We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service wins hands down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Abu Dhabi
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at Intercontinental Abu Dhabi enroute from Paris to Melbourne. There had previously been mixed reviews but as we know IHG quite well we took only the positives. And we so glad we did! As Ambassador members we were treated like royalty. Check in was a breeze and Jay on the front desk welcomed us warmly. Excellent start to our few days. We were upgraded to the Club rooms for a very small charge and our small requests (late check out etc) were not a bother at all. The room was a typical IHG room, but quite nice. The only negative would be that our bathroom needed a bit of spruce up. The club breakfast was excellent and we also had the choice of going to the main buffet as well. Jasmin in the club lounge was very efficient as well as bubbly and friendly. In fact all the staff were exceptional, from front desk to wait staff by the pool. My husband commented that the lunch served poolside was the best he had ever had. And we have had quite a few "pool lunches". So a credit to the chef. Obviously we enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next stay. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainypainy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident Manage... R, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your loyalty and for being an Ambassador member and thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the whole team and they all thank you for your kind words. We always aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and memorable stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Abu Dhabi and until then, please accept my sincere regards.

Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Abu Dhabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Intercontinental Abu Dhabi was a beautiful hotel to stay in and the staff was always smiling and bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. The concierge, Raouf, was never without a smile. He gave us all the insider's view of what to do and what not to do. He was super friendly and kept that smile and great attitude no matter what challenge we presented him with. He is certainly an asset to the concierge position.
There are several restaurants within the hotel that all serve delicious meals.The breakfast buffet is huge and has such a large selection of breakfast and brunch items, you could easily fill up and not even need to eat much of a lunch later. A great way to start the day. And if you are in a hurry and need to take that cup of coffee to go, they can even provide the paper to-go cup.
I would definitely stay here again if my travels bring me back to Abu Dhabi.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook the entrance to the hotel. Despite a posted sign that says no horn honk...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident Manage... R, Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we have provided you with a comfortable and memorable stay.

Raouf extends is thanks and appreciation for your kind words mentioned in your review.

I do hope your will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon as we would like you to enjoy our new Bayshore beach area which is now open.


Best regards
Khaled Zaki
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is located 5 minutes from Marina Mall and the beach! The staff were friendly and extremely courteous. The rooms were spacious and completely quiet for a good night sleep. Another bonus they have a covered parking lot for you vehicle! Great place to visit for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. One of our strongest assets as you mention is our team. We take pride in providing our guests with a memorable experience.

We all thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dieter Franke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

To say the least the hotel Intercontinental Abu Dhabi exceeded all our expectations once again. The staff go out of there to make your stay a memorable experience. We look forward to our next time when we visit Abu Dhabi and stay at the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Meets all our expectations, immaculate to say the least.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review. The team an I a happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon when we will also do our utmost to make your stay as memorable as your recent stay.

Once again I thank and best regards

Dieter Franke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the initial registration through check-out the process was seamless and the staff most accommodating. On a daily basis we worked with Raouf the concierge to book last minute excursions. He was gracious and always unflappable!!! The room was outstanding the little niceties making our two week stay easier. Restaurants were all outstanding and service was exceptional. Morning breakfast buffet was more than any person could eat. Great place to stay, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of building on lower floors may be a little noisier with the traffic coming t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words were shared with the team and they all thank you for choosing to stay with us. Raouf sends his kind regards and gratitude for the nice words you wrote about him.
I am delighted you enjoyed our facilities and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our third stay here. we stay every year during the Abudhabi international triathlon. This time the hotel happened to be overbooked after our booking was done and the rooms reservations did not handle it very well. On arrival, Mr Karam who is the front office manager approached us, apologised and offered us an upgrade to a sea view 1 bedroom suite. He also offered us a complimentary dinner.On the second night, he proposed to shift to their sister hotel crown plaza Abudhabi. Mr Karam was very professional in handling the situation and did not just give complimentaries to solve the problem, he was really concerned to make sure we were fine, he called us every day to make sure everything was fine and we were comfortable. We dined in the all dining restaurant, they have many options especially if you have kids and food was good. we would definitely return again same time next year.

Room Tip: If possible request sea view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LV4Vanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinentalAD, General Manager at InterContinental Abu Dhabi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. I wish to thank you for your understanding and I am happy that your enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your review with the team and Karm sends his regards and thanks you for your comments. We at InterContientnal Abu Dhabi always aim to provide all our guests with a memorable and comfortable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Best regards
Dieter Franke
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this hotel at the last minute after reading TripAdvisor reviews. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a king size room and still had the city view we had booked(city view is great by the way). The check in was smooth and easy and very courteous. Our room had everything we could need and the bed was outstanding and we slept like babies. We arrived mid evening and so had a stroll around the hotel, which is kept immaculate at all times, with staff in abundance to look after your every need. We had a drink at the Yacht Club bar at the hotel, which is lovely and we sat outside overlooking the hotel's own marina. Drinks are a little bit pricey throughout the hotel, but they are everywhere you go in Abu Dhabi and occasionally they have a small promotion on.
The next day we went to breakfast and we had a seat by the window looking out over the marina and beach and beyond. It was fantastic, with great food and service. The choice was almost limitless.
We made use of the beach area and enjoyed the wonderfully warm sea to bathe in. At the beach, the cocktails were superb and very well priced. If you want waiter service, you put up a small flag at your table and one of the waiters will come and take your order(sometimes had to wait quite a while so possibly need a few more waiters). We also had lunch at the beach on a couple of times and again the food was superb and very reasonably priced (the flat breads were great).
Each late afternoon, we would sit in the Belgian Bar inside the hotel before going up to get changed for the evening. This is a lovely little establishment with a fantastic range of Belgian beers and food. They have a ribs night which is good value,unfortunately we couldn't make it to that as we had other arrangements in place but it looked great.
One morning we decided to have room service for breakfast, which did not disappoint and was reasonably priced again
The concierge desk in the lobby was fantastic, with great advice on where to go,how to get there and organising excursions. They booked us onto the morning Dune Bashing tour, which was great ( they pick you up at the hotel). Each evening when we told them where we were thinking of going, they would have advice for us or just sort the taxi driver out with where we were going to.
I do have a small niggle with the hotel, in that, they have their own private marina, but do not make full use of it. They don't operate any boat trips or jet skis from the marina. The concierge desk can arrange for a private boat to come and collect you from the marina but I just thought they may have missed a trick there, with not having their own setup.
Checkout was again smooth with one minor problem with the bill (my fault actually) and we were again sorted out with transport to the airport by the superb concierge team.
A great stay in a wonderful hotel,thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#44 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beach Rotana
Beach Rotana
#27 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
The St. Regis Abu Dhabi
#6 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,388 reviews
10.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Abu Dhabi

Address: Abu Dhabi King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud St | King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, Abu Dhabi 4171, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#11 Spa Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#22 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#23 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range: £95 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Abu Dhabi 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Abu Dhabi is perfectly situated on the beach and less than 10 minutes from bustling downtown and the Abu Dhabi International Exhibition Centre. Heritage Village, the Cultural Foundation and Lulu Island are also close by. For a unique shopping experience, the Gold Souk (market) is a must while the Marina and Abu Dhabi Malls offer more contemporary alternatives. The hotel concierge can arrange a 4x4 desert safari for those looking for adventure. Our Bayshore Beach Club offers the beast recreiation facilities, 300 meters white sandy beach, an adult pool with a wish up bar, a children's splash pool with a slide and a shaded children's pool. The Bayshore Beach area also includes a beach bar and a restaurant offering delicoius snacks and drinks. Guests can also continue to enjoy our outdoor pool located on the 3rd floor of the main hotel building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi
Abu Dhabi Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing