We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charme and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

There a much more modern and more stylish hotels in Abu Dhabi, but the Intercontinental is has one you should select. It gives you the great and welcoming feeling and has a outstanding restaurants around. Thursday and Friday nights are just mad ;)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorroGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about our hotel. We are very happy to see you chose our hotel with its authenticity and warm feeling over the new glitzy glass and steel all around.

We hope you will return and give us the pleasure of serving you once again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and it certainly won't be the last. The staff are a real credit to the hotel especially Ali from the selections restaurant who went out of his way to make a real fuss of my young daughter and making her a chocolate milkshake each morning which was lovely. We had a room on the 17th floor which was wonderful and think next time will upgrade to be able to use the club lounge facilities.
Food was excellent every evening with a great choice and so well presented, Belgium bar was great if not a bit expensive but was a lovely place to enjoy a good beer at the end of a hot day.
I left my Kindle in my room on check out and is currently being posted back to myself no problems, all staff so helpful and efficient and would personally like to thank housekeeping who were most helpful in locating my lost item.
Everything about the hotel is A1 and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Ms. Susan

Thank you for your patronage and making our hotel as your preferred choice on your visits to Abu Dhabi.

We are delighted to see that you find our staff the best thing about us and truly everything about a hotel is credited to our staff.

We hope you have received your kindle by now. We look forward to receiving you again upon your next visit and do not hesitate to tell us if we can assist you in any way.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Came in on the 22nd of June and the second half of the EuropeanSoccer ChampionShip had just begun. So the Staffs suggestion...Downstairs, outside, huge screens...and a drinK???
Minute 65 during the second half(thats when I arrived) No, sorry sir, last round has been called.
Well then, maybe an exeption since I just landed up and beer for the second half??? No sir...
So I watched the game in dry mode.
After the game other tables where given a last round..... Say what????
In a cheap pension at a beach in the caribean Service is better.
Lousy Service, bad staff, discriminating and worst of all....touchy...
Rooms are nice, but if you expect desent treatment, or good service, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PezPulpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear Guest

We are deeply apologetic for the regretful experience you had with us on the evening of 22nd June during the Euro Cup match at our restaurant - Belgian Cafe.

This was a gross miscommunication on our part and we cannot apologise enough for our mistake.

We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us the chance to redeem our-self. Your displeasure and unpleasant experience has been communicated to all concerned and every measure has been taken to ensure such an incident is not repeated again. Please contact me or the Assistant F&B director on your next visit so we can show you great hospitality and apologise in person for our previous error.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Excellent staff and great rooms and service.

Had a fantastic and refreshing break , no hassle

Excellent choice of food

Very clean

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JSD6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and rating us a 5 out of 5.

We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay and found all our services and facilities. We believe you also tried some of our restaurants and found these also excellent.

We look forward to receiving you the next time you visit Abu Dhabi and hope you will give us the pleasure of serving you again.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, the most recent being June 2012. Staying in a Club Room and enjoying the Club lounge was worth the extra, but the real plus for this hotel lies with the attitude and overall competence of the staff. The hotel is now undergoing extensive work on the beachfront, with a Lebanese restaurant and 2 swimming pools under construction, but none of this spoiled our enjoyment. Externally the IC looks outdated and perhaps it does lack the 21st century technological bits and piueces found at other hotels, but for service, comfort and sheer laid back enjoyment I back this establishment every time.

Room Tip: Pay the extra, go for a Club Room, sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for a great review about our hotel and your stay with us earlier this month.

We are delighted to see that you enjoy the services and hospitality provided by our staff and have chosen our hotel time over time.

We look forward to receiving you the next time when we hope you will be able top make use of our new beach facilities, restaurant and spa.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We booked a triple room (king and child bed) on the Club floor - was well worth the extra money! The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Had breakfast each morning in the lounge with eggs cooked to order but the lovely Susan! Afternoon tea at 3pm was a welcome short break from the sun. Cocktails and canapes at 7pm were wonderful - Ahmed was great. The pool area was nice with a welcome breeze but can imagine when the hotel is full space could be an issue - we had no problem at all during our stay. The beach is a short stroll around the marina - but we didn't spend much time here. They are currently constructing a big beach club area to have two pools and is due to be complete end of 2012 which will vastly improve the beach facilities. We were on free half board so dined at the buffet most evenings - food was varied and not too bad at all....and we rarely heard any construction noise - even though Abu Dhabi has plenty of it going on at the moment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiggyKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about our hotel. We are pleased to see that you found the club floor value for your money.

We are also very happy to note that you did not find any of the construction disturbing the peace and tranquility we strive to provide and also enjoyed our all day dining restaurant - Selections.

We hope to see you again in the future where you may make use of our extended beach and spa facilities.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel in Abu Dhabi is positioned close to Corniche. Although there is a construction close to the beach we have really enjoyed the hotel stay and the service. There are some incredible places in the city leisure traveler must see. We have been assigned a room on the higher floor with great view to the sea. Check-in was smooth an the staff was very helpful. It is a shame you cannot stay later evening at the beach, but not a major issue. Breakfast is huge and delicious, cooks with cooking show - pancakes or omelette - big variety of local and international food. We stayed 3 nights for a weekend break and it was great. Thank you

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasekPetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of your 3 day stay with us.

We are very happy to see you liked our services, our location and the facilities at the hotel.

We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Ankit Garg
E-Commerce Manager
InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#2 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#46 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,222 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,539 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
4.8 mi away
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
Rosewood Abu Dhabi
#4 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#20 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £111 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing