We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“business stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I spent 5 nights at this hotel in November 2013 on business and found the facilities for delivering my lectures were excellent.
All of the staff, from check in, eating, room service and the young man that look after us during business hours were professional, warm and friendly.
The food was excellent through from breakfast to dinner in the evening and the choices were extensive.
Nice marina outside the hotel.
Some disruption during the day as they are improving the beach area for tourists but barely noticeable.
Did not have time to discover the surrounding area so cannot comment.
Overall, my experience was 100% positive.
Special mentions for Manny Arellano, who looked after the convention aspects and to Anusha Sarojini Silva for her staff's superb service in the third floor restaurant.

Well done Intercontinental Abu Dhabi, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Brian P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and thanks for giveing us the perfect score of 5. I have shared your comments with the team and they all thank you for your kind words.

I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned our beach is at the final stages of refurbishment. We are looking at Q1 to have the whole Bayshore area ready to welcome our guests. The Bayshore will include two swimming pools, one for children and one for adults. We will also have 7 rentable cabanas, a healt club with treatment rooms and a beach bar and a beach restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back and thank again for your review.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    546
    161
    41
    29
See reviews for
375
736
129
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel allows smoking in the lobby lounge and it smells like smoke the moment you walk through the doors. It is not pleasant and for this reason alone I would not recommend this hotel. Also the walls in the rooms are paper thin and I was woken up in the middle of the night by the TV in the room next to me because it was so loud. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was great. The staff at times seemed confused and not sure about things, but they were very friendly and took care of everything. For me the smoking was a huge issue and the quality of sleep due to noisy from neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest

I sincerely apologise for the disturbance you had to face during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value these reviews as they give us the chance to fix any shortfalls that occur. I have shared your review with the team and they all appreciate your comments and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again to InterContinental Abu Dhabi.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I had a 3-night stay in this Intercontinental for leisure purpose. My first impression upon my entry in the reception area was above my expectations: a luxury and relaxing ambient, and staff welcoming you with mini chocolates. As an Ambassador member, upon our arrival at 9.30 pm, they immediately upgrated us in a fantastic suite on 5th floor (room No 532), facing the marina on one side and the city on the other. I cannot say anything else about this suite: simply wonderful!! Breakfast was served in the Selections restaurant, on 3rd floor, near the outdoor pool, with direct view on the marina. The quality and variety of foods was the expected from a 5-star hotel and much more: arabic, mediterranean and asiatic foods, as well as pork bacon, a complete egg station, soups etc. Really, a superb breakfast. We ate also in The Yacht Club restaurant, serving sushi and japanese food, and in the Fishmarket restaurant, serving seafood Thai style, on the private beach. All were excellent either regarding the quality of foods, or regarding decoration and ambient. Of course, service in the restaurants was fast, attentive and polite. All 3 nights of our stay we had after dinner drinks on the outdoor patio of Chamas bar: relaxing ambient and flavoured shisha. The lobby lounge on ground floor was luxuriously decorated, creating an extremely relaxing ambient, very good to take a coffee or for a pre- or after dinner drink, with live music in the evenings. Finally, the hotel had its private beach, plenty of sunbeds, very good for swimming in the calm, hot waters of the gulf. All the staff in every part of the hotel was well trained, helpful and polite,
The location of the hotel is on the border of the city center, about one km from Emirates Palace, 1,5 km from Corniche, and 3-4 km from Marina Mall. If it is not too hot weather, you can walk until these places easily; otherwise, taxis are very cheap, clean and fast.
In conclusion, the Intercontinental Abu Dhabi is a wonderful hotel, one of the best hotels we ever stayed, with excellent facilities and super staff. Many thanks to all the staff who made our stay really wonderful, memorable and above our expectations. Of course, in our next visit to Abu Dhabi we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Vassilis

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The whole team is very happy to learn that your stay was memorable and you have found our service and the facilities up to your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and until then please accept my sincere thanks for your loyalty.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Intercontinental is an excellent hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that we had everything we needed and were enjoying our stay. The concierge staff were very knowledgable about the area, where to go to buy a particular item and how to get there.

The hotel is large but well kept and extremely clean. We stayed in a Club Intercontinental room, which although more expensive, was worth the extra money as breakfast, snacks all day, afternoon tea, and 2 hours of drinks with a large variety of hors d'oevres were included in the price. We ate in 2 of the hotel restaurants and although a little more expensive than outside, the food was excellent as was the service and the menus.
Although not in the centre of the city, it is very easy and cheap to take a taxi anywhere and there is plenty to see and do in the immediate area. The hotel also runs a complimentary shuttle bus to the local shopping malls. If you want to stay in the hotel it has it's own beach area and pool where there are always plenty of sunbeds.
All in all a very good place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 321uktraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear 321uktraveller3

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The team and myself would like to thank you for your kind words and for giving us the chance to welcome you at InterContinental Abu Dhabi. It is our aim always to provide all our guest with a memorable experience.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in the Intercontinental 14 days and had a great and wonderful stay there.

The rooms were clean and the staff was perfect and friendly (special thank to RAOUF who organized our trips, CESAR, SHOAIB and UZAÍR - the fantastic restaurant staff, who supported us everytime!!) We had a lot of fun with all them !!

Many thanks also to our room-keeper who brought to us water bottles several times a day and who was helpful in any case of request (Samundra) !!!

We felt very well provided in any case and question. All requests were handeled seriously and immediately !

We are shure, it will not be our last stay in the UAE !!! We can absolutely recommend this hotel.

The beach area is still a building side, but we think if everything is done, it will be a relaxing area..,) !!

We stayed there during the summer months, so the temperatures are often between 45 and 50 degrees. But all rooms in the hotel and the public buldings are air conditioned !

You can also find our detailed (German) estimation at HOLIDAYCHECK.de

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to start by thank you for taking the time to write you review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to offer our guests an experience that they would always remember.

I have shared your comments with Rouf, Cesar, Shoaib, Uzair and Samandar and they all thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you once again and It would be my pleasure to welcoming you back as well.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our first time in Abu Dhabi. We were expecting long and peaceful days in the sun. No, we got builders constructing a new pool and leisure facility on the hotel beach! Don't get me wrong this is a good hotel,not fantastic compared to the other hotels near buy. But good. The food is fantastic we didn't have a bad meal.The staff are amazing everyone of them. Another issue was on a wednesday and Thursday nights the hotel bars and restaurants were very very very busy as Wednesday is ladies night and Thursday is UAE (our Friday) so it is full of ex pats filling there boots as there are no pubs in the UAE. We had to sit on the floor outside on these nights to have a drink! The hotel should limit the number of extra people they let in on these nights. Don't forget this is 5 star in the UAE. Have you ever had to sit on the floor in a 5 star hotel to have after dinner drinks? When you have just paid £100 per head for your dinner? Last point our room was an ajoining room via a door in the wall. The first 2 nights we had someone next door that was up all night talking and shouting. We put up with it until 5am then we called reception who sent security around straight away and sorted it. The next day we had an Americian pilot next door( we new this as we could hear every word he said ). He Skyped his wife at 1 am and again at 5 am every night . The Walls / doors are not sound proof in this hotel so take ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richh1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to face during your last stay with us. I have shared your comments regarding the disturbance with the team and we will do our utmost to make sure this disturbance is minimized in the future.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed our food and beverage facilities. The beach project is coming to an end and we should have it ready in early Q1 2014.

I apologise once again and hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've just returned to London from another great holiday at the Intercontinental Abu Dhabi. As it's one of the original hotels it's facade isn't the most glitzy but don't let that put you off- inside its 5 star all the way.....the lobby and bar area are wonderful, the front desk staff welcoming,friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for the concierge. The restaurants at the hotel are varied and quite rightly highly rated by the trip adviser community, both the food and the service being faultless during our visit.
The pool area and attendants provide for a chilled out time and when the refurbishment of the beach area is completed undoubtedly it will be the best facility in the state. If you can you must book a room that qualifies for the lounge on the 18th floor - it's such a serene atmosphere with the best staff I have ever experienced, thank you to all of them ! I hope IHG are proud of their team as they are first class, but I must mention Karam Almordaa who epitomises excellence in hospitality and is clearly a gifted businessman with a great career ahead of him ! Well done everyone, a great holiday which we commend to all.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get a sea view room which qualifies for the 18th floor lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjmutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear tjmutch

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team and we all thank you for kind words and for giving us the chance to offer you a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

As you mentioned once our Bayshore project is finalized, this will be an attractive destination to families and leisure travellers.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
3,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
1,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#40 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#8 of 129 in Abu Dhabi
2,586 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Property: InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#12 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing