We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My partner and I stayed during our recent stay in U.A.E. at the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara in Abu Dhabi. We just can say it was amazing! All facilities were great: The rooms are very spacious and the design of the hotel is stunning. A beautiful mix of Arabic touches and modern shapes, colors and materials. Also the food that the Eastern Mangroves offers, is superb. At the Pachaylen they provide very authentic and tasty Thai food. We enjoyed especially the seafood! Our favorite thou was the grand brunch-buffet! What a fantastic and delicious selection of excellent food. One of the best we ever had - "chapeau"! But no hotel is good without its staff. At this point we want to thank again the German reception manager, who was very helpful and extended with his professional approach a very welcoming atmosphere at the reception. He and his staff brought our beautiful stay to a completely round figure. Thank you very much, we will come back - for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 256TRAVEL_BUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. I am very pleased you have enjoyed your culinary experience with us, and very delighted to know that we have contributed in making your stay splendid. On behalf of all the team, we all look forward to welcoming soon back again.

With kind regards,

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    253
    66
    25
    23
See reviews for
333
484
67
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Ive just returned from a weekend getaway to this fantastic hotel. I can honestly say that this was one of the nicest hotel stays I have had in a long time -here in the UAE. Fantastic front desk staff, excellent guest relations team members and the restaurant team are really attentive. the food in the hotel is some of the best presented and tastiest I have seen on a buffet ( breakfast and brunch). the A la Carte offerings are well thought out and interesting. This hotel is situated among the rest of the development that is not quite finished yet - but it does not detract from the experience at all, a lovely pool area ( maybe a little small for a Spa type hotel) , the spa area is well thought our-the Hamam was unfortunately not working during our stay but that didn't take anything away from the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

I like to thank you for sharing your great experience you have had during your recent stay at the Eastern Mangroves Hote & Spa. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another getaway in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Staying at Eastern Mangroves Anantara in Abu Dhabi, made our visit to the UAE - unforgettable. We enjoyed our stay so much, that we extended it with one more additional day, even though we had a new hotel reservation in Dubai!

First and foremost our special greetings and thanks to magnificant staff members of the hotel: Yasmine and her colleagues Jawad and Karim, who helped to make this stay the most most pleasent, comfortable, relaxing and rich in expiriences ever ( desert safari was a superb suggestion!).Thanks also to Hayat, who smoothly orginized the ditails of our program.
Everybody was so informative and caring.
You all deliver an exeptional level of professionalism and efficiency in very discrit way - which is the very base of a succesfull way of running a hotel.
We couldn't be more pleased.

We have got this amazingly big and beautifull suite, with balconys facing the mangrove. With its own huge terrasse and very own dipping pool!!!
The feeling of waking up in the morning and seeing the fog over the creek as well as hearing the noises/singing made by different kind of birds - is just undescribable. Staying in this oasis of serenity and peace so close to the bare nature and at the same time seeing the rest of the modern Abu Dhabis in the far skyline, is a spectacular combination.

The rooms and hotels decor as well as the interioer are tastfully balanced according to the hotels concept, and it gives it the perfect calm energy and atmosphere. Just as a spa resort should have.

We have tried both restaurants at the hotel and they were fenomenal. The Ingredience offered on of the most amazing buffet dinner concepts we have ever expirienced. All the major couisines of the wolrd were represented..Not mantioning the dessert selection !!!!
Fantastic breakfast. Beautifull food quality.

We also enjoyed 3 hours of amazing Royal Spa. Most relaxing expirience ever - well balanced, comfortabele and professional. Eastern Mangroves has Abu Dhabis first hamam - which was absolutly beautiful - and a must to expirience.

We travel a lot and pay great attention to the details. Eastern Mangrove Anantarna and its staff - who make it all possible - deserve all the superlatives they can get. This is an amazing spot in the vibrant and hype city of Abu Dhabi which we are recomending to everybody we are talking to about our most recent trip.

Thank you all again and hopefully see you very soon:-)

Room Tip: We recomend to choose a room overlooking the mangroves. A room on a higher floor will give you an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and have had a relaxing experience. On behalf of the team, I like to thank you for your detailed and very positive review and we are all looking forward to welcome you back soon to Abu Dhabi.

Have a great start into 2013!

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ndarwiche@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

After an unsatisfactory experience at Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara over Christmas, my friend and I returned to Abu Dhabi where I live. She lives in London and is a great traveller, specializing in Thailand and other places where Anantara is well known for outstanding top class resorts. So I drove to the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara to show her what a real Anantara Hotel in the UAE looks like. From the first glance at the pool and the well organized areas around it - one for sunbathers, the other with grass/Astroturf and tables and comfortable chairs. We sat down, had some drinks, and then a light lunch. There was shade and sun for each according to her desires, a generally civilized atmosphere, people in street clothes lunching or having coffee while on the other side of the pool the swimmers and sunbathers enjoyed themselves.

We ended up spending New Year's Eve at Eastern Mangroves with four of our friends, and everything was excellent from the widely varied buffet to the flowing wines and champagne for the midnight hour.

The next day we each had the Anantara Signature Massage for 90 minutes of sheer muscle workout and pampering. My friend has left but I'll be back next month for another Signature Massage.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your poitive feedback with us. We are delighted to read you have had enjoyed your time at the Eastern Mangroves and were able to celebrate NYE with your friends in our property.

I have to admit a relaxing Spa Treament is truly the right choice to start 2013 with.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in February.

Kind regards,

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We just came back from a one week holiday at the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa in Abu Dhabi. The hotel is a wonderful oasis of peace and friendliness and we can recommend it warmly.
The rooms - choose a Kasara Mangroves room, they're great! - are spacious and comfortable. The food at the hotel restaurants is fantastic. The breakfast and dinner buffet are none of the ordinary, odd buffets, but very tasty and versatile with a lot of freshly prepared dishes.
The best feature of the hotel is its friendly staff. From the helpful members of the concierge desk - Karim, Shetty and Frederick in particular - to the warmhearted reception ladies to the restaurant crew of Chef Hussain, all employees made our stay special and we really felt well received and enjoyed our stay very much. Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: Take the Kasara Mangrove room: it does not only give you a great view of the mangroves and is quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank principality7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I will ensure to share your positive comments with the team. Please visit again soon and have a great start into 2013!

Kind regards,

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

i stayed there in new year, i like it very much, big rooms, superb view on the mangroves, everybody was exceptionel, from reception to the spa, without forgetting the lovely breakfast, concierge team was the best, karim very welcoming and helpful,
thank you eastern mangroves, thank you Anantara.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to the mangroves
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jounieh511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

I am very pleased to know that you have chosen the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa as a destination for your NYE and have had a lovely experience. Best personal regards back from Karim and Happy 2013 Wishes!

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Even though I only stayed for a weekend, it was a great experience. The staff are so helpful and knowledgable, the spa is one of the best I have ever been to and the beautiful view of the mangroves is very calming and relaxing. The kayaking trips are a fabulous experience too.
I would like to recommend Dimitra, the Greek chef at the pool restaurant, who managed to whip up a meal for my friend who is gluten-intolerant and even served it to her personally.
We were wowed by quite a few people, unfortunately I can't remember all the names.. There was one Filipina lady in Guest Relations as well who was extremely witty, funny and just generally lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinaVasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehme D, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us.
It is with great delight I read through your review and will share with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes for 2013!

Kind regards,

Nehme Darwiche
Hotel Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
ndarwiche@anantara.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#5 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#23 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#3 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Property: Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Address: Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa By Anantara Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing