We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best vacation so far!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 131 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfsburg, Germany
1 review
“Best vacation so far!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed there for 9 days and it was just awesome! You can see, that the hotel is not the newest one, but it didn't bother me.
In summary, the room was great, the service (our safe made some problems, but a maintenance came always within 20 minutes) and the foot great as well. I was absolutely satisfied with this hotel. Thank you for this fantastic stay.
In addition, I would really point out the concierge service, who was able to find my lost mobile in Abu Dhabi, which is almost impossible! Thank you again!

If I had to criticize anything, that would it be the construction close to the hotel or the private beach, But there is construction work in the whole city, which I had expected in such an ambitious city.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with sea view. First, because the view is great, second you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFast_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and thank you for complimenting our engineering and our concierge teams. Our aim is always to extend the best service to our guests and give them an unforgettable experience.
As for the beach project, it is due to be finalised by end of spring 2013. I sincerely hope you will visit us back to enjoy this new facility.
Thanks once again and best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    530
    157
    40
    28
See reviews for
350
708
126
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Great welcome and service throughout my short stay at the Intercontinetal but the property generally is showing it's age. Rooms are of a classic style, which is fine, but the TV was not functioning on arrival and I had to request assistance. The wall AC control was broken and the AC did not seem particularly effective even when set from the bedside controls. Bathroom again was fine, but could do with updating. As with all 5 star hotels, the standard really depends on what you use as the comparison. Compared to the hotels I have stayed in down the road in Dubai this was not really up to scratch hence my rating. Room service was ok, breakfast was good with a great selection. Again, service was spot on, and staff were very friendly.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for your time to give us your constructive opinion. It is through such comments that we better our service and make sure these comments are shared, analysed and worked on.
I do apologise for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay and assure you that the team and I have taken care of the points mentions.
Thanks once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to the InterContinental Abu Dhabi.
Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel is lovely. Excellent service ,staff just great !!! but no russian speakers staff :(((( except one lady at front desk....The food is amazing!!! good location not far from main shopping mall Marina...We will back to this hotel in a future....

Thank you,
Regards

Yuri, from Moskow.Russia

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Hotel is lovely with it's own beach and lovely gym. But the best part of the hotel complex is the variety of restaurants which make you feel that you are not in a hotel complex because several are based around a marina.

Staff incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soton1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and to write your review. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurants around the Marina during your stay. We are committed to continue to offer our guests with the best experience during their stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! When in England before I went every one who was Arab was harping on about this place so I chose to stay there. I have to say the rooms are excellent. I went on my own and they were the perfect size. I went in December 2012. Although the hotel was apparently full I didn't notice unless I went to the beach or had breakfast. The staff were helpful, my room was cleaned at least twice a day. Although at the time they were refurbishing this did not affect my stay there too much. They definitely need more beach space so I will be keen to go back once it has been refurbished. I haven't given a 5/5 purely because of the work being done and also a note that although the stuff are great and very helpful they must try to be more attentive to people during the busy periods. Opening another area like the terrace bars downstairs was a great ideas as the island where the omelettes are made can be ridiculously busy. Spreading people out in two venues at busy time periods sustains the quality of service. However when another area is opened the service should still remain at a high standard especially since you work well on your own reputation following this will sustain you for being one of the great hotels. Another thing I would like to point out is the shuttle service you need more shuttles and they need to offer to go to more destinations ie the airport & perhaps the heritage centre. This I believe is one of the areas you are failing at. At present you go to the two main malls which is great. I believe the times to come back should be extended to at least 9pm. The fish market was great the chief was wonderful. My birthday meal there was amazing! Aesthetically though the place needs fixing up. Apart from the outside area you eat at I feel it is missing the wow factor. I hope this is an area which will be developed. Lastly I think you should consider putting an itinerary of what is going on in the hotel on the TV. There was some great music set & ladies nights which I only happened to stumble across while talking to others. No info about the great things going on in the hotel which was disappointing apart from the kids events which I had no interest in because I have no children. The one night I could have had free champagne all night, I missed it because I didn't know it was on. Make more effort to promote these things your hotel is great! Fabulous location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and to write your review. I am very pleased to learn that you have largely enjoyed your stay with us. The beach area development plan is ongoing and it is due to finish end of sprint 2013.

I have shared all your comments with our with our concierge team and our engineering team. We value such comments as it will allow us to provide the best service and experience our guests expect from us. As for our Food and Beverage promotions, I have emphasised to the team that we have to make sure the newsletter we publish every month is placed in the guest rooms and we are looking at other options to make sure our in house guests to do miss out on any of our promotions.

Once again, I thank you for your time to write this review and hope you will have it in your schedule to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

Brilliant hotel, extreme hospitality, incredible infrastructure, well cared rooms needs a little renovation,,,, fantastic and friendly, super friendly staff great location,Check in was smooth and welcoming, the lobby was very well staffed.though i had to wait a bit for check in but its understandable it was a busy time.the view from the room was awesome though the room's AC was not working properly and had a little problem with lights.one of the finest collection of restaurants in the hotel delicious cuisines and very friendly staff.On the whole a fantastic hotel to stay either its business, leisure, family,i will recommend Intercontinental AD.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are marvelous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your review with the team and they are all determined to make sure all our guests leave with an unforgettable pleasant experience.

Our aim is to give our utmost and provide the service you expect from us. I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a fantastic celebration of 2013 we had at Intercontinental this year! From checking in up to our checking out time everything was just perfect: well groomed welcoming staff at the reception of the hotel (even though we had some issue upon check in, it was solved immediately), beautiful room with a nice view, great service at the Club Lounge 18th floor and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Club room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katushka787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have shared your kind words with all the colleagues in the hotel and they were great inspiration for all of us to continue to extend a service that provides our guests with a memorable experience.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.5 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
0.7 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#8 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#37 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 131 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing