We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little too quiet”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We visited this property for a weekend getaway in the first week of Ramadan. Overall, it is a very serene property, overlooking the Mangroves in Abu dhabi. The staff is polite, and courteous. Unfortunately, as our visit coincided with Ramadan, the occupancy was extremely low, making it almost too quiet. With the FIFA world cup on, we expected a lot more buzz at the bar. I'm guessing the hotel does not advertise enough / keep enough offers to attract a decent crowd. The pool deck was mostly empty in the evening. Again, I believe this was more so because of Ramadan. However, it would be recommended if the hotel would have some deals for to attract crowds during lull periods to make the ambience more lively.
We visited the Thai restaurant downstairs for dinner, however, the vegetarian options were minimal, and we had to leave, and visit one of the promenade restaurants nearby.

The swimming pool is gorgeous though, and the lifeguard on duty is pleasant.

Also, the room service was fantastic, as they made our rooms when we stepped out in the evening without us asking.

Visit if you prefer a quiet getaway, close to the city, yet away from it.

Room Tip: Choose the mangroves view, only because you do not want to stare at the city. The weather was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Anjana A,

Thank you for choosing Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We welcome the opportunity to learn from your experience and improve our service.

We are glad to hear that most aspects of your stay were pleasant and that you were satisfied with the accommodation and service except that the hotel was too quiet at the time of your visit.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    270
    68
    24
    25
See reviews for
354
518
71
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel.the staff are very welcoming and very helpful . When you see the place from the outside you wouldn't give this hotel any justice as it is near a high way, however once you come off the high way you will immediately feel the luxury. Once you step in you feel you are in a different world . The atmosphere is amazing , calm , relaxing and welcoming . When you get to the room you will think you have booked a suite . The rooms are very spacious .
The hotel is about 10 minutes away in a car ride from the Corniche and city centre so if you are there for business I think this is a plus as once you are finished with days work you can retreat to a calm relaxing place .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayseer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Tayseer m,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and it was a real pleasure to welcome you and your family on property. Thank you very much also for your great review.

As an Anantara hotel, it is our brand promise to ensure that our guests be introduced to local custom and cultures, also experience the best of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Rest assured that we will do our best to make your next stay at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara as memorable as the last one.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We escaped a weekend to Eastern Mangroves and it was just wonderful.
Check in was efficient and though we arrived one hour prior to the regular check in time, rooms were readily available. The bellboys were so fast delivering the luggage that it was already nicely placed in the room when we entered.
The rooms are just stunning, very very spacious and very very clean. We had asked for a babycot upon reservation which was readily available as well. Usually we are little bit picky when it comes to baby cots in hotels (as they might not be the cleanest) but even the cot was in immaculate condition.
We loved the pool area with a nice adult pool, but as well the two small kids pools that are awesomely located little away from the adult pool with sun loungers around. Superb to place our little 2 year old in the pool splashing away and we relaxing on the lounge always being able to have a perfect close eye on her! Awesome! Pool bar food and drinks were very good and the pool bar boys were very nice trying to fulfill all our requests as soon as possible!
The first evening we visited the buffet restaurant and food was stunning! The restaurant manager was very attentive and went out of his way! The buffet is great, all you can wish for, tempura, sushi, dumplings, sate, salad buffet, pasta fresh as per your order, just to name a few.
One thing to add, pricing of the food and drinks is very decent as well for a property as such.
We had an absolute great stay would definitely recommend this property any time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicoletta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear nicoletta82,

It gives me great pleasure to learn that we have again succeeded in leaving you with delightful memories of Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara. We sincerely thank you for your patronage and for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and we are thankful for recommending us as your preferred hotel in Abu Dhabi, UAE. Also, your appreciation of our friendly and efficient staff, the pool, the room and the overall services is very encouraging.

In the meantime, assuring you of our continued care and attention at all time and looking forward to welcoming you back to hotel and making each and every stay of yours a memorable one.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

After a few problems on check in the staff certainly put everything right. We stayed for the big brunch weekend, food was fantastic could not fault it. Usually find buffet style a bit limp and dry but this was so fresh !! Complements to the chefs and service !! Pool area so relaxing just what we needed . Will be back for sure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jillr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear jillr36,

We thank you for your lovely review and for having chosen to spend one of your weekends at Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you with our best services and hospitality. In addition, it was so kind of you to recognize the efficiency of our dedicated associates in handling the difficulties you encountered on arrival. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you.

I thank you again for your support and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just back from a first class weekend break. We booked bed and breakfast. Rooms very spacious. High standard of food and plenty of choice. Only draw back to our weekend was our last meal at Boa. After checking with staff about children being allowed and a high chair we booked a table. We arrived to find they do not have a high chair. Our friends and baby daughter had to go back to the hotel to eat. Wished we had gone with them - none of us rated our meal and my husband had his fish choice refunded. After 6 weeks of opening teething troubles should have been sorted and as for the price - very expensive with small portions.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 510Kate_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear 510Kate_,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit.

I was very pleased to learn how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the accommodation and service received.

With regards to your feedback on your dining experience, the mentioned restaurant is not managed by us and we unfortunately have no control over their services. However, we will still bring this feedback to their attention. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you.

We all look forward to the prospect of welcoming you back to our resort in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived on 12 June 2014 for 3 nights with husband for the first leg of our honeymoon. Landed at Abu Dhabi Intl Airport and was greeted by a driver from Arabian Adventures who then proceeded to take us to hotel. Slight delay at airport as there was another couple travelling to what we thought was the same resort. However the couple were delayed and after a 10 minute wait, the driver finally decided to allow us to travel alone and head to the hotel without the delayed couple (this could've been resolved quicker by the driver immediately taking us to hotel without attempting to wait for the couple who it turns out weren't even staying in our hotel anyway).

Arrived at Eastern Mangroves and was greeted with saffron tea and dates. After a few minutes, a friendly assistant checked us in. We explained it was our honeymoon and she kindly offered us a mangroves facing deluxe balcony room. The room was gorgeous - much nicer than the website - large comfy king sized bed, beautiful marble bathroom with stand alone bath tub, wet room and separate toilet. Speakers in bathroom allow TV audio to be played in bathroom (no iPod speakers in bathroom), however there are iPod speakers in the bedroom. TV had good channels (sports, E! Entertainment, movies) and balcony was spacious - enough room for us to comfortably eat outside most lunchtimes.

Concierge service was fantastic - special thanks to Nabil for arranging our transfer back to the airport and special thanks to the other assistant for booking our Desert Safari tour (which I highly recommend).

Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. No request was too great and they spoke perfect English. Gym was also top quality - complimentary water, nuts and protein snacks available. Protein shakes available at a small price (26 AED).

Price of food was reasonable (approx 50 AED for lunch) but please be reminded that all prices are EXCLUSIVE of what's known as "plus plus" which is plus service charge plus tourism fee. So overall you pay approx 15% more.

Would recommend:
Visit Sheikh Zayed Mosque (free of charge but women must wear the hiqab)
Do Desert Safari (290 AED dinner included)

Would go back again! Thanks to all the Eastern Mangroves staff for making the trip fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyer918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear FrequentFlyers918,

Thank you for this review full of nice compliments for our team. It is so heartwarming to read that you have recognized one of our team members for his excellent service.

We are always happy when someone chooses to stay at our hotel. And we were completely honored when you choose to spend a day as special as your honeymoon with us. Making your honeymoon a memorable one was the least we could do and we were so grateful for allowing Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara to be part of such a very important occasion.

On the other hand, I was saddened to learn about the delay in your airport transfer and regret this occurrence.

We are looking forward to being of service to you once again and assuring you of our best efforts to make your every stay an unforgettable experience.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Checked in yesterday evening. Had a few drinks on the pool deck.pool menu does not suit the location. Ordered in room dining and were severely disappointed.food must be authentic to the region belongs. A pho bo shouldn't have any mint in it. A ghosht biryani should contain some spices. Hope the rest of our stay would be better. Shayan at the front desk is very professional and is an asset!! The chef must invest more time on authenticity of his food

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefgusncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wael S, General Manager at Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Chefgusncha,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on Trip Advisor.

My team and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experience. We have failed to be up to your expectations and your disappointment is not what we aim for. Please be assured that all possible measures are being taken to avoid occurrences in the future.

I hope this incident did not spoil your good impression about Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara and look forward to the privilege of extending to you once again true Anantara hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
4.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#7 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
1,349 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#23 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
2,399 reviews
5.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Abu Dhabi at Al Maryah Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa

Property: Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa
Address: Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa By Anantara Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa by Anantara is ideally positioned along a stretch of Abu Dhabi’s protected Eastern Mangroves District. Only 15 mins away from Abu Dhabi International Airport, 10 minutes from Abu Dhabi National Exhibitions Centre (ADNEC) or a short drive from downtown, the hotel enjoys a naturally stunning setting coupled with an extremely convenient location.Discover a haven of elite amenities that showcases Anantara’s distinctive luxury. Choose from 222 stately rooms and suites, characterised by abundant personal space and decor reflecting the splendour of the region’s desert and mangrove landscapes.A collection of impressive facilities provide definitive urban experiences and set the scene for extraordinary meetings and events. Dine on authentic Thai culinary delights at Pachaylen enhanced by authentic decor. Kick back and relax at Impressions, the stylish rooftop lounge offering million-dollar views and enjoy a showcase of culinary treasures at Ingredients with its masterful chefs on show. Unwind by the infinity edged pool with breathtaking views, while savouring Mediterranean cuisine from The Pool Deck or enjoy the luxury of a decadent afternoon tea at The Mangroves Lounge spread over two floors in the heart of the hotel.Relinquish every last sign of stress at Anantara Spa, where guests experience complete rejuvenation of body and mind and discover the healing powers of a traditional Turkish Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Eastern Mangroves Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing