We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

A very comfortable stay although I did receive an upgrade to a Club room which was very unexpected. Coming from drab Kuwait, Abu Dhabi is an exciting alternative to Middle East life and I cannot believe some of the comments others have made about this hotel. Very much downtown, the hotel provides an excellent base to anyone doing business here. I was checked in very promptly and the room provided was very spacious and comfortable. Made my way to the basement bar where a good selection of UK beers were offered although not much to shout about in the bitter department except for Caffreys which is not my cup of tea. Sorry but I am a real ale fan and it gets on my goat that only fizzy lagers are sold in these establishments but musn't grumble as I am in the Middle East. The bar menu was extensive and was served very promptly and to be honest was just what the doctor ordered. The bar itself is hidden away in the basement (just the way it is here) but was lively especially when the football started. It was a six nations rugby day and was packed later on. I paid around 90 pounds for B&B and although I only stayed one night I would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferryboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 13 June 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review .We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi .

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    296
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
108
167
98
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HolidayJC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Dated interior. Good Restaurant Cho Gao, average breakfast average swimming pool in a good location. can't complain but cant really recommend. Staff were very enthusiastic to help in the conferernance but apart from that it was a little dull.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Director of Sales & Marketing at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 28 March 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review .We are glad our team made your stay enjoyable and hope you had a successful conference.

At Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi we are continuously upgrading our facilities and services to meet our guest expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stzttgart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I stayed two nights at the Cown Plaza at the end of February as a stop over on my way to Southafrica.
The staff is really helpful and very friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious and everything was working fine.
The hotel is located near to a big street and within a ten minutes walk to the Corniche.
So if your room is facing to the street you can hear the traffic noise a little bit but this was not a problem to me.
I dind't had breakfast in the hotel so I cannot say anything abou this. There are small restaurants near to the hotel so try these: I never was disappointed.
At one evening I had dinner at the small asian restaurant which belongs to the hotel and the meal and the service were excellent and the price was reasonable.
There is a supermarket on the other side of the street where you van buy everything you don't want to buy in the hotel, e.g. beverages.
The hotel has a small nice pool on the roof which I used every evening to my satisfaction.
I can recommend the hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micky_Stuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedricgaillard, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Dear Mr Micky,

Greetings from Abu Dhabi!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.

Your comments will not go un-noticed and will be shared with our team members.

As you have pointed out, the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is centrally located and facilitate the access to several amenities in its immediate surrounding, making our hotel the ideal location in Abu Dhabi for business as well as for leisure.

We look forward welcoming you again on your next visit and thank you for choosing our hotel for your base in Abu Dhabi.

Cedric Gaillard
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

When you're sitting inside, you might be everywhere in the world, which is a bit of a pitty. Nice location in the middle of the city, with a nice swimming pool and rest/sun area on the top of the hotel.

Very friendly staff. Food at the 9th floor is excellent, although a bit expensive I think. Bar in the basement is too loudly, too busy for me.

All in all, nice experience. Abu Dhabi would not be my favorite touristic location, but for business, I think this hotel offers you all you need.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedricgaillard, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
Dear Mr Marc Karin,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi.

Recognition from our valued guests is music to our ears. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be delighted to share your comments with all our valuable team members.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your base in Abu Dhabi.

Cedric Gaillard
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi for one night with a group of friends when we attended a ball in its conference facilities. I'm glad it was only for one night. The Crowne Plaza is well situated in Abu Dhabi (that is to say it is centrally located - the surrounding area is not attractive and is mainly populated by fast food joints - but the Crowne Plaza can't be blamed for Abu Dhabi's general shabbiness) and its rooms are large and beds comfortable. BUT that didn't make up for the catalogue of other problems:

- when we checked in we were told there was a computer problem and that we couldn't check in. We weren't given an alternative of being shown a room with the paperwork being done when the system was up, we were simply told that since THEIR system was down we couldn't use the room for a time we had paid for;
- the pool area is small, reasonably shabby and not comparable to other Abu Dhabi hotels I've stayed in;
- the general decor is 1980s Love Boat...lots of pastel green and pink and plastic ivy in the communal areas;
- my room-mate went back to the room early. When I returned almost an hour later she had just been let in the room after the key had failed (presumably as a result of the computer glitch earlier) and security had failed to believe she was at the right room and been very rude and uncooperative;
- the bath/shower had a lining of mould (possibly just a result of the hotel being so old) and a disconcerting 'bouncy' spot where the plastic was warped.

The Crowne Plaza was not a cheap option despite its age and its staff and general systems were woefully lacking. If you're going to stay in Abu Dhabi opt for a newer, more professional hotel like the Beach Rotana, Shangri-La or Intercontinental. You may pay marginally more but your stay will be exponentially better.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedricgaillard, Executive Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Dear Sir, Madame,
We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback and are truly sorry to hear that the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi did meet your expectations.
While we have taken into consideration your comments, we would also like to inform you that the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is currently under going several phases of renovation, which will include in the near future the bed room upgrade. Our first phase near to completion was to include the launch of Cho Gao restaurant Asian, Spaccanapoli italian restaurant (opening mid-april) and the refurbishment of our Heroes Pub.
Being one of the very first city hotel in Abu Dhabi, we aim to remain at the heart of the city while continuously improving our offers and services. In the meantime, we do hope to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi for your to enjoy fully your next visit in Abu Dhabi.
Best regards,
Cedric Gaillard
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Spent 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza. Breakfast very expensive at £21. Room very spacious and well maintained. Their Limo service is a rip-off - 130 Dirhams from AbuDhabi Airport - 50 Dirhams in the metered taxi. Their staff do not like you getting metered taxi's, they push the Limo service quite aggressively. Was invited to a Cocktail Party on the Monday evening of our stay which was most enjoyable. Ate at their new ChouChou Restaurant one evening which was very good. New Italian Restaurant not open yet (Jan 2010). Heroes Bar in the basement is a very noisy "nightclub" type of establishment. Pool area on the roof consisted of 6 sun loungers for a hotel this size is not aduquate. We visited the pool area one day during our stay and just managed to get the 2 remaining loungers. Other people arrived after us, and they had nowhere to sit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Management Team at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 15 February 2010
Dear Valued guest;
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review. We do appreciate your feedback and we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We regret any inconvenience caused due to buffet Breakfast and Limo rates.A la carte breakfast options are available through room service and hotel's lobby coffee shop “Cappuccino’s” .As for the city taxis unfortunately are not available on demand and our team are trained to offer Limousine service for reliability and guest comfort.

We are glad you have enjoyed our new Asian restaurant CHO GAO and we look forward to welcome you to Spacca Napoli which is due to open in April.
Once again we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we look forward to welcome you again at Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I have been traveling to Abu Dhabi on business for over 15 years and this hotel is absolutely my favorite. The staff is outstanding - both friendly and helpful. As an elite Priority Club member I was upgraded to a suite and my reservation also had Executive Floor privilege. The free valet parking is a big plus in Abu Dhabi. The spacious room is well set up for business and comfort, true for singles as well as suites. The rooms are quiet. The international breakfast buffet is excellent, something for everyone. The complementary Executive Floor "happy hour" in the evening features excellent drinks, heavy hors d'oeveres, and attentive service. The exercise facility and roof top pool are certainly adequate. The ambiance of the whole experience is luxurious but comfortable. I'll be back on another business trip in January.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaAbuDhabi, Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi Management Team at Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 28 January 2010
Dear Mr. Julian,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad our team managed to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Your valuable comments will be shared with our colleagues and we look forward to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#5 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
Corniche Hotel Abu Dhabi
#43 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
Cristal Hotel Abu Dhabi
#8 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
Le Royal Meridien Abu Dhabi
#25 of 127 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi Hamdan Bin Mohamed St, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#13 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Abu Dhabi is an upscale hotel conveniently located in the city centre, just minutes away from the Corniche, main shopping districts and key business locations. The hotel provides friendly personalised service and a range of facilities from wifi access, Health and Spa facilities. For holiday makers, the hotel offers competitive prices & facilities. The 18 metre long roof top pool offers skyline views & an opportunity to exercise or relax.The hotel boasts and excellent array of Restaurants, Bars and LoungesHeroes, Abu DHabi's best Sportsbar in the basement; Cho Gao, Award-winning non smoking SE Asian Restaurant - Bar and Lounge, ground floor; Spaccanapoli, Abu Dhabi's favourite Italian with the famous one metre Pizza on the Mezzanine floor; Cappuccino's, the Cafe on the 1st floor offering Snacks and pastries;The Garden, the international Buffet Restaurant on the 9th floor;Vincent's Cigar lounge on the 9th floor;Level Lounge Chill out Bar by the pool on the RooftopBanquet and Meeting space is available for up to 400 Persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abu Dhabi Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing