We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place! ”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for almost a month waiting for my housing accommodations. Yes, it is dated and the surrounding area is slightly dilapidated (broken sidewalks, etc). However, the location is perfect for a traveler. There are many things in walking distance. The staff there became my lifeline- especially Manuel, the concierge. He helped me get around and got me anything I needed. A year later, when I visit, everyone remembers me and greets me like family. The salon is excellent and Spaccanapoli (best italian food I've had here) Cho Gao (great food and specialty drinks) are 2 of my favorite restaurants in the city. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    304
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
113
170
99
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a break between Australia and Europe on one of Etihad's special 2 for one offers. I had read that the hotel was "old" so I expected that most of the hordes would avoid and I would have a quiet time - getting old and slowing down (I well remember seeking the opposite)
Special mention of Noureddine Labiad on the reception, most helpful and welcoming. Room was good, quiet with very good Wi-Fi.
Would recommend for a restful stop-over.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed 4 nights on the club level, service was excellent, club staff very helpful and friendly, cocktails and hors douvres available in the evening. Buffet breakfast was very nice, service was quick and attentive. Numerous restaurant choices both in the hotel and close by. Reception staff and concierge very helpful. Stayed in a double bed room, not big (would be cramped for 4 people) but fine for 1 or 2 people. Hotel is atrium style.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejay79705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for three night in this 5 stars hotel, which is a very good one.
Don't expect a very modern place, but it's worth 5 stars, as service is exceptional!!! Special thanks to Ms Paola and Mr Ivan, who really took care of us.
We really appreciated our stay at Crowne Plaza : its quiet rooms, tasty restaurants and lively bars.
And a very good location, dowtown.
In four words : Thank you so much!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biol, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Staff is wonderfull, food is excellent. Nothing to tell except to highly recommend it. Try just to not go in August, the wheater is horrible..really to hot. But, the hotel is so amazing that you can stay inside ^^

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I really cannot comprehend why the Crowne Plaza receives so many positive reviews: this place is absolutely horrible. I don't know what the other reviewers are comparing it to.

The room had an egregious slimy plastic laminte floor; and everything was dated. The hotel has a very antiquated ambience in general, which spectacularly falls short of being charming and just feels 'old'.

There is an hideous bar/pub in the basement called Heroes. This establishment is without doubt the worst hotel eatery I have ever encountered. It is full of drunks (yes - in the Emirates!), sticky and dirty furniture, and greasy food of terrible quality.

In contrast, I would highly recommend the Crowne Plaza at Yas Island, which is infinitely more comfortable and only several minutes' drive or bus away.

If you have only ever stayed at the Formule 1, then perhaps try the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi. If you are expecting the usual standards of Asian and European Crowne Plaza or InterContinental hotels, stay well away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza A, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Zlost,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is ​ known to be the 'grand old lady' of Abu Dhabi; we are in our double digit of age and we know how to make ​this place a home away from home to our guests.
The praising comments you referred earlier ​from other reviewers, are for our relationship with our guests.

Heroes is one of the city's few best sports bar​s​ with ​a ​great live band which ​attracts ​many guests who enjoy ​. ​As every bar in the UAE, ​we do serve alcohol ​there​ and we have ​a specialized ​team designated to assist ​ in any​ special situation​​ ​if it occurs​,​ to ensure that guests ​are always in​ a​ safe environment, bar none.

We thank you for your comments once again.

Please allow us to show you what Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is made of the next time you plan to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed over for only one night at the end of July but if we didn't have accommodation at family, we would've stayed longer.
Lovely hotel with truly exceptional service from all staff. Special mention must be made of Ivan and Mohammed who made us feel welcome.
Awesome breakfast! We would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and those travelling with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hameeda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,612 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
Holiday Inn Abu Dhabi
#3 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#45 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#25 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi Hamdan Bin Mohamed St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#14 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing