We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be Excellent, but needs better staff management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Could be Excellent, but needs better staff management”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were delivering a training event at the hotel. Plus points - wonderful sea view rooms with a view to dine for (sorry, couldn't resist that, but the view does make a room service meal into a very special occasion. Generally good service from individual staff members, who are friendly, polite and helpful.
Negatives - many gaps in the supervision and training of staff. No co-ordinator for our event, even though plenty of staff for catering, technical and security, a single point of contact and introduction is a must for new visitors delivering events. Odd gaps in service - I left a blown lamp bulb on my desk and it stayed there for 3 days without the original being replaced. Staff aren't always familiar with menus or the names of foods and beverages. The hotel information site shows different opening times for restaurants than the reality (Toscana is open from 7pm for dinner, not 5pm). Not many signs, so wandering around is required to find out where restaurants and bars are. Nevertheless, these are easily remedied and I hope this new hotel improves to achieve its potential to be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room - they are all on high floors and have staggering views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    204
    66
    23
    23
See reviews for
302
522
76
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A fantastic location, beautiful hotel, attentive and very polite staff. What can I complain about..........nothing !!
Only one year old and looks fantastic. Plenty of marble, stone and classic materials you'd expect to see in a five star hotel. The rooms (we were on the 34th floor) were well equipped with large screen TV in bedroom and small screen in bathroom. All very clean and well presented after the daily maid service. Nation Riviera which is the beach club is opposite the hotel on the beach and reached by an underground marble subway. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher up the hotel, the better the rooms, the more you pay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Service and food were excellent. Prices a little on the high side but I expect that going to this part of the world.
The Butler service was especially good, nothing is too much trouble for the team, 24 hrs a day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as an anniversary treat. Room was amazing, on the 42nd floor with an incredible view of Marina Mall, Lulu Island and the Corniche. Was stunning. Room is very nice, huge bed, great bathroom which must be the biggest one I have seen in Abu Dhabi. Staff are great, although service was patchy in the resort pool area. Lots of staff about but each with their own roles and asking for anything would invariably not be their job but they would go and fetch someone. Special mention for the lad coming round cleaning sunglasses! The cold towels were a nice touch as well.

Ate at Rhodes44 which was deserted at 7:45pm on a Thursday night. Not a good sign! A few tables were eventually taken but I am not a big fan of empty restaurants. There was live music though which was very nice. Food was so-so,very expensive for what it was and my meal was cold when served. The St Regis bar is lovely, a great jazz pianist was singing, the drinks were 50% off and the place is full of overstuffed armchairs and is made to look like a classic country house library. A great place to have a few drinks.

Breakfast in the morning was at the same place and was very nice, especially as it was included in my room rate. However, again service was a bit of a let down. No toast offered, and some of the dishes were empty and I had to wait for them to be refilled.

Overall tough we had a fantastic stay and will definitely be visiting again. We mentioned on check-in it was our anniversary and when we returned to the room at night there was a lovely tray with chocolates, strawberries and a bottle of sparkling (date juice but its the thought that counts!).

So highly recommended and cant wait to go back but may eat out somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fossildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis M, General Manager at The St. Regis Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear fossildog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our hotel and your stay. I regret to hear that you did not experience the St. Regis service we pride ourselves on throughout your entire stay, however I was pleased to read that your overall experience was enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back, please let my office know if you intend to return so that we can ensure your next experience with us is perfect.

Sincerely,

Oliver Key
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel staff was very helpful. Used limo service throughout my stay and must compliment the drivers that was with me. He was professional and great in every aspect. Not easy when being a part of a diplomatic/ government visit. He did it very very well. Hotel butler was good too. Commendable services throughout. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsEzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis M, General Manager at The St. Regis Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ezryyyy

I am glad to hear that your experience with us was an enjoyable one and that our staff were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Oliver key
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was travelling from UK to Shanghai and, rather than fly the whole lot in one go, decided to stop over for a night in Abu Dhabi. Found the hotel on offer at a well known hotel agency web site. Just wished I had booked more than 1 night. Hotel is absolutely superb in all respects (though I didn't eat there or try the gym facilities) with only niggle being the length of time it takes to check in but that is pretty common in the UAE.

Fantastic location on the Corniche approx 500m from Emirates Palace.

Next visit to Abu Dhabi, there will be a short list of 1 hotel to choose from !

Great views from rooms at the moment but there is a fair amount of building work going on in the immediate surrounding area so who knows what it will be like in 2 years time.

Room Tip: All views have good views but best are those looking over the Corniche.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

One of the best choice in Abu Dhabi, right on the corniche, with direct access to the beach, not old as Hilton, not "fetish" as Emirates.. St regis is the perfect combination, excellent service, a very professional staff with a very good Spa (Remede Spa). Two gyms one in the hotel, the second at nation riviera beach and pool. Two pools, one close to the beach both with extremely kinf and professional staff... When Asia de Cuba and Catch ll be ready think this ll be defineteLy the place to be in A D. It is close to the most important hotels and restaurants, minutes within emirates and jumeirah... Rooms start from 33th floor with a wonderful sight!
Breakfast is very good served at the ground floor restaurant.
Need to test the casual beach bar in the evening with snacks and drinks close to the sea..

Room Tip: Rooms closer to lifts are less quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cippy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,184 reviews
8.0 mi away
The St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
8.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Abu Dhabi Hotel & Villas
10.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Abu Dhabi

Property: The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
Address: Nation Towers 5 St, Abu Dhabi 60476, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi provides unsurpassed access to a wealth of experiences. Each of the guestrooms enjoy magnificent waterfront views of the Arabian Gulf and a bespoke experience provided by the St Regis Butlers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing