We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you take out some men”
Review of Le Boulanger Cafe

Le Boulanger Cafe
Ranked #444 of 2,055 Restaurants in Abu Dhabi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice if you take out some men”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I enjoyed my Alrgyle, they call it Shisha. Food was very American but tasted ok. Even though I was covered there were some men who were just staring me down, creepy looks put me off my experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    59
    28
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Terrible service, excellent views”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located near the Marina mall, on the edge of the water. Large outdoor seating area, overlooking the city. Amazing views in the evenings, views across corniche, beautiful when all the buildings are lit up. Only negative is the staff and the food. Upon arrival, a member of staff was slouched over the welcome desk, upon enquiring if they had space, responded with a grunt and directed to the seating area with a flick of the head. Did not bother standing up from slumping over the desk. That pretty much summed up what to expect from the place. Food arrived over an hour after I had placed my ordered, with my starters arriving after my mains. Terrible food, tasteless and cold. Dated seating, with a missmatch of random garden seating. Restaurant is only busy due to the excellent views and decent shisha.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Na33mB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service.... Nice view.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We are sitting here right now and I could not wait to get home to write this.
We are here for some lunch and to watch the red bull air race. We sat out side which is such a nice big out door area with a great view of the water.....BUT the service is terrible, i waited 1hr for a drink and if you want the attention of the poorly trained wait staff you may as well just talk to a rock because that's about what you are doing. The food is average, the toilets are disgusting, the prices are quite reasonable and the view is great. The waiters don't know what is included in any menu items, other staff delivering food don't know what manners are my chair got knocked repeatedly when they walked past with no apology and basically just throw the food at you. The shisha men look grubby and are smelly they like to clear the ash and blow it all over the place with no regard to the food next to them.
All in all if the air race wasn't on and you wanted somewhere to go and eat lunch DON'T go here. The 1 circle is because i had too and maybe for the view.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Fantastic setting - it would be amazing if someone with vision or knowledge could take over this site and make it a drawcard. As it was, the decor is so tired, everything looks dirty, high chairs are barely holding together and look like a death trap. This wasn't enough to turn us away but, after arriving at 12.50pm, we were given menus and told the waitress would return in 10 minutes. We assumed this was a mistranslation but, after 5 minutes, no one appeared and we called another waitress over to ask to order some water. She advised that she could take our order in 15 minutes. So 25 minutes before you can order a water in a restaurant that had as many staff as customers. We left. What a total waste of time and missed opportunity for Abu Dhabi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dotress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Shisha Haven”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A good place to hang out with good bunch of friends. Great view of the Corniche (especially at night). Good shisha experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Boulanger Cafe also viewed

Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Le Boulanger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing