We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, but good facilities”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Please keep in mind that this is a part of Le Meridien.
You will check in and check out at the reception of Le Meridien.

The rooms are small, and the beds are small. So, if you are two big people, you'd better consider taking two rooms, as you will not be very comfortable in one.
The hotel needs some refurbishment too. Water pressure in the bathroom was poor and not all electric sockets worked.

On the bright side, the price is affordable, and you can use all facilities of Le Meridien. In Le Meridien there is a cozy 'food court' with several restaurants of various cuisines. I liked the hotel's spa. There are tennis courts and a volleyball court. There is a big supermarket just across the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bugaguli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice place, love the beach and pool & garden, great breakfast....near shopping mall, we enjoyed a lot...if you have any question about La Residence, don´t hesitate to write, will reply soon. The room is not the reason for choosing La Residence - the pool and garden is and free parking. It is a part of Le Meridien (La Residence is on the left side from main reception hall).

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking floor, ask for 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

So we booked this hotel on booking.com..199aed for one night...first of all hard to find by taxi or car...then you have to pinch ou nose if you want to survive the disgusting smell and look up if you don't want to admire the ugliness of the carpets...once in front of the door don't try to rush too much as the door opens straight into the bathroom and you can barely enter the place...there is a kitchenette which i don't recommend the fridge is rotten and it looks creepy...the smell again in the room was amazing....the bed is literally enough for one person beware if you are tall or just need some space on the mattress....on booking.com a sofa was advertise but none was there...no towels in the bathroom...

The door is so heavy that we locked ourselves out...so we decided to go to le meridien to complain as I think this hotel is not really appropriate even though you have access to the meridien facilities but at the en of the day I sleep in the room not in the facilities ...
After one hour negotiations we've been changed to le meridien (I stayed previously and it's getting old...) but at least we had proper bed proper bathroom (kettle bit working) we had to pay extra and the men at the reception of meridien kept harassing us to pay it ASAP ...

Other than that the spa is nice steam room pool but the beach you can out a cross on it ...too small and the sand and water feel like you swim in a full of oil sea

I don't recommend the hotel la residence and it's sad that I didn't take pictures of our room

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Feirouz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

La Residence is, as described, a part of , but not attached to the le meridian hotel. (it is just besides the hotel. The check in is in the hotel main building.
+ You can use as a guest all the facilities of the main hotel. the wifi was good/fast. the pool is nice, as is the beach attached to it. the food at the irish bar on premises is typical pub food.
the beds were comfortable. the parking is free. airco, and it had a kitchenette. the staff is quite friendly and polite (props)
- the rooms were quite dated. the bathrooms were a bit tiny.
All and all it was a good experience for 1 night. if you dont mind the roomsize but just want a good bed and a pool, go for it!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff-Vrieling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

La Residence is attached to Le Meridien hotel in the Tourist Club area of Abu Dhabi.

It is 32km from Abu Dhabi International airport and a DH65 / 12GBP taxi ride. If you ask the taxi drivers they will not know where La Residence is so be sure to ask at Le Meridien (there are 2 Meridien's in Abu Dhabi) next to Abu Dhabi Mall. Abu Dhabi Mall is a 5-7 minutes walk away.

Check in is at Le Meridien's main reception and then there is a 2-3 minute walk around the perimeter of the main hotel to reach the rooms / apartments at La Residence.

Standard Rooms are relatively small, but I paid the extra for a suite (cost was DH235/night excl. taxes etc) and was rewarded with a good size room, a very good shower-room (with the best power shower I've had in the Middle East) and a small sitting area. Also the suite overlooked the bay and Le Meridien's small but clean beach area.

The suite was a little tired - a little bit 1970-80s Mediterranean in decor and feel - but very clean and functional.

Air-conditioning was very strong; bedding was comfortable, though the "duvet" was actually a woollen blanket wrapped in an outer cover; the bed was largely comfortable though not possible to sit-up in bed without the bed moving away from the headboard.

A great advantage of staying in La Residence is you get to use all the amenities of Le Meridien which is rightly a 5* hotel but at a fraction of Le Meridien's price. The pools are great and the gym is excellent for a hotel. The beach is very well presented with many sunbeds etc and ladies appeared comfortable in bikinis / swimsuits in and out of the water without being leered at.

The courtyard area of Le Meridien has many and varied restaurants and an English themed pub... with many UK ales which are well cared for.

Internet is only available in public areas of the hotel - and where it is found it is very high speed. Unfortunately this does not extend to the rooms.

My only negative really is the cost of room service which can seem prohibitive - DH111 for breakfast via room service... It was however a very full large tray of food... The full English breakfast would have been enough for 2 with hot plate, pastries, fruit platter, cereal, toast, coffee and fruit juice.

A bottle of Evian mineral water is DH21. So if on a budget walk next door to Abu Dhabi Mall for a breakfast for DH19.

Overall a very positive experience and would have been 5 out of 5 but for the slightly dated rooms - but for Value for Money I don't think you can beat La Residence anywhere else in Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra DH25 to get a suite room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in La residence attatched to Le Meridian hotel (the self catering section) the only two bad points about our 3 night stay was first the room it was smaller than the shed in my garden you couldnt swing a cat literally the room could have been better thought out but was ample for our needs, the second bad point was the key card entry to the frount door we just couldnt work the flaming thing. The best part were the facilities were the best we have had the pools and beach were excellent and the gym sauna and the rest were worth every penny spent they made the trip worth while the place was like a mini village. The staff from reception to grounds staff were all friendly and polite this was lovely and is a credit to the manager who should be proud of the staff. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hosp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was a cheap option close to the center of Abu Dhabi with on site parking. That's why we choose it. The hotel is actually part of the Meridien hotel. They share the reception and the parking. So you actually check in at the Meridien and then walk towards the seperate building on the left.

The room was absolutely tiny. Hardly any room to put your stuff or take a shower. Small bed as well. Let's be clear: the room is not the reason why you stay here. No complaints about the cleanliness though. There is no internet in the rooms, but there is wifi at the "lounge" area at the entrance.

The best part of this hotel however is that you get to use the facilities of the Meridien (fantastic pool area and private beach). Just perfect to spend some hours to relax between taking in the sights. There is on site parking (free), but it is by far too small. Every time you have to search for a free space and sometimes you have to wait. Don't mind the signs, just park wherever you find a spot, that's what everyone does :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
1.1 mi away
Al Diar Mina Hotel
Al Diar Mina Hotel
#107 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
Kingsgate Hotel Abu Dhabi
#98 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
120 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ibis Abu Dhabi Gate
Ibis Abu Dhabi Gate
#64 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
One to One Hotel - The Village
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel
Strand Hotel
#122 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
56 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#88 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Tourist Club 27 St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing