We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloft Abu Dhabi(Abu Dhabi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
1,080
303
80
26
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,080
303
80
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantkasara loungebalcony roominfinity poolrooftop barbeautiful hotelcity viewcold towelsrelaxing staypool staffpool sidelate checkyas islandgrand mosquewaitrosedatesbrunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,083 - 1,088 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Eastern Mangroves is quite unlike some of the flashier hotels that have appeared so quickly in the Gulf. It is really a large boutique hotel designed for a specific audience. There are minimal facilities for children and those looking for a buzz or an Irish bar, for example, will be disappointed. The hotel is for relaxation - not show.

Whilst is does not have a beach, the pool area overlooks a stretch of water with the mangroves beyond which is very calming. The hotel is not actually near any regular business or tourist location but most can be reached within a few minutes by taxi. The guests seem to compromise a mix of up-market leisure guests as well as business visitors looking for somewhere a bit quieter than the standard luxury hotels in the business district.

I stayed there last autumn and was impressed enough to return this year. It was pleasing to see a slight change: last year, the staff were anxious to help whenever they could but sometimes got things a little wrong but now they anticipate what you want and get it right most of the time.

The most obvious improvement is in the breakfast service which did have problems on opening but is now much better-managed. Most of the staff were really on the ball but Suzanne and Mark stood out though everyone wanted to help when asked.

The pool service last year was very good and it is pleasing that both the bar staff and the pool boys are just as good now.

One of the managers, Amer Rashid Faidi, whom we had met last year, went to great lengths to ensure everything was done for us. The Kasara service was, as you might expect, excellent but Chanar, one of the butlers really worked hard to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel has now definitely come of age and, if you are part of its target market, can be wholeheartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear LondonIsis

I would like to thank you for your kind review. Especially reading that our hard work on improving our services has not gone unnoticed is pleasing and rewarding. You mentioned quite a number of outsanding employees and I am proud to have these associates as part of our team. We are happy that our people make the difference as this is what Anantara is all about.

I look forwrad to welcome you back again soon at the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa or any other Anantara property.

Best wishes from Abu Dhabi!

Moritz Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for 10 days. We are from UK and we are both well travelled. We always stay in 5 star accommodation. We were very impressed with this hotel. It is one the of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were well taken care of. Also this is the only hotel we have stayed in where the staff give you the choice of changing bed sheets and towels twice a day. The coffee machine in the room was amazing. Also we were very happy with the great choice of gourmet food available for breakfast. We were spoilt for choice. The food was very nice. The swimming pool was also really good. The staff were always happy to help and provided a good service with a smile. We would like to highlight that Denis Krupp (assistant front office manager) always went out of his way to help and assist in making our stay as wonderful as possible. His knowledge of Abu Dhabi was very beneficial for us.

Room Tip: The Mangroves view is breath taking
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rita_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear rita_simon,

Thank you for your beautiful review and especially for mentioning the service of Denis Krupp. He will be as thrilled as I am reading your review and hope that you will be returning to the Eastern Mangroves Hotel and Spa upon your return to Abu Dhabi or choose any Anantara property wherever your travels will bring you.

In the meantime best regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a one night stay at this fantastic hotel with family and friends. Upon arrival the reception staff were more than helpful and offered us fruit juice whilst they checked us in. We arrived Friday morning for the lunchtime brunch and our rooms were immediately available.
The brunch had a great selection of food to choose from and was good quality. The only negative was that the restaurant staff were a little slow in offering us drinks but once we were served they became more attentive.
The pool area was very clean and again service was very good. Pool attendants were more than happy to help.
We ordered room service for the children in the evening and again the food was fantastic and arrived quickly.
Rooms very very clean and was lovely to have a turn down service with the added leaf on the pillow stating goodnight.
Not sure I liked the step from the balcony back into the room, trip hazard.
Breakfast the following morning was a good standard and staff more than happy to help.
Reception agreed we could have a later check out time so we could make use of the pool facilities for the day before heading back to our friends house to stay for the Rest of our visit in Abu Dhabi.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again in the future and would recommend to others because it certainly had luxurious and relaxing feel.






Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank MAUI1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear MAUI1407

Thank you for making time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are happy to know that you have had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our facilities and service.

I hope that it will not be too long before you return.
With kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As in most Gulf 5* hotels, fantastic infrastructure, lovely rooms and nice common areas. A little out on its own, but nothing is too far in Abu Dhabi. Was there on business, so didn't get to enjoy the pool, but the executive lounge was great and the service, as you would expect, was superb.

The only thing missing was a bit of atmosphere...but this might come as the hotel grows into it's own skin. Overall - a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank milesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moritz K, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear milesw

Thank you for your kind review about the Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara. We are all delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards

Moritz Klein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was probably the most comfortable room I have had in a hotel. It was spacious, very clean and had everything you could need, down to an ironing board, cotton buds etc.

The bed was brilliant, with a memory foam mattress and lovely soft pillows. The swimming pool and area around it was fine.

We were full board and the restaurant had a wide range of food to choose from. The staff were generally very attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emgeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews