We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just over the top :) I was not disappointed with Crown Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just over the top :) I was not disappointed with Crown Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I booked this hotel online as a secret hotel, after the booking the hotel was revealed on the confirmation...From that time onwards I checked all the reviews & other comments was not really ok. But it's not true with what I just experience... I can tell this hotel is one of the best city 5* hotel and good value... It exceeded my expectations... Staff are speaking well English and very professional... From the check in time, assistance was swift and check in as well. The room request was given and got a very spacious, clean room and perfect amenities.... What I saw on website photos exactly the same in real... Food outlets are fantastic with delicious food... Cho Gao is amazing restaurant in town serving Asian Foods but don't expect a big portion if you are planning to share it.. high level rooms is better... One thing only I noticed in one tea/coffee cup when I take one to use, I notice some lipstick mark on the rim and when I touch the inside of the cup it was sticky.... But still this hotel is perfect and walking distance to malls, shop, hospital, mosque and beach... If I need a hotel to stay in city in future, I will definitely consider coming back to this 5 Star Branded Hotel.

Room Tip: You may place your room special request in advance and for sure they will arrange according to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_World_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear “Travel_World_Journey”,
It was very pleasing to know that Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi exceeded your expectation during your stay. We’d like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your comments in particular the “best city 5 star hotel”, “professional staff”, “swift check in” “spacious room”, “perfect amenities”, and “fantastic food outlets”. Your compliments will definitely be passed on to our team and will be greatly appreciated by them.

We are sorry to hear about the lipstick mark in your cup and rest assured that it will be brought up to the management and staff.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    292
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
105
164
96
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorinchem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Nice hotel on Hamdan street, the main street of AD. Nice rooms especially on the highest levels where gasts stay for a long period.

Stayed about 7 months in this hotel. Next time i would certainly go back to the Crown plaza.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear “Jamas63”,
Thank you for your short but sweet review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and for posting it here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you have chosen us for your long stay trip here in Abu Dhabi and that you definitely consider staying back with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed for 4 nights en route from Europe to Australia with my wife and our 5 month old child.

The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way.

A cot was available and provided on request. Also a pram, which I did not expect the hotel would have or have available. These were waiting in our room on arrival.

The management and reception knew who we were without introduction and checked up on us when we ran into them in the hotel and after check in.

Very good breakfast buffet.

All the staff throughout the hotel (concierge, reception, room service, management, restautrants) were extremely professional (to a humb;ling extent). Having stayed in many of the other various larger hotel chains (including Crown Plaza) on international business and travel this experience stood out. It added a great after taste to our trip and stay and I wish every hotel could provide us with this experience.

Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear “Keith M”,
We are thrilled to read your wonderful review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi and thank you for taking time to post it here on Tripadvisor.
We are so glad that our staff managed to make your stay an enjoyable one. We will be happy to share your feedback with the management and colleagues.
Our vision is to be the great hotel guest love and we are extremely happy that it has been achieved on this occasion.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

If you are in Abu Dhabi, make a point of going to the seafood buffet night at this hotel, you will not be disappointed, fantastic range of seafood, and very good value for money.
The hotel is centrally located, and very easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigal4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Dear “bigal4u”,
Thank you for taking time to post a review of Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at The Garden. We take pride of our International Buffet restaurant as we just recently refurbished it to improve our guests’ dining experience.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for you to experience our other award winning restaurants like Cho Gao, Spaccanapoli and Heroes.

Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at crowne plaza. Price was ok for a 5* hotel.
Rooms were large, beds comfortable and clean.
I did not look into any other hotels for comparison but all in all I am very happy with the hotel.
Plus the Asian restaurant is fantastic and their bruch (100aed) is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpapakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear “cpapakon”,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your comments for the room and the Cho Gao Asian Restaurant. On your next visit, you may want to check out our other award-winning restaurants such as Spaccanapoli and Heroes.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

i booked in this outdated old hotel for 4 nights! first of all all i wasnt expected to see such an old and outdated hotel..let me start with me waiting for while in the reception area to check-in (eventho a couple of staff at the reception were not busy) till another staff informed the reception to help me!! second thing i get to my room only to see that i got double room (it was clear in my booking that i wanted twin Bed not double bed)! so i asked them to transfer me to a twin room (no problem here) till i get to the twin room! Old room with old bathroom and the sofa was so old that the sofa color is very faint! now lets go to the bathroom! i was disgusted with the bathroom floor looking at the drainage whole was gross and very old! i had my shower and here we go again the water just stayed in the bath(drainage was stuck) i had to call them and ask them to clear the bath! at night i called them to bring my carin advance, so i go there and the valet parking guy said oh we didnt bring you car! i told him i called earlier to bring my car but he was just a bit rude saying nobody called! this happnd all in the 1st day of me arriving to this hotel. now lets got to the worst part! i had a phone call at 1am (i was already a sleep) from the valet parking guy asking me if i have/had an accedent in my car! and asked me if i handed in my car at 1am! i gave them my car an hour or more before 1 am and i was just confused i told them no i didint have a car accedent, he said ok and hanged up! the morning i woke up and went to get my car i saw a nasty scratch at the rear of my car! that was more than enough to get me angry and i tried to talk to them but they said the car had the scratches earlier and it wasnt their fault! if it wasnt their fault why did the valet parking guy called me at 1am? this happned today im going to invistage the whole thing and write another reviwe! 5star hotel?NO WAY I GIVE IT 3STAR and im just being generous!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uae_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear “uae_lady”,,

First and Foremost, please allow us to renew our sincere apologies to you for all the inconveniences occurred to you during your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. We assure you that we are not proud of the experience you went through and we have taken all your feedback onboard and put all the necessary measures in place to ensure that such lapses will not reoccurred in near future with you or with any of our guests as well.

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and we would be most grateful should you allow us a second chance by staying with us so that we could make it up for you and let you have the true Crowne Plaza experience.

We look forward to hearing back from you.


Thanks and Regards,
Mariesol Mantuano
Guest Relations Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night on a stop over from London. Not too far from the airport. Located near a gorgeous harbor. 2 restaurants and 1 buffet nothing short of fantastic. Yummy and cheap. Staff unbelievably friendly and hospitable. Bed so comfy. Room clean and modern. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Ms. Jessica G,
We are glad to read your feedback with us and thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you also for choosing us for your stop over. We are happy you were able to try The Garden International Buffet and that our staff managed to make your stay comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back for you to fully enjoy our products & services.

Kind Regards,
Ivor Prestwood
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#7 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#46 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#23 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi Hamdan Bin Mohamed St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, IHG, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing