We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Approach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Classic Approach”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It isn't the newest, shiniest, glitziest hotel on the radar, but it provides a classy, solid upmarket hotel experience. We were originally booked into the Club Level floor, but ended up moving down a few floors as there were only smoking rooms available when we checked in. Our room was large and comfortable...small bar/eating area, comfortable lounge area and a lovely bedroom. Very nicely decorated and overlooked the pool area. The service was excellent and discreet. Daily restocking of fruit, pastries and chocolates, which was a very nice touch and much appreciated. We had daily access to the spectacular Club lounge...breakfast was excellent and had everything you could imagine on offer. Afternoon cocktails and coffee were a highlight. The staff was wonderful. You are spoiled for choice when it comes to dining options...we ate at Chamas,the Brazilian restaurant and the Fish Market, which was EXCELLENT. Great location, excellent service, good food. It is an oasis of calm. I could live there happily.

Room Tip: Splurge for a club room. I can't tell you if it's good value or not since I didn't pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APassportAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear APassportAffair
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. It is always our aim to provide our guests with a memorable experience and them a taste of the local hospitality. I am glad you found our restaurant variety attractive.
I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    574
    169
    42
    29
See reviews for
417
810
132
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is nothing to look at from the outside but step through the doors and you are in a different world. The decor is amazing, the staff really lovely and everything is pristine. The only downside is that when we booked in November last year it said that all the beach refurbishment would be finished in May, however in June it was nowhere near finished. Around the pool area , although looking a little tired it was very pleasant and as it is on the third floor there was a little breeze. Once the beach area is finished his hotel will be second to none. It is in a central location and very handy for the shopping malls and the Gand Mosque. Abu Dhabi is a lovely city and after spending ten days here we felt really relaxed.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room as views are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeedeeNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear DeedeeNorthants
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found Abdu Dhabi to a lovely city.
As you mentioned our beach project was delayed and we hope to have it ready by mid to end of the Q3. The Bayshore area will turn into a recreational destination with two swimming pools, pool bar, 8 rentable cabanas, health club with treatment rooms, The Bayshore restaurant and of course the white sandy beach with a wonderful beach bar.
Once again I thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Okay, it's not a chrome and plastic palace being one the cities more established hotels but it offers everything that you look for in an Intercontinental Hotel, starting with class. From the moment your limousine sweeps up the hotel's drive, the doors being quickly opened by the hotel's liveried staff you know you've made a good choice. Having honeymooned at the hotel nine months earlier I knew my way around the hotel complex but to be greeted by name before even checking in was amazing.
Located on the sea front just two minutes from the Marina Mall and a short drive from the city centre every thing the city has to offer is easy to access. And if it's your first visit may I recommend the "Big Bus City Tour". Jump on and off and decide where you wish to visit again.
So you want to remain in the hotel ? My visit this time was only for six days "chill out" (maybe not the ideal terminology in the Gulf) so most of my time was spent enjoying the hotel's numerous facilities and these seem to be expanding with a good choice of restaurants and bars.
Ah, the bedrooms ! Very comfortable with excellent housekeeping. You are not likely to meet many Khaleejis working at the hotel; I don't think any do but plenty frequent the restaurants, bars and leisure club. The majority of the hotel's staff seem to hail from the Indian subcontinent, Thailand and the Philippines and what a friendly team they all are.
I really look forward to returning the Abu Dhabi and the Intercontinental hotel but I might wait until the scorching heat of August passes first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markabittner9543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear markabittner9543
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review and thank you for giving us the perfect score. I have shared your comments with the team and I have to let you know they were thrilled to hear your words when I was reading the comments in our meeting. Such comments motivates our team to give even more and to make sure our guests have a memorable stay.
I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Am giving this hotel 3 stars only because I think it has slipped over the years. It has been operating for a long time and compared to newer similar category hotels in town it needs to revitalise itself.
The super Fish Market restaurant was sadly closed for renovation during my stay. The coffee shop restaurant where breakfast and buffet lunches are served is a depressing place with dark decor. The food choices were limited compared to other hotels.
Meanwhile, the rooms remain very comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Robert1129826
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found our rooms to be comfortable during your stay. With regard to your comment regarding the Fishmarket being closed, I think there is a miscommunication somewhere. The Fishmarket has been open through out the year. The only time the Fishmarket will be closed is during the Holy month of Ramadan which will start next Wednesday 10th July 2013.
During your stay our Selections restaurant overlooking the marina on the 3rd floor was closed for renovation and is now open. We had to move breakfast to our Chamas restaurant for a period of 4 weeks while the renovation was taking place in Selections restaurant.
I do apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you and I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again to offer you a comfortable and memorable experience. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wow! What a great hotel and great people.

I am fortunate enough to be a platinum ambassador and from start to finish I was well and truly looked after.

The hotel reception and valet area are gorgeous and clean.

We ate in a Chamas and Boccacio and both were EXCELLENT. The Pool Bar food was typical pool stuff, burgers etc. but the cocktails were excellent.

Our room was immaculately clean and was of typical Intercontinental high standards. However, I would use the term extremely well maintained, rather than looking like new. You could tell they had been in use for awhile here and there.

Drinks and food were expensive compared to UK prices as is typical of the region, but not to the point where it scared me off.

I must give a special mention to two excellent and STAND OUT members of staff - Shoaib, who served us breakfast and dinner with a smile and some light hearted humour every day. Also, Randy from The Yacht Club who was pleased to see us every night as it became our routine wind down area after our evening meal.

Not to end on a negative note, there was little more work going on in and around the hotel grounds than I was led to believe, but this was managed extremely well (and we did visit kind of off season so the best time for the hotel to do it). In a way I was pleased to see these improvements taking place as from what I understand from locals this was the place to be in the early Abu Dhabi days but has been often overlooked to more recent glitzy hotels in the area covered in lights, but this hotel apparently still surpasses them in food quality and service.

The gym is also very extensive here, not usually the case in most hotels!

Would have liked as a platinum ambassador to have been able to have had breakfast in the club lounge too.

To conclude book here with confidence, I will use this hotel again no doubt on my next trip to Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGrid2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear SteveGrid2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I wish to also thank you for giving us a perfect score. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our facilities have met your expectations during your stay. I have shared you comment with Shoaib, who was extremely happy and thankful to you for mentioning his name. Our team is dedicated to offer all our guests a memorable experience during their stay with us.
As you mentioned we are working on developing our beach area. This should be ready by September 2013. The beach development will turn The Bayshore area to a destination suitable to welcome all our leisure traveler. The area will include two swimming pools, pool bar, health club with treatment rooms, a restaurant , 8 rentable cabanas and the amazing beach with white sandy beach and a lovely beach bar.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The InterContinental Abu Dhabi is a lovely hotel. The suite we had was wonderfully presented, very clean and spacious. The lighting control took some getting used to and the TV remote in the bedroom kept turning on the television in the sitting room. The views over the Marina are beautiful. The only thing spoiling it are the construction works being carried out in the beach area. All in all, a lovely Hotel with a great friendly team.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear William C

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for the TV issue. I have shared this with our Engineering Department and they will make sure this is corrected.
As you mentioned our beach is going through a development program at the moment. This project should be ready by late September 2013. Once this is done, it will reveal a recreation destination like no other in Abu Dhabi. The beach area will include two swimming pool with a pool bar, a health club with treatment rooms, 8 rentable cabanas, a beach restaurant and of course the white sandy beach stretch.
The team would like to thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel, Bellboy assisted me with my luggage and was escorted to the Reception. Check-in was fast. I was given a nice room with King bed. I have a city view room. Room is clean and spacious. I also received chocolate covered dates and fruit basket.

I like the little touches Housekeeping leave in my room like a facial spray during one turndown service. Also, I like the "good morning/night" towel they put next to my bed.

Every meal is pleasant. I love the sauteed mushroom, bacon and fruits in the morning.

Fitness center was so-so and hard to find. I like that they provide tissue/towel and sanitizer so the guest can clean the machine after use.

The only hiccup during my stay was when they asked to pay for my meal eventhough is paid my company. I got a refund when I get back to work.

All in all, it was a good stay. Would love to stay with them if given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Kate V
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. The team of InterContinental Abu Dhabi highly appreciates comments about our service and facilities.
Please accept my apologies for the misunderstanding regarding the request for payment. Our Front Office Manager has shared this comment with his team to make sure this does not reoccur in the future.

It would always be our pleasure to welcome you back InterContinental Abu Dhabi where we will make sure your receive another memorable stay with us.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#41 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,926 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
0.8 mi away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing