We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is the hurry?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest - CLOSED

Quest
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: When you reach Level 63 of Jumeirah at Etihad Towers, you will find your culinary expectations have also risen. Happily, the most creative cuisine in Abu Dhabi reaches culinary heights that most restaurants can only aspire to. Quest restaurant offers an imaginative interpretation of modern fine dining, blending and recreating flavours from Japan, Malaysia, Singapore and China. You will discern Chef Benjamin Whatt's creativity and exacting standards in every mouthful.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What is the hurry?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our last evening in Abu Dhabi we thought we would save the best 'til last, although we did question this?

Everything started off okay, although our table was by the noisy kitchen so we moved to a quieter area, which was better, then the waiter greeted us saying he will take care of us for the evening and asked if we would like any water, we said yes then he gives us details of all the different types of water and 1 was the best water you can ever have? We just wanted a bottle of still water?

Then a large trunk is shown to you with several different champagnes, and standing prominent is a bottle of Dom Perignon so we knew this experience was going to be a very expensive one, however we requested a glass each of pink champagne and shown verve clicquot which was lovely!

Whilst drinking our champagne and taking in the view and surroundings we were given nuts, popcorn and bread, and some palette cleanser, then our order was taken.

Before we could finish our champagne and nibbles the starter came, which was literally 5 mins after our order was taken, we felt as though we were being rushed and our wine order had even been delivered to our table!

We had to request some time as we wanted to finish our champagne and nibbles, I hadnt even had my palette cleanser as I wanted to have this before I started to eat but they were ready to take this away, so soon after it was given?

Our starter was lovely when we were ready, then the waiter did politely ask if we would like some time between our next course, so I think they understood, we don't like to rush, we requested 15/20 mins, which was granted.

Mains were good although they do like their sauces to be almost treacle like so our food tasted lovely but looked very dark in colour I had seafood, and my wife had tenderloin.

We did order desert and had the chocolate tasting which had some great textures and was fun to eat, then we were presented with a lovely chocolate cake and chocolates, which we took away with us.

Overall we did have a lovely albeit expensive evening, but we have had better dining experiences , would we go again, probably not, as there are too many other good restaurants out there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Quest, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on your dinner in Quest. We do apologize for the service sequence not being to your liking, we surely did not want you to feel rushed through your meal. We appreciate that you still rated your experience as very good.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    30
    20
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All style, no substance and food poisoning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went for a special dinner and ordered their tasting menu. The food was very original but not always good. We had eggplant served with ash and charcoal: just weird and not very tasty. The portions were fine but that's okay for a tasting menu.

It was also excessively expensive, 1700DHS all in, which would have been fine if the food had been good.

As a final blow, my wife got food poisoning and was up the whole night vomiting; it didn't make for a great evening.

The service is fantastic, the setting beautiful but I'm afraid it just wasn't a great restaurant, not even a good one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Quest, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at Quest. Please accept our apologies and we are truly saddened that your experience did not meet your expectations. We have conducted an in-depth investigation upon your case and we would want to clarify that there is no actual charcoal or ash in the dish that you have eaten. In fact, the dish is made out of sweet potatoes, parsnips, grissini, eggplant puree and chili bean sauce. The charcoal and ash effect is given by using black vegetable dye combined with cooking techniques that make it seem like real ash and charcoal. Additionally, we would like to highlight that we are using only the highest quality ingredients and we strictly undergo and adhere to local and international food control policies. It is highly unfortunate that your wife fell ill after the dinner. A member of the food and beverage management team will be in touch shortly.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Extraordinary food, service and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

For those who enjoy fine dining, this is a must visit in Abu Dhabi. Located high up in one of the Capital's finest hotels this restaurant does not disappoint. The views over the city are something which neither myself or my guest, a resident of Abu Dhabi, have seen before. Experiencing the scale of the city and its developments is breathtaking.

The service is both professional and knowledgeable. This is particularly helpful given the extensive and diverse menu. For those who enjoy champagne before their meal there are a number of vintages on ice, and on wheels, which are moved to the table for the guest to choose the perfect glass. The food is exquisite and a surprise both in terms of the variety and in terms of the extraordinary flavours. We had the Oysters from France which were fresh and delicious and accompanied by a number of sauces which one wouldn't ordinarily expect to have with seafood. We were also treated to a selection of special dishes before the meal including rice paper which tasted exactly like a California roll-amazing. We tried the foie gras which came in a fascinating book shape on which one could write messages before devouring the delicious duck liver with a fresh brioche The main course was just as interesting with my guest having the Wagyu beef and I having the seafood.

For those who want extra privacy the restaurant offers private rooms for 2, 4 or 6 people overlooking the majesty of the Capital and its islands.

This is definitely a must visit when in Abu Dhabi and get in quickly because, as word gets out, this will be a restaurant which will be impossible to get reservations.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Quest, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your compliments! We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your experience at Quest and are happy to know that you liked our special “California Maki” and “Foie Gras Notebook”. The entire team is looking forward to surprising you again on your next visit!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It is easily the best restaurant in Abu Dhabi.
The food was delicious, the service was great, and the scene was breath-taking.
I would recommend Quest for a romantic night out, or for special occasions.
We ordered from the restaurant's specialty Wok menu, and were not disappointed.
I made a note, when reserving through their website, that it was my wife's birthday, and they made sure to make it a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Quest, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for these compliments and your recommendation! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Quest and that we added to your wife’s birthday celebration. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I got the Adresse of the quest through Tripadvisor
We liked our meal very much. and it is an experience who takes you for about 3 hours if you take the menu.

The first impression was allread very good as the staff welcomes you as soon you get out from the lift wis your last Name.
The Service is very good, the Food as well. The all experience is made very personnal from the staff.
Not cheap but perfect if you want to do something Special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRJumeirah, Guest Relations at Quest, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for these compliments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Quest. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quest also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing