elevated oasis experience” that complements the Fitness Centre, suspended outdoor pool and whirlpool.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is strategically located within walking distance of the UAE capital’s embassy and government district. It is less than ten minutes’ drive from the UAE Armed Forces General Headquarters (GHQ) and the twofour54 media zone. The international airport is a 15-minute limousine or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Capital Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing