We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers(Abu Dhabi)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Jumeirah.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$531
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Rotana(Abu Dhabi)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
1,099
307
81
26
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,099
307
81
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantkasara loungebalcony roominfinity poolrooftop barbeautiful hotelcity viewcold towelsrelaxing staypool staffpool sidelate checkyas islandgrand mosquewaitrosedatesbrunch
Filter
Updating list...
1,143 - 1,148 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a beautiful hotel - but oh so quiet. Situated on Abu Dhabi island just after the Shk Zayed Bridge, the Eastern Mangroves is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend break. We never left the hotel - except to go the pool!!
The Infinity pool is fantastic, the pool deck large and the sunbeds the most comfortable I have had the pleasure of lazing on!!! The rooms are large & comfortable and thoroughly modern - LED HD TV with full subscription channel service
One criticism is the service of F&B at the pool - the hotel was quiet but the service was poor - once this is rectified I would happily give it a 10/10 rating.
Our first visit to Eastern Mangroves - won't be the last..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martindxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We checked in at the hotel to find that despite assurances by email confirming 2 interconnecting rooms, that they couldn't fulfill this promise. They did offer us a suite which was lovely but meant that our 2 children had to sleep on z beds. Not ideal but we didn't have a better solution and it did mean that we had a plunge pool on our balcony which was lovely.

We found the service in the restaurant and pool areas was quite poor. The first night we ordered wine which hadn't arrived by the time we had finished starters, main course and dessert!! It was made worse by the fact that the hotel manager and what we thought was the area manager were receiving service on a table next to us - about 4 staff to their table and we were left to struggle with inadequate service! Note to the manager - worry less about yourself and more about your guests!!

That being said, the food in the restaurant for a buffet was amazing. We were blown away by the choice and variety.

Would definitely return to this hotel if the price was right - we got a good deal as it is newly opened. Really hope they address the issues as it is such a shame for this hotel to be let down by some issues that are so easily resolved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bitterlemonjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear bitterlemonjuice

Your feedback on your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa has been noted and I like to thank you for making time to share the experience.
My apologies for the unavailability of connecting rooms but thank you for highlighting that you have enjoyed the dip in the plunge pool that is a feature of all our suites. I am equally concerned about your comments on the F&B service and this has been addressed.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Abu Dhabi soon.
Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I know I am writing this a bit late I Had checked in at Nov of 2012, but just been to the shangrila on may 21st, and have to tell you the difference between the hotels, uptill now I Though most hotels in abudhabi are bad, but shangrila raised the standards and have to share you dont have to put up with horrible service in abudhabi with competition
Where do i start, check in person does not speak engish, the bar on the top does not give service after me and my wife wait for 30 mins, the downstaris sheesha restaurant takes 40 minutes to serve sheesha, and has already served 3 other people after we came, food was horrible, took a cab to a 30 yr old hotel ,the sheraton and what a difference it was, what a waste of my birthday gift by coming to the anatara, if there was any plus, the massage at the spa was semi decent, thats about it.

Room Tip: Go to shangrila in abudhabi much much better hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohitdavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear Rohitdavinci

I am very sorry to note that you did not have a good stay back in November last year. I invite you to contact me to see if on your next visit to Abu Dhabi you may consider Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa again. It has been a while since your first visit and you may find your experience has been an isolated one.

Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
mklein@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Excellent hotel, attentive staff, flawless interior designs. From the moment i walked into this hotel for a business meeting during April, i just continued to smile till i left!

The hotel is small and cozy. The pool is just excellent, and to top it off, the buffet food was actually good (which is very rare in hotels normally).

Highly recommended for business meetings/short weekend breaks.

Well done Anantra group and please keep those standards up!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N-E-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Dear N-E-86

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa. Especially your highlight that our 222 room hotel is well suited for business travelers.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
mklein@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We choses to stay at The Eastern Mangroves as opposed to the city centre as we found whne we visited Dubai a couple of years ago that like all major cities it doesnt sleep and we wanted a bit of chill time. We could not have chosen better. The location was only about 10 mins by taxi from the main area of Abu Dhabi and the taxis are so cheap it really did not matter how many taxi trips you took. We found that on average a 10 min journey cost about £3.

The hotel is only a couple of years old so everything still has the new look about it. Our room on the 3rd floor looked out over the mangroves and the pool area. It was spacious, very clean and had a good sized balcony to have a nice sit and glass of wine.

The one problem with the room was the shower. You could not get the correct temperature no matter how long you let it run. You could be under a red hot flow one second and freezing cold the next.

We were only B&B and found the buffet breakfasts to be very good and filling. We only ate in on one night and were going to have just one course on the main menu but the waitress suggested that the price of this one course would be more than the all you can eat buffet. Wrongly we chose the buffet which was not very good. The meat dishes were cooked to death and a veg dish was very bland. There is an in house Thai restaurant which we noticed too late but the menu sounded very good.

Staff were very polite and courteous as are all the locals.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Mangroves view. It is very peaceful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews